We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“W Hotel Elements in Hong Kong” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of W Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
W Hong Kong
Ranked #10 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
“W Hotel Elements in Hong Kong”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

This is hotel with a perfect location.

Situated above a huge shopping mall of Elements and airport express. You will find a great range of restaurants and coffee houses nearby. Only complaint of the mall is its too upmarket selling only expensive items.

As for the Hotel, the check in took around 20 mins which as a bit long in my opinion. But the decor and mood is super cool and modern. Room with harbour views can see Hong kong island side. Great place to stay for business but perhaps not for families with young children.

Tip: Great breakfast coffee next to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieChan, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Hello Cindy W, thanks for sharing and delighted to know you appreciated the hotel’s location. I understand your point regarding family, however we do have guests who regularly enjoy the hotel with their families and do our utmost to accommodate them, with things such as kid’s menus and Kinect for Xbox. Our 76/F outdoor pool & Jacuzzi are also a hit with most kids.

Your valuable feedback has been shared and communicated with Welcome Manager and we will definitely take remedial initiatives to improve the check in waiting time.

I hope you will grant us another chance to demonstrate the true spirit of W, please do not hesitate to contact me personally in this case via w.hk@whotels.com prior to your next visit so I can assist in making sure you get to enjoy your experience at W Hong Kong.

With warmest wishes,

Peter Hildebrand
General Manager
W Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,758
    657
    111
    43
    22
See reviews for
493
976
283
1,143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (699)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, ON
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I go to Hong Kong on business two or three times each year and have stayed in a number of hotels, both in Kowloon and on the island. The W has become my first choice when I have the opportunity to stay there. Although the location is not ideal for tourists in Kowloon, being right above the MTR and Airport Express stations make it ideal for getting around. More important, the level of service is consistently excellent. Staff are proactive in asking if they can help, from the moment I arrive, a service I don't need as a regular, but do appreciate. And I love the rooms, especially the corner rooms and suites, with their view over the harbour. The W style is refreshingly different from the regular corporate hotels I often stay in. I also enjoy the Bliss bath products. My work usually requires that I eat away from the hotel, so I can't comment on the restaurant food there, but it is worth commenting that having a location in a shopping mall makes it very convenient to go out for meals in the restaurants there, and there is also a supermarket to go for snack foods. Finally, the rooftop pool and outdoor hot tub have a spectacular view over the harbour. This is always my first stop when I arrive from Canada in the afternoon.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Academic47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
104 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

i don't voluntarily choose W chain because it's too "hip" for me. i prefer a hotel that doesnt have people milling around everywhere with clubby music playing all the time. this stay was booked by host company and has decent rates. hotel is pretty easy to get to via airport express/subway. check-in was very slow. very slow. i wasn't in a rush but i also noticed that the check-out line was very slow so i took note of that for my departure date. the staff apologized for making me wait so long, looking for a room. i requested a view of the HK skyline but i didn't realize that there'd be a huge ICC bldg in the middle of my view. the elevators to the guestrooms are very slow. sooo slow. and many times the key card doesn't work so i had to exit and catch a different lift that could read my key. the room itself is nice and the bed is comfy tho it has a lot of the annoying/cutesy W taglines labeled everywhere. some design elements of the room are pretty cool, like the sliding wall doors for the bathroom and the floating bathroom counter with the lamp post down the middle. the toilet has a blue deodorizer in it that makes it smell like an airplane bathroom. at night with the shades closed and lights off, there's still a ton of stuff glowing everywhere. the light control panel is glowing, so is the analog clock, and the big screen on the phone. it's a bit distracting for me. also you can hear music all night long. i couldn't figure out if it was from the downstairs lobby or from the hallway. i just remember wishing it would go away in my half-sleep state.

the outdoor pool is a nice spot. it's 25m long and very toasty. it was a bit difficult doing laps because the floor is too dark and i couldn't tell where it ends and would get too close to the walls. it never got too crowded in the pool. up on the 76th fl it can get pretty windy/cold and i wondered why they didn't just make the pool indoors, but i was thinking that it can get pretty windy poolside on a beach resort too. the lockers here are pretty nice, with steam, sauna and jacuzzi with built-in chairs. i didn't find a swimsuit spinner. this is the first hotel gym where i've seen a heavy and speed bag (the speed bag was a little under-inflated and the heavy bag was on a stand so couldn't work around the bag--but there was boxing equipment!). they also provide wraps and there's a few gloves hanging around but i prefer not to use communal gloves. the fitness room is pretty spacious and has basic equipment. there's also a kinect360 video game which no one was ever using. the gym was not staffed all the time.

if you have some spare time, stroll over to the ritz at to the top of the ICC for some great views of HK. so far, the views from ritz are not blocked.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trippyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieChan, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Hello trippyNYC,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your valuable feedback has been shared and communicated with our Welcome Manager and we will definitely take remedial initiatives to improve where it is needed. Please do accept my sincere apologies for the downside of your stay.

If you ever do stay with us again I would relish the chance to demonstrate the true spirit of W. In this case, please do not hesitate to contact me personally via w.hk@whotels.com prior to your visit so I can assist in making sure you get to enjoy your experience at W Hong Kong.

Thank you,

Peter Hildebrand
General Manager
W Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Once you get to the rooms its all ok. The most comfortable bed you will sleep in. Great selection of toiletries. However, everything in the lead up and during you stay is just annoying. You que to check-in and the whole process takes forever. The buffet for dinner and breakfast while visually impressive, is cold and lacks flavor. Getting a wine at dinner impossible (not to mention the definition of "a glass" being a third anywhere else in the world) and trying to get the bill like waiting for your water to turn to wine.... the staff are just so slow. I have stayed at the W Hong Kong probably 8 times in the last 4 years - this will be my last.

Room Tip: worth getting the harbor view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worktravellerglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieChan, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear worktravellerglobal,

I was extremely sorry to learn of your frustrations during your recent stay, especially as you have been a frequent guest in the past. I appreciate that waiting, whether at check-in or for a glass of wine at dinner, can be infuriating when travelling and it is certainly very far from delivering on our promise.

Though I have no doubt that we failed in our service delivery on your recent stay, I believe your experiences are not typical for this hotel. I would value more detail in order to investigate and make the required improvements.

As we obviously failed to deliver to your expectations I would like to make it up to you. I do hope you could contact me directly on w.hk@whotels.com.

Sincerely,

Peter Hildebrand
General Manager
W Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arundel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We spent two nights at the w and had the most amazing time.
The staff are helpful, we were blissed out in the spa( most amazing massage and pedicure), roof top pool and jaquzi were out of this world, and breakfast were the best we've ever had. Thank you w we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sammyjo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValerieChan, General Manager at W Hong Kong, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Hello sammyjo52, thanks for sharing ! It’s great to hear you blissed your body and pampered your tastebuds in the most extravagant way !

Look forward to hearing more of the same on your next visit.

With warmest wishes,

Peter Hildebrand
General Manager
W Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 712 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,349 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#12 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#11 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,694 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 712 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Hong Kong

Property: W Hong Kong
Address: No.1 Austin Road West, Kowloon Station, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > West Kowloon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): RM1,355 - RM2,272
Hotel Class:5 star — W Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W Hong Kong is innovatively designed with 393 deluxe rooms and suites, cutting edge business facilities and function space, superior recreation facilities, award winning bliss spa and high-profile “W happenings”, all of which make it the traveler’s top choice. With the opening of Sing Yin Cantonese Dining, the reputation of W Hong Kong is further cemented with the surely avant-garde offering to the Chinese art of gastronomy in Hong Kong. Together with the launch of WOOBAR, the place to see and be seen, get ready for a nonstop entertainment spree in the vibrant and energetic setting of WOOBAR. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Ctrip TA, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your W Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
w Hotels Hong Kong
w Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing