We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
6
17
2
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
17
2
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2013

New Peking is one of the guesthouses located in the Chungking Mansions on Nathan Road. Of course, this is nobody's idea of a luxury accomodation. But the Mansions are really not that bad - apart from the painfully slow and crowded elevators - I actually had to take the stairs once to go downstairs...

Anyway, getting a private room with A/C, TV and shower for about 250 HKD more than offsets the little inconvenience of the location. Very clean and, at least when I was staying there, extremely quiet. The old lady who runs the place is also very nice and friendly. Overall a good night of sleep for a fraction of the cost of a hotel - recommended for budget travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kdo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Despite being located in the somewhat dubious Chung King Mansion, the hotel is a hidden gem in a sea of hostels. I stayed in the 'Private Ensuite' for two night for about $44 a night which is great value for such a centrally located, convenient location. Although the room was small , it had a built in toilet/shower, TV, air conditioning, hot water, free wifi and even had a fridge!

The owner/manager Peter Ng was very friendly, affable and a delight to do business with. Eager to help and always cheerful.

The building is a bit dodgy though. Beware of people trying to steer you to their own guest houses at the entrance or sell you stuff. Safety was of no concern though since it is a bustling place and lots of attendants about.

The building has a pair of lifts for each block; one for even numbered floors and one for odd (yes, that's what I was thinking too...how odd!) so be sure to know which one to get on. Fortunately there was an attendant at all hours to help if you're lost

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrakN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

The Hotel is located in the sketchy Chunking Mansion on Kowloon. It's fairly well located on Nathan Street but beware of the rather odd people hanging out around the entrance and the building. Don't take any advice or offers from these people. There's only 2 elevators working in the building so you have to queue to get to the right level which has your hostel. The hostel owner was extremely friendly and the place seemed very clean even though it was small. Check-in went well and the owner gave advice and they also have a computer to use. The room itself is the smallest I have ever been in. There's just room for a bed and a small closet toilet. It seemed clean. However, when I woke up in the morning my back had been bitten by bed bugs or similar. It wasn't bad but I didn't stay for another night. I think that the whole Chunking Mansion building is fairly infested due to the odd tenants and bugs probably get around even though the individual hostel might be ok. Without the bed bugs would have been good enough.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helsinkiglobus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Stayed three nights in a three bed room with two mates. Not the biggest room but enough for the three of us easily. The room also had a TV, working Air-Con, a fan, and Wi-Fi. Attached was an en-suite with shower and toilet, also small but functional. Everything was cleaned daily and clothes that were left out were nicely folded and placed back for us.

All contact with the staff was good and they spoke English. The only downside of the experience was Chungking mansions itself. It is a big building with multiple hostels and shops inside. As such many hawkers/peddlers stand outside trying to sell you watches etc. There is also only 1 elevator that goes to each floor so the wait can be a bit long at times.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nano_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Location : perfect location, you have many buses in front of the Chunking mansion ( number 21 from the airport 33HKD), 2 metro station very close ( Tsim Sha Tsui) and the ferry for central or Macau at 5 minutes!! On nathan road you also have a lot of places to eat and shop ( day and night) for every taste ( cheap or more luxury stuff)

The room : very small ( but we are in hong kong), TV, AC and Fan, Fridge, window with a view on nathan road but not noisy private toilet and shower. we stayed in a double room, if you are more than 1,80m the bed might be a little small. I was very surprised by the cleaniness of the room. They clean every day, change the towels etc.

The price : for Hong Kong and for something very clean this is very very cheap 40euros/ night for 2 people.

The guesthouse : it is very clean, the wifi works very well, you also have a computer that you can use. I saw a laundry machine I think you can use it for free but you may pay for the detergent?!

The bad thing : The guesthouse is really perfect but Chunking mansion ( the building) is not very safe. Actually we were two girls and one the indian guy ( many many in the lobby and the guesthouse trying to sell you copy bags, other guesthouse etc) followed us and wanted to come in our guesthouse to "visit" our room, we did not answer him, then politely say no, then become more assertive but he insisted and followed us to the 12th floor! We were really scared and then ring at the landlord appartement of new peking guesthouse ( same floor) , he came directly and made the guy go away !!

Recommandation : very clean, I would definitely stay there again for the cheap price and perfect location

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soum1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews