We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New Peking Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$252
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
US$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$178
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$127
US$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$122
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$98
Hotel Direct
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$71
Hotel Direct
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Nathan Hotel(Hong Kong)
US$109
US$85
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Conrad Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
US$310
Conrad
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$326
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
6
17
2
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
17
2
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We booked the New Peking Guest House as it was very reasonably priced and we didn’t mind it either since Hong Kong is such an expensive place as it is. The service at the hotel is pretty good. The staff is very well managed was quite helpful. Our room was small but fully functional. It was comfortable and well lit. It was extremely clean and well furnished. Overall I would say it is good value for money and would definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank khalil d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

During my staying in Hong Kong this places was my savior. It is well located in the heard of Kowloon and may be reached easily by KCR. The triple bed room was small yet more than enough for my friends and myself. We spent three nights there and were more than happy. The house lady was always amiable and always trying to make us happy in any way possible. The private shower in the private rooms was good and the hot water was even better. If you are looking for a convenient, safe, cheap place this is the one.

Room Tip: It is kind of difficult to find for this place, but once you find it you'll never lose it.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jasdezmxt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

New Peking is one of the guesthouses located in the Chungking Mansions on Nathan Road. Of course, this is nobody's idea of a luxury accomodation. But the Mansions are really not that bad - apart from the painfully slow and crowded elevators - I actually had to take the stairs once to go downstairs...

Anyway, getting a private room with A/C, TV and shower for about 250 HKD more than offsets the little inconvenience of the location. Very clean and, at least when I was staying there, extremely quiet. The old lady who runs the place is also very nice and friendly. Overall a good night of sleep for a fraction of the cost of a hotel - recommended for budget travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kdo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Despite being located in the somewhat dubious Chung King Mansion, the hotel is a hidden gem in a sea of hostels. I stayed in the 'Private Ensuite' for two night for about $44 a night which is great value for such a centrally located, convenient location. Although the room was small , it had a built in toilet/shower, TV, air conditioning, hot water, free wifi and even had a fridge!

The owner/manager Peter Ng was very friendly, affable and a delight to do business with. Eager to help and always cheerful.

The building is a bit dodgy though. Beware of people trying to steer you to their own guest houses at the entrance or sell you stuff. Safety was of no concern though since it is a bustling place and lots of attendants about.

The building has a pair of lifts for each block; one for even numbered floors and one for odd (yes, that's what I was thinking too...how odd!) so be sure to know which one to get on. Fortunately there was an attendant at all hours to help if you're lost

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrakN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

The Hotel is located in the sketchy Chunking Mansion on Kowloon. It's fairly well located on Nathan Street but beware of the rather odd people hanging out around the entrance and the building. Don't take any advice or offers from these people. There's only 2 elevators working in the building so you have to queue to get to the right level which has your hostel. The hostel owner was extremely friendly and the place seemed very clean even though it was small. Check-in went well and the owner gave advice and they also have a computer to use. The room itself is the smallest I have ever been in. There's just room for a bed and a small closet toilet. It seemed clean. However, when I woke up in the morning my back had been bitten by bed bugs or similar. It wasn't bad but I didn't stay for another night. I think that the whole Chunking Mansion building is fairly infested due to the odd tenants and bugs probably get around even though the individual hostel might be ok. Without the bed bugs would have been good enough.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helsinkiglobus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews