We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
Ranked #165 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 30 May 2016

This was our first time visting Hong Kong, and were were staying just 1-night on a lay-over returning home from Australia.

We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room, and amenities were sufficient. Shower was very nice, and the toiletries offered were very good.

There was free wi-fi in the rooms.

As I mentioned, the king-size bed was huge and we slept very well. The hotel is situated in a good area for sight-seeing, and we were able to walk to the ferries, and there was a tram stop and metro stop nearby, however we didn't use them.

We travelled to/from the airport by bus, as the a11bus from the airport stopped close-by (especially on the way back to the airport).

One drawback, which isnt the hotel's fault, is the only way across the busy street is the walkways, and none of them seem to have lifts, so very difficult with big luggage to get up and down all the steps !!

We had breakfast nearby in Starbucks, but as mentioned nowhere much to eat in the evening near to hotel.

The hotel were happy to hold on to our luggage f.o.c. as we werent flying out till late in the evening

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 36 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2016

This is my first time staying in Hong Kong island and I am glad to have try out this hotel.

I did not find the hotel after exiting from the MTR station. it is much nearer than what the map show and the main door is not facing the main road. there is a tram station within 3 minutes walk from the hotel. The central ferry terminal is within 20 minutes of walking distance and is mostly sheltered, connected via bridges. Thus going to offshore island is pretty convenient.

the room is relatively new and consider spacious. But the hotel mentioned they did a upgrade to our room. Thus not sure how will a normal room size looks like. The toilet is rather small, similar to a lot of 3 stars hotel in hong kong. Not many hooks around but still can find place to put clothes and towel. The toiletries and pantry corner is rather well equipped. Hair dryer is available upon request.

there aren't many eateries around the hotel. Except if you don't mind shopping mall restaurants. so you must plan your meals bfore going back to hotel. There is a breakfast serve every morning but i did not try it out cause my friend did not expect it to be great and prefer to go out to eat.

I will stay the hotel again for my next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ning87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

Me and family stayed here for 2 days. It was a triple room with one King bed and one single bed. The room size ,amenity and design was decent, the room rate was great!
It's hard to find such room rate during labour day holiday.
The location was great, next to metro station, near to ding ding cable car and the ferry terminal also.
They do offer breakfast and afternoon snack, we didn't get the chance to see the breakfast set up; and for the afternoon snack was quite simple but we never expect to have such offer, pretty surprised!
There is computer to use, gym and coin laundromat which is very handy. It cost 20$ for washing and $20 for drying. It would be better if they can set up a exchange machine there so I don't have to come down for the coins.
Both my mom and grandma were happy with this hotel and I will come back for next visit !

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016

Well located, comfortable, clean... may be slightly overpriced. Such a pity that their idea of "breakfast" is so cheap and boring. A few beverages, some breads and yogurt. Not a good way to start a long day in Hong Kong

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlitzSaigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016

The Bauhinia Hotels & Appartments on Connaught Street has only 44 rooms: so book early.
The room was charming: spacious with a very large and comfortable bed; plenty of closet and storage space. The bathroom was large.
There is a choice of coffee and tea in the room. There is bottled water. I boiled water every evening. In the morning I refilled my water bottle.
The newspaper, the South China Morning Post, obviously in English, came early every morning.
I sent e-mails to the hotel manager with questions I had, such as arriving very late at night: what transportation was available and would someone be on the desk in the middle of the night
Someone is on the desk always. They were very helpful with answering my questions.
Breakfast is included: yoghurt, orange and apple juice, apples, coffee and tea, a variety of rolls.
The staff from the manager, to reservations, lobby staff, to the ones who kept my room impeccable were very professional.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Esther S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
#90 of 726 in Hong Kong
491 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#30 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,155 reviews
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Homy Hotel Central
Homy Hotel Central
#191 of 726 in Hong Kong
59 reviews
Sheung Wan
Sohotel
Sohotel
#163 of 726 in Hong Kong
255 reviews
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#60 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bauhinia Hotel - Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bauhinia Hotel - Central

Address: No.119-121 Connaught Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: RM453 - RM1,363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bauhinia Hotel - Central 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE BAUHINIA currently operates 4 boutique hotels and 2 serviced apartments in Hong Kong, Shenzhen and Guangzhou. Our THE BAUHINIA APARTMENTS - CENTARL and THE BAUHINIA APARTMENTS - SHENZHEN has been operating for a decade. With years of hospitality management experience, our first hotel THE BAUHINIA HOTEL - TSIM SHA TSUI opened in the vibrant Tsim Sha Tsui in 2010 featuring the stunning harbour view. THE BAUHINIA HOTEL - CENTRAL, with a modern boutique hotel concept, opened its doors in Central and contemporary modern designed in Guangzhou and Shenzhen in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Bauhinia Hotel - Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing