We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, fast wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
Ranked #170 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

Just a 3 min walk from Sheung Wan mtr station. There are many good restaurants around this neighborhood. Rooms are a little on the small side but typical of Hong Kong hotels. There's a lounge on the 4th floor for all hotel guests where you can get drinking water, coffee, tea and there's even buns, muffins and some cupcakes in the mornings for free. Computers are also available for use here. Wifi is fast and stable enough to watch YouTube. Good service.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank ploppyplop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2016

We (2 adults, 1 teenager) were at Serviced Apartment during October - November 2016 on the seventh floor. Our apartment was with 2 bedrooms. Our experience was very positive one. Everything worked just nicely and the location is really wonderful i.e. close to everything. The staff was very friendly and professional. We can honestly recommend Bauhinia Serviced Apartment in Sheung Wan HK. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _jaakko_husa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2016

It's not a top level hotel, but the price-value ratio was good.
on the plus:
top central location, right near the international finance centre, near the metro
good price
reasonably clean, I had no issue with that
all things in the room seemed working, the room was actually quite nice
I got two different newspapers every morning
reception friendly and useful

on the minus:
charge for printing simple documents was outrageous
breakfast extremely simple - I would not even call it a breakfast. Just a yogurt and a piece of bread

I lost my room key card when I was checking out and was concerned they would charge me. the receptionist did ask me about it but was friendly enough not to charge anything.
I think I expected really bad experience and was pleasantly surprised that it was a good choice for non-luxury accomodation

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Valux01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016

The hotel is quite hidden, a few taxi drivers could not find the place. The hotel room was not clean, there was a coat of dust in one of the room n made it smell horrible. Our request for change of room was at first refused but finally they change it for us. The hotel charged for storing your luggage, a service which is FOC in most hotels. The hotel has nothing special to offer more than other hotels, so charging for storage would discourage customers from chosing them. Will not consider this hotel on my next trip. The hotel is in terrible need of renovation. There was mold and watermarks. Above the TV, there was a trail of water.

It was near the Sheung Wan MTR so getting to places were easy. However the MTR were not accessible except by stairs, which makes it difficult for older folks and when you are going places with luggage. Although it is near to the HK/Macau ferry terminal, you have to walk through the MTR stations to get across and as explained above, has to climb through many stairs.

The staff was not very friendly. When they returned our deposit in cash, we request for small change as we were taking the taxis to the airport. The staff raised her voice and told us that she needed it for another day. It was totally uncalled for, she could have advised us to change at a bank or money changer. When we told them we will reflect this in our review in tripadvisor, they changed their attitude immediately and spoke to us in a more polite manner.

Room Tip: chose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank May T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

The hotel side was full so they upgraded me to a "suite" on the serviced apartment side, but it was just a mini apartment that had a tiny kitchenette which I had no use for. There was no toiletries so I had to ask for them and although the room was clean, it was not worth $250 a night. Other than its location being very close to the subway, I'm not sure what else there is going for this establishment.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank F00dieTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
#91 of 725 in Hong Kong
476 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#32 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,149 reviews
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Sohotel
Sohotel
#156 of 725 in Hong Kong
255 reviews
Sheung Wan
Homy Hotel Central
Homy Hotel Central
#198 of 725 in Hong Kong
55 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Bauhinia Hotel - Tsim Sha Tsui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bauhinia Hotel - Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bauhinia Hotel - Central

Address: No.119-121 Connaught Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: RM408 - RM1,347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bauhinia Hotel - Central 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE BAUHINIA currently operates 4 boutique hotels and 2 serviced apartments in Hong Kong, Shenzhen and Guangzhou. Our THE BAUHINIA APARTMENTS - CENTARL and THE BAUHINIA APARTMENTS - SHENZHEN has been operating for a decade. With years of hospitality management experience, our first hotel THE BAUHINIA HOTEL - TSIM SHA TSUI opened in the vibrant Tsim Sha Tsui in 2010 featuring the stunning harbour view. THE BAUHINIA HOTEL - CENTRAL, with a modern boutique hotel concept, opened its doors in Central and contemporary modern designed in Guangzhou and Shenzhen in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Bauhinia Hotel - Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing