We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #11 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

So impressed with this hotel. Visually stunning inside with great views of the harbour at night. Horizon Club is a must if you can spare the extra, trust me you wont regret it.

I tossed up over which Shangri-La hotel to stay at, on the island or Kowloon, I chose the island because it was closer and more convenient for business meetings but getting around Hong Kong is a breeze and it really wouldn't have mattered if I had stayed at Kowloon. Considering the great shopping around the Shang in Kowloon I think I'll stay there next time.

Room was excellent, very comfortable bed, fantastic view, big bathroom, free internet, good size work desk, very clean and well appointed. The staff, well I can't praise them enough, amazing each and every one.

Not cheap staying at the Shang in HK but all things considered, a great room, horizon club access, free internet, fantastic views, outstanding service ... this hotel has it all and worth the money.

Room Tip: Horizon Club is a must and get a harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JWGT1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,545
    321
    59
    20
    22
See reviews for
328
518
126
739
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
275 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed here for three nights during a business trip. First stay at this hotel. The view of the harbor from my room was fantastic. The amenities were first class. The butler button was a nice feature as well as the hot tea on the evening of check in. I always had fresh fruit available and it was replenished often. The location was perfect for my itinerary. The hotel definitely pays extreme attention to detail. I highly recommend this hotel for those who enjoy quite, elegant accomodations and a staff that is well trained to care for the comfort and needs of their guests.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cphilpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed at the Island Shangri-La on our way back from Boracay for a two day shopping stop. The hotel is located in an excellent area for shopping as you are basically on top of a shopping centre and very central. The hotel is beautiful, a grand lobby, we stayed on the Horizon level which was beautiful. The rooms and bathrooms are very luxurious. We had breakfast upstairs in the Michelin star restaurant overlooking Honk Kong and a major highlight is the lobster and steak bar in the hotel. The food here is exceptional and surprisingly they had an amazing female singer on that night.
The staff aim to please, and would definitely stay here again if doing a lay over in HK.

Room Tip: Go for the Horizon Level - you get great benefits like express check in, access to great services an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Stayed there for the weekend with my girlfriend. We spent an hour going through the tv channels hoping to find a movie channel (HBO, Star Movies...etc), and we were unable to find one. The only one we found was TCM, which shows 50s and 60s movie. When I called the service center, the very unhelpful assistant informed me that should I wish to watch movies, I could just buy one from the On Demand Movie for HKD150!! It's crazy!! Although other factors like cleanliness and comfort are decisive when making your choice as where to spend you weekend, I would presume TV variety would also be as important. Specially if you're going to spend more time indoors to appreciate the view!! Very disappointing, won't come back.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozymandez O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tokyo
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Beautiful rooms and outstanding view. The hotel is located in the Pacific Place alongside the Conrad Hilton and the Marriott.
I decided to try this hotel as I enjoyed the one in Singapore a few years back. The hotel is on a grand scale and the comforts also. I love the fact that the bathroom had double sinks and a T.V. to watch as you soak up from a hard day of shopping. The metro (subway)is just across the street connected by the mall tunnel. Very elegant and every night they leave a different bookmark with passages from the Lost Horizon. The hotel boasts a fantastic breakfast,lunch and dinner buffet which boggles the eyes. At every meal there are different ethnic foods from Indian, Japanese, Chinese and Western. The hotel offers free bottled water and fresh fruit in the room every day.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pataki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,529 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Property: Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Address: Supreme Court Road, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): RM1,457 - RM2,500
Hotel Class:5 star — Island Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong is a welcoming luxury hotel in the heart of the city. It soars 56 floors above Hong Kong's most prestigious shopping, cultural and business addresses, with memorable views of the Peak and Victoria Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Hotelopia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Shangri La Hotel
Hotel Island Shangri La
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing