We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a great city!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Ranked #23 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a great city!”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Our stay in this hotel was a good one. Of course Hong Kong is an expensive city and dining prices are high, as are hotels, but we were well pleased with the hotel with one exception. The mattress in our room was well past its replacement date - I hate to fall into bed onto a bad mattress. If we had not been so jet lagged, we probably would have asked for a room with a better mattress, but we kept our room for three nights. Other than the bed, the hotel was fine and conveniently located. The breakfast buffet was particularly good! The hotel bar offered sandwich and drink selections throughout the day which is a great benefit for the jet-lagged traveler.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFL2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,384
    886
    187
    37
    28
See reviews for
543
676
172
756
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
northwood
Level Contributor
416 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I have used this hotel for many years on business and used to getting personal service with the high level of Intercon card that I hold.

This is changing fast as the hotel is always full and crammed with tourists and the staff cannot cope with this at all.

Rooms are well maintained but its lost its edge and I would not recommend this anymore for business purposes and its expensive for a private trip.

Room Tip: as high up as possible, harbour side preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012 via mobile

I spend only one night in grand Stanford hotel and I enjoyed it very much. Rooms very good stuffed and clean and very silent. Hotel is located at water front and a lot of nice places are on walking distance, like promenade of stars.
Very convenient is the hotel shuttle bus which has several stops at famous locations.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Herbert85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
267 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

During our many years of travelling we have never been treated as well as we were on the Club floor of the Grand Stamford InterContinental. We are InterContinental Ambassador members and were automatically upgraded to a deluxe harbour view room. Checking-in was a dream and the service in the Club lounge attentive, efficient but unobtrusive. No sooner had we stepped out of the first floor lift than Henry the waiter would be there with our drinks and a friendly welcome.

The hotel is clean, well maintained and the restaurants busy with diners. The rooms are well furnished and the beds huge and comfortable but the pillows were rather large and not to my liking. Although Hong Kong was not to our liking, if we ever came back this is where we would stay.

Room Tip: Get a harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Luxury from the moment we checked in. We got a free upgrade to a two-room suite, old-fashioned fit out, but beautifully done. Clean and spacious. The staff were all very friendly, especially at the pool area, which was virtually empty as it was January - but the pool was perfectly warm. The cocktails at Tiffanys were fantastic, even better for being two-4-one! The counter staff were excellent, and very helpful. Would throughly reccommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#11 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,853 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#12 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,628 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Royal Garden
The Royal Garden
#52 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Grand Stanford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Grand Stanford

Property: InterContinental Grand Stanford
Address: 70 Mody Road, Tsimshatsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#23 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#23 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#29 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): RM794 - RM1,347
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Grand Stanford 5*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the bustling shopping, business and entertainment district of Tsimshatsui East, InterContinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong, being a member of Intercontinental Hotels Group (IHG), is an acclaimed five-star hotel that offers sophistication and heritage. Set against the stunning backdrop of Victoria Harbour, half of the hotel's 570 luxuriously appointed guest rooms and suites boost sweeping views of picturesque Hong Kong skyline and breathtaking Victoria Harbour.Located in the proximity of the world-famous Star Ferry and within easy reach of all major transportation systems such as the Mass Transit Railway (MTR) and Guangzhou-Kowloon Through Train Station, the hotel offers easy accessibility within the city and entry into China. With complimentary shuttle bus service provided by the hotel, Hong Kong's largest shopping mall Harbour City is just within doorstep. InterContinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong provides the finest selection of world-class dining outlets from famed Cantonese cuisine at Hoi King Heen crafted by award-winning native Chef Leung, passionately Italian cuisine at Mistral with finest Italian produce, to contemporary international buffet at Café on M and Tiffany's New York Bar, knowing as Capital of Whisky with the largest whisky capacity in town. The sheer flexibility of the hotel, with its ample choice of venues complement the state-of-the-art meeting facilities in a comfortable and stylish setting, caters for functions of diverse size. For three consecutive years between 2014 and 2016, the hotel was recognized as "Hong Kong's Leading Business Hotel" by the prestigious World Travel Awards and the hotel collects the ultimate accolade for its renowned service as 'World's Leading Luxury Business Hotel' and 'Asia's Leading Business Hotel' in 2016. Its refined services and facilities makes the hotel the ideal choice for the savvy business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Grand Stanford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Grand Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Intercontinental Hong Kong
Intercontinental Hotel Hong Kong
Intercontinental Grand Stanford Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing