We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$141
US$137
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$161
US$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$148
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Royal Garden(Hong Kong)
US$186
US$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$138
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$234
US$201
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$303
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Metropark Hotel Mongkok(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$226
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$71
Hotel Direct
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (798)
Filter reviews
799 results
Traveller rating
131
331
215
74
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
331
215
74
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstimes squarecauseway baysignature roomchamps baran older hotelconvention centerwan chai mtrfree wificonvenient locationbit datedbreakfast buffetpublic transportfree callsconcierge staffdecent hotelmobile phonevisiting hong kong
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 799 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

It was a last minute decision to join some friends in Hong Kong for a few days so the available hotels were quite limited. Came across this one on Booking.com and seemed the fair option, though quite pricey for what it offers. Very basic, in terms of amenities, very old furniture and smelly bathroom especially after flushing, and no ventilation. The shower was nice, very good pressure but that was the only highlight of the room. There was no hairdryer, no iron, and the room was small but larger than other options I have seen and it was clean, despite all the required repairs needed. The hotel is in a good location, very safe, I came back walking at 5am from a night out with no issues. The staff speaks English which is a bonus. The payment system is a bit overcomplicated, as they charge you first night then they block the deposit, then they cancel the first night and at the end they charge the full amount. They told me it might take a month until I get the refund back and until they lift the block for the deposit, I will have to wait and see.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank Alisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenaYipCharterhouse, Hotel Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Charterhouse Causeway Bay, Hong Kong and giving us your feedback on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are glad that you are generally happy with our service and product. Indeed we shall embarked our room rejuvenation program in improving the design of guestroom including fixtures, finishing and etc that will create a different experience for our guests. It has always been our goal in providing the value added features.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Your sincerely
On behalf of Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

Way overpriced - stayed here for 3 days - not friendly associates, even though they have a button on that is saying “tell me if I don’t smile” - so I did.
Room super noisy - I had a connecting room and I could here any breath the neighbor was taking...

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenaYipCharterhouse, Hotel Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Charterhouse Causeway Bay, Hong Kong and giving us your feedback on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

Please accept our sincere apology for the inconveniences caused you were put through on your recent stay. Your related feedback has been addressed by our management team for further improvements on the overall staff service and attentiveness. Rest assured we shall incorporate into our staff training program for continual improvements.
Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Your sincerely
On behalf of Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Charterhouse in Causeway for three nights. It was a perfect place to stay, close to many venues, convenient to public transportation, and close to shopping. Right in the heart of Hong Kong so that you can appreciate the “busyness” of the city. Hotel is quiet so that one doesn’t hear the city noises except for an occasional siren. We ended up eating breakfasts and dinners in the hotel. The buffets were excellently prepared and had a full range of Chinese foodstuffs from Din Sum, to Shu Mai, to Wong Tons, to Japanese sushi. If Asian food is not your thing, there were many buffet offerings for the Western palate. I would say during our visit we were an ethnic minority which was great! Harry’s Bar is there and is a cozy meeting place.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Woodsgirl634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenaYipCharterhouse, Hotel Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Charterhouse Causeway Bay, Hong Kong and giving us your feedback on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are more than glad to know that you like our outlets, and are satisfied with the food variety and quality. Your kind words will be shared to our F&B team. Please rest assured that we shall keep on enhancing the food quality and variety so as to create an excellent dining experience for guests.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Your sincerely
On behalf of Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

We spent six nights here. And this was undoubtedly the worst hotel experience I had in a long long time. It is old. It smells. The superior room is small. The shower is small too and what’s worst the vent causes the bath curtain to be sucked in and stick to you. Disgusting. The bed is small and inconvenient. I did not get a one night good sleep for a week. Location is good. Breakfast not so much. Coffee undrinkable.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Tal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenaYipCharterhouse, Hotel Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Charterhouse Causeway Bay, Hong Kong and giving us your feedback on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

Please accept our sincere apology for the inconveniences caused you were put though on your recent stay and that was uncompromising towards our service promise. your related feedback has been addressed for further improvements. Subsequently we are gradually enhancing our guestroom thru our room rejuvenation program and trust improving the guest experience are our service promise.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Your sincerely
On behalf of Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

We were surprised when given the room to find that there were 2 double beds next to each other with very little room in the way of anything else. Very tight squeeze for 2 adults and 2 children! Although we had booked more than 6 months ago - they had still only made the room for 2 people. However, the room was clean and the service excellent, apart from the fact that they overcharged us for the room. Free breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice.
The hotel is close to some interesting markets and The Times Mall. It is not far to the MTR train stations.
So, apart from the tiny room, it was a good choice of hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 19Francis72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenaYipCharterhouse, Hotel Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Charterhouse Causeway Bay, Hong Kong and giving us your feedback on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are glad to learn that you were generally happy with our service and product. Your compliments on room cleanliness and food quality & variety will be shared to staff concerned to motivate them for their service performance.

On the other hand, we offer various room types and sizes for different traveler’s needs, perhaps for your future reservation you may consider to let our reservation colleague to know your preferences and make an advanced arrangement for you.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Your sincerely
On behalf of Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews