We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (820)
Filter reviews
820 results
Traveller rating
139
338
219
74
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
338
219
74
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstimes squarecauseway baysignature roomconvention centerwan chai mtrfree wificonvenient locationwalking distancebit datedbreakfast buffetflat screen tvfree callspublic transportmobile phonevisiting hong kongnoodlesshopping
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 820 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2017

Located in Causeway Bay, the hotel is close to attractions, shopping, banking, transportation and restaurants. Rooms are comfortable but not overly spacious. Bathroom is very good. Rooms include a free-to-use mobile phone that enables free international calls and local directions. Breakfast buffet is very good with a wide range of dishes to suit both Asian and Western tastes.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank robp28461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenaYipCharterhouse, Hotel Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Charterhouse Causeway Bay, Hong Kong and giving us your feedback on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

I am glad that your overall experience with us was positive and that you enjoyed the product and service provided by our team. Indeed handy smartphone is an exclusive privilege for our guests, which you could enjoy several services including unlimited local and international calls, 3G internet access, and comprehensive Hong Kong city guide.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Your sincerely
On behalf of Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2017

We were very satisfied with our stay here. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast buffet was excellent. The best bacon I have eaten in a Hong Kong hotel to date! I noted another members comment on noise and I have to admit the sound proofing isn't great. You can hear noise from other rooms, especially doors closing. Apart from that we were very happy. Staff were friendly and helpful and the location is good.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RoyOz2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenaYipCharterhouse, Hotel Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Charterhouse Causeway Bay, Hong Kong and giving us your feedback on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are more than glad to know that you like our restaurant especially our breakfast buffet, and is satisfied with the food variety and quality. Your compliment had been shared to our Food and Beverage team and please rest assured that we shall upkeep our food quality so as to create a better dining experience for guests.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Your sincerely
On behalf of Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

It was a last minute decision to join some friends in Hong Kong for a few days so the available hotels were quite limited. Came across this one on Booking.com and seemed the fair option, though quite pricey for what it offers. Very basic, in terms of amenities, very old furniture and smelly bathroom especially after flushing, and no ventilation. The shower was nice, very good pressure but that was the only highlight of the room. There was no hairdryer, no iron, and the room was small but larger than other options I have seen and it was clean, despite all the required repairs needed. The hotel is in a good location, very safe, I came back walking at 5am from a night out with no issues. The staff speaks English which is a bonus. The payment system is a bit overcomplicated, as they charge you first night then they block the deposit, then they cancel the first night and at the end they charge the full amount. They told me it might take a month until I get the refund back and until they lift the block for the deposit, I will have to wait and see.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank Alisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenaYipCharterhouse, Hotel Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Charterhouse Causeway Bay, Hong Kong and giving us your feedback on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are glad that you are generally happy with our service and product. Indeed we shall embarked our room rejuvenation program in improving the design of guestroom including fixtures, finishing and etc that will create a different experience for our guests. It has always been our goal in providing the value added features.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Your sincerely
On behalf of Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

Way overpriced - stayed here for 3 days - not friendly associates, even though they have a button on that is saying “tell me if I don’t smile” - so I did.
Room super noisy - I had a connecting room and I could here any breath the neighbor was taking...

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank Voyager80640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenaYipCharterhouse, Hotel Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Charterhouse Causeway Bay, Hong Kong and giving us your feedback on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

Please accept our sincere apology for the inconveniences caused you were put through on your recent stay. Your related feedback has been addressed by our management team for further improvements on the overall staff service and attentiveness. Rest assured we shall incorporate into our staff training program for continual improvements.
Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Your sincerely
On behalf of Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Charterhouse in Causeway for three nights. It was a perfect place to stay, close to many venues, convenient to public transportation, and close to shopping. Right in the heart of Hong Kong so that you can appreciate the “busyness” of the city. Hotel is quiet so that one doesn’t hear the city noises except for an occasional siren. We ended up eating breakfasts and dinners in the hotel. The buffets were excellently prepared and had a full range of Chinese foodstuffs from Din Sum, to Shu Mai, to Wong Tons, to Japanese sushi. If Asian food is not your thing, there were many buffet offerings for the Western palate. I would say during our visit we were an ethnic minority which was great! Harry’s Bar is there and is a cozy meeting place.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Woodsgirl634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenaYipCharterhouse, Hotel Manager at The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Charterhouse Causeway Bay, Hong Kong and giving us your feedback on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback made on our product and service.

We are more than glad to know that you like our outlets, and are satisfied with the food variety and quality. Your kind words will be shared to our F&B team. Please rest assured that we shall keep on enhancing the food quality and variety so as to create an excellent dining experience for guests.

Once again thank you for providing us this valuable feedback and we shall look forward to welcoming you again.

Your sincerely
On behalf of Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews