We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$44
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/11/21
Hotels.com
US$44
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/11/21
Agoda.com
US$39
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/11/21
Booking.comUS$44
PricelineUS$51
eDreamsUS$44
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
6
11
27
19
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
6
11
27
19
29
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Stayed in California Hotel few days ago for my birthday. The hotel is actually new and they were even renovating the place.

The location is inside Golden Crown Court along Nathan Road. Some people tend to get lost finding this place because you wouldn't notice the entrance, but we knew exactly where it is because of google earth. It's only a few meters away from the MTR. There are a lot of restaurants in the area as well. Malls are just walking distance. Perfect place in Tsim Sha Tsui.

From the airport, take bus A21 (make sure to buy 2 way ticket because its cheaper) and it will take you 1 block away from the building. Going back to the airport, you just have to cross the street and take the same bus.

Rooms are very small but it's how it is in Hong Kong. We have to place our luggage under our beds to have 'space'. Bathroom is small as well. The toilet is just beside the shower. Regardless, we slept pretty well. They regularly change your sheets and towels too.

Over all, the place is very clean, very convenient, and the staffs are very friendly.

Room tip: Get a room near the front desk to get good internet connection.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BMan888
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 September 2012

There are total of three of us in this trip and the room that they provided us was big enough for the three of us. Hotel rooms in HK are always small so can't really complain much unless you are willing to pay $200+ in SG for a night. But basic necessities are provided : Clean bed, new towels changed everyday and space for us to put our luggage. Once negative point was the hotel is not smoking free so smoking is allowed in the air-conditioned environment which i personally cannot stand it. I suggest that the owner of the hotel cather a room specially for smoking for the benefit of non-smoking guests.

Room tip: If u travel with odd numbers(3,6,9), request for the three person rooms as it is more spacious.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank IssacJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We booked this hotel because of the location, cost and because it offered a family room. On arrival, at 1.30 in the morning, the hotel couldn't find our booking, although we could clearly see our name written down in the arrivals book! The receptionist didn't know what to do so made a phone call to someone who instructed him to give us a full refund so that we could go and find alternative accommodation. By now it was 2.30 in the morning, we have 2 children and have never been to Hong Kong before so obviously this was not a suitable solution, we explain this to the member of staff who then suggested we could stay in the one room that was available - a single bedded room, by this time we were willing to compromise and went to look at the room. The room was down a corridor which was full of workmanship tools and even had a wheelbarrow in it! The room itself was tiny with the smallest single bed that I have every seen, my husband and I couldn't stand by the side of the bed and close the door - obviously unsuitable for 4 people to stay in. At this point our patience was running out, we had a child asleep in the hotel lobby and the other one worrying that we would be sleeping on the street in Hong Kong, we explained to the receptionist that he would need to find us alternative accommodation to which his reply was that he didn't think he would be able to find us anything. I encouraged him to try and he made a phone call, he was very cuffed with himself when he said that he had found something - a room in the guest house across the road which "old and not very nice" I am sure you can imagine our reaction!

It was at this point that we contacted our booking agent - Agoda - who were very helpful and eventually found us alternative accommodation.

I would not recommend that anyone stay in this, I use this term loosely, hotel.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank MrsK135
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 July 2012

California Hotel is located in the bustling Tsim Sha Tsui - a strong plus, but with no signages on the exterior of the building to which it is housed, it can be quite a challenge having to locate it.

But this is certainly a minor issue compared to other problems that we soon have to deal with.

We booked a triple room, but instead of being given a room with three single beds (as advertised), we are given a room with one single bed and a king single.
The toilet is small, as expected, but what we didn't expect is a toilet bowl built so close to the door and the wall that there's barely enough legroom for a 1.55m person, let alone anyone taller than that. But if you're taller than that and have to use the toilet, be prepared that you will have to twist your body and lift one of your thighs and hold it at an awkward angle.

Wifi is another issue. There's wifi in the common lobby, but no wifi in our room. When we raised the issue with the staff, he casually said it was because our room is too far away from the router. No further assistance offered.

There's also no remote control for the aircon in our room, no fixed line, and no place to hang our towels. When we asked for hangers, the staff again simply said he ran out of hangers, and went back to smoking again. Yes, the staff all smoked in the air-conditioned reception area.

Hair-dryers are not provided in the room, and we asked for it at the reception counter, the staff gave a stern reminder before handing it over. 'Return it as soon as you're done with it!'
That's when I realise I have made a terrible mistake of having checked in to this hotel. So if you're not on a shoestring budget, or are left with no choice, do think twice before you check in to California hotel, or just be prepared to have to put up with third-world service.

Date of stay: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pokesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 August 2019
Google Translation

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews