We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected in Hong Kong”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Ranked #113 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Firstly please note that in fairness we had been spoilt with excellent staff, excellent breakfasts and friendliness for two and a half weeks in Vietnam and Cambodia and were probably expecting a lot from the "big & glamorous" Hong Kong.

From the moment we arrived we noticed the difference in attitudes. Here (and I think in fairness throughout Hong Kong) people i.e. staff are busy and focussed and not in any way happy or friendly. Baggage was attended efficiently enough, check-in was equally efficient but brisk/brusque!

Positive point - we wanted a double bed and so were advised we had been upgraded to a family room with two double beds - we were a little "excited".

Take this as a positive or negative but yes we had two double beds - the room however was no bigger (possibly a little smaller than a UK travellodge bedroom and so we needed the bed space to park our suitcases. If we had been travelling with children, then this room would have been entirely inadequate for anything more than one night and preferably if you only had hand luggage.

At breakfast service was similarly brusque and we had to sit at tables with other people rather than on our own - wasn't a particular problem but isn't a positive point and may have been more of a problem for other people.

The breakfast was also gave a lot less choice than we had become accustomed to and was, in my opinion, pretty bland and the european items were mostly mass produced.

The worst point I am afraid was cleanliness. As I thought I had lost a tablet, I had to get down on the floor to look under the beds for it (granted I would not normally do that, but thats not the point!). Under the beds I found a hair scrunchy, a half litre bottle of water, a spare room key (!), a childrens tub of sweets and sundry paper tissues (yuk) and sweet wrappers. I left these on the dresser with a note for the cleaners. However as a note to Management, when I told the receptionist on check-out her reply was "OK". Not exactly the response I expected, nor, I am sure, the one that should be given.

There are no facilities (gym, pool etc) in this hotel but I am sure given the space constraints in HK that this is pretty standard.

On the positive points - this is well-placed for an easy walk to shops and restaurants. Access to public transport is relatively nearby. There was no noise. The toiletries were very nice. It has shuttle facilities to conference centres and so is probably more appealing to delegates & businessmen. The beds, bedding and pillows were very good and we slept well.

As I mentioned our stay was probably tarnished by the comparison to our previous few weeks but there are points in here for Hotel Management and travelling families.

Room Tip: Note my comments re family rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrapeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettWanchai, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. We regret to hear that your stay did not meet your expectation this time. Please be assured that the service you encountered was not reflecting the standard of services we always strive to deliver. We sincerely apologize if any inconvenience caused and we will definitely remind all the staff to ensure excellent hygiene condition of all rooms. We would also like to thank for your comments on our breakfast for our continuous improvements. On your next visit, we recommend you to try out our other room types that measure up to 48 sq. m with the breathtaking racecourse or Causeway Bay city view for more spacious and comfortable stay. In the future we will continue providing the bet stay experience to all guests in Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong. Look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 3,252 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was our first visit to Hong Kong and it was so exciting. The staff are so helpful and friendly, our room was great, easy check in and everything was so clean. We used the Dorsett booklet a lot, mainly for the recommended dinners, and we were very happy with the food. We especially wanted to go to Happy Valley Racecourse and the Wednesday night atmosphere was so exciting. The shuttles are a good idea, and we used the trams a lot. Ranee has an excellent knowledge of Hong Kong, thanks so much for all your help.We can't wait to come back and we would definitely stay at the Dorsett Wanchai.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter and have excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mozgrogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettWanchai, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and appreciated our staff, services and amenities. In the future we will continue providing the best stay experience to all guests in Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong. Look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

On arrival we were given room with twin beds. We spoke with reception desk to request a double room and were upgraded to a suite. The rooms were amazing. The bathroom was spacious with bath and separate shower. Everything was spotlessly clean. The breakfast had plenty of choices on offer. We found the staff polite and courteous. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Hannah58_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettWanchai, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Hannah,
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and appreciated our staff and services. In the future we will continue providing the best stay experience to all guests in Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong. Look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a nice time staying here for 3 nights. The service was good, rooms were clean and the beds were good. Only minus it's a bit away from all tourist attractions on Hong Kong Island. But if you don't mind walking as we you'll be fine.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Radl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettWanchai, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and appreciated our services. Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong is located amid Wanchai and Causeway Bay where numerous shopping and dining options are just in minutes of walk. On your next visit, you may also try out our free shuttle bus service that goes to 16 destinations. In the future we will continue providing the best stay experience to all gusts in Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong. Look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

My wife,daughter n my grandson who is only 10 months are totally enjoy our stay. Staff from the front desk, concierge, bellman to the room server are all excellent. The hotel is clean well lighted. Room are clean n specious. Hotel is a short distance from the shops but they do provide shuttle bus. There is a smartphone w free local call for us to use. One thing we haven't try is their restaurant. I will try it before we leave. I highly recommend Dorsett wan chai .

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettWanchai, General Manager at Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Richard,
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted to learn that you had a great stay with us and appreciated our location, staff and services. In the future we will continue providing the best stay experience to all guests in Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong. Look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Cosmo Hotel Hong Kong
#141 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,435 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#75 of 726 in Hong Kong
3,813 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#73 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,524 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Address: 387-397 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#56 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#77 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#96 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#100 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: RM396 - RM1,339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong has completed a top-to-bottom overhaul to all its 454 rooms and suites and the hotel lobby. The new lobby welcomes guest with an unexpectedly playful vibe which is apparent on the design elements aimed to captivate one's senses. Each of the newly refurbished room, on the other hand, adopts a meticulous theme including the East-meets-West Victorian and classic Oriental and sleek-contemporary designs to name a few. Refurbished rooms offer a majestic view of the race course adjacent to the hotel, while the redesigned bathrooms feature a refreshing rain shower experience. Every Friday, hotel guests are welcome to join the 'Dorsett Wine Hour' at the lobby during which free flow of wine and canapés are provided. For the kids, there is also a colourfully decorated Candy Bar filled with sweet treats. With a lively neighborhood to explore and a dynamic address amid Wan Chai and Causeway Bay, there is a subway station only an eight-minute stroll away. All hotel guests will be given a specially designed 'Eat & Shop Like A Local' booklet which covers a host of local-recommended eateries and shopping spots in the hotel's neighbourhood, offering guests an authentic Hong Kong experience. The hotel also offers scheduled shuttle services to 16 destinations including Causeway Bay, Wanchai, Central, Admiralty, Quarry Bay and Taikoo. Every guestroom features a portable smart phone for free use inside and outside of the hotel, offering unlimited 3G internet supported by Wi-Fi hotspot sharing function, free local and IDD calls to 9 select countries including Australia, Canada, China, Korea, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, UK and US. Other facilities include a gymnasium, meeting rooms accommodating up to 200 delegates, a refurbished bar on the lobby level and Dining House serving Cantonese cuisine. Dorsett Wanchai is an environmentally friendly "green" hotel with a 100% smoke-free policy. It is also an Earthcheck Bronze Benchmarked Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cosmopolitan Hong Kong
Hong Kong Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing