We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, functional hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
iclub Fortress Hill Hotel
Ranked #108 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Modern, functional hotel”
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Having tried the iclub Sheung wan, it wasn't such a surprise. It's tucked away a little from the MTR but its an easy 10 minute walk. Taxi's have trouble finding it though as it's a very new hotel and they don't know the English name of the street as its not a main road. The room itself is small, comfortable enough for one person but a struggle for 2 especially in the bathroom, which was made of glass. Only one person could use the bathroom at any time as the shower door was also the bathroom door. This was an issue as there was a slight gap so when showering the water would leak out into the rest of the bathroom. I got upgraded and I couldn't see the difference in size apart from maybe the bathroom having a little more space to put down your toiletries bag next to the sink and there was free body lotion.

There are only three lifts and lots of floors so often there is a wait to get to and from your room. The staff at the reception were indifferent to say the least despite my speaking in Chinese cantonese to them as they were struggling with English they persisted and weren't particularly helpful when I asked about transport to the airport in the early hours or assistance to book a taxi for the next day.

It's compact, functional, modern, new and easy to get to on the MRT but a little difficult to find taxi's around especially when in a hurry to get to the airport. Think I prefer the Sheung Wan one. The bathroom felt a little bigger.

Room Tip: Higher floors the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieP87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgene L, General Manager at iclub Fortress Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2017
Dear AnnieP87,

Thank you for staying at iclub Fortress Hotel and share your accommodation experience on TripAdvisor; It is our pleasure to have you here with us and good to learn that iclub Fortress Hill is the type of the hotel you prefer.

We are honored to learn that you have enjoyed the iClub Concept; enjoy our guestroom, the convenience of hotel’s location and facilities, complementary morning refreshment in our iLounge and the 24/7 Pacific coffee.

Thank you for all your support; we look forward to welcoming you again for your next trip in Hong Kong and you may also consider to book via our website for better deal!

Regards,

Elgene Lee (Mr.)
General Manager

- Indoor Air Quality Certificate (Good Class) 2015-2016
- TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2016; Golden Pearl Award – Business Hotel of the Year 2016 & Golden Horse Award of China Hotel – The Best City Boutique Hotel of China
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    269
    92
    27
    16
See reviews for
79
222
122
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We booked the rooms kinda last minute for 3 nights during New Year's holidays. The hotel is in a good location, about 5-10 minutes walk from the Fortress Hill MTR Station. Walking with our luggage to the hotel was no trouble at all. Our rooms were clean, and had large window with a great view. Space maybe a bit limiting for some people but not for us since we're out most of the time. The hotel gave us a bottle of wine for each room, I guessed because we stayed on NYE.

However, here are some major complaints!! On our first day, all the 3 elevators went out of service. The staff could not tell how long they would take to fix it, so after waiting for over half an hour my friends decided to walk up the stairs for 32 floors!!! (also the elevator can take a while to wait if during busy check-out time)

Our other issue was the air conditioner. On our second day there, the weather got a lot sunnier and warmer so the a/c in the room wasn't as cool as we'd like it to be, but still tolerable. The worst is on our last day. We came back to the room in the afternoon and the a/c wasn't working. It was just blowing air like a fan. A friend called down to the lobby and they sent someone up to the room (who didn't speak English). He pushed some buttons on the controller, but it didn't change anything. We went down to the lobby, the receptionist explained that our rooms were on the side facing the sun, and they have lowered temperature on the central air system since it's during winter time. Basically saying there's nothing they could do about it, so they offered to change the rooms for us. We ended up just leaving for the day, because we didn't want to waste our time waiting as the receptionist was busy with other guests and seemed to ignore us.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgene L, General Manager at iclub Fortress Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2017
Dear Petra R,

Thank you for staying at iclub Fortress Hotel and share your accommodation experience on TripAdvisor; It is our pleasure to have you here with us and good to learn that iclub Fortress Hill is the type of the hotel you prefer.

We are grateful that you enjoy our service during your stay and we deeply appreciate you pointing out the areas that did not meet your expectations.
Your valuable feedback has been well conveyed to the concerned departments for immediate improvement and we apologize for our emergency maintenance of the guest lifts.

Thank you for all your support; we look forward to welcoming you again for your next trip in Hong Kong and you may also consider to book via our website for better deal!

Regards,
Regards,

Elgene Lee (Mr.)
General Manager

- Indoor Air Quality Certificate (Good Class) 2015-2016
- TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2016; Golden Pearl Award – Business Hotel of the Year 2016 & Golden Horse Award of China Hotel – The Best City Boutique Hotel of China

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Went to stay at this hotel over New Year. For about $300 per night, the room was clean and very ergonomically design and compact. Don't expect too much for breakfast. The hotel is near Tin Hau food square. Lots of types of food. But not too many pubs if you are looking for night life. One incident marred the entire stay at this hotel. The 3 lifts decided to take a break for a few hours. We were staying at 22nd floor and we had no choice but slowly walked up. Because of this problem, the toilet also went bizarre. It was flushing out brownish green water. The front desk can improve too.

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JoshChui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgene L, General Manager at iclub Fortress Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2017
Dear JoshChui,

Thank you for taking time sharing your observations with us.
Your valuable feedback has been well conveyed to the concerned departments for immediate improvement. Once again we appreciate your feedback that make us better. We sincerely look forward to your next visit in the near future.

With best regards,

Elgene Lee (Mr.)
General Manager

- Hotel Indoor Air Quality Certificate (Good Class) 2015-2016
- TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2016; Golden Pearl Award – Business Hotel of the Year 2016 & Golden Horse Award of China Hotel – The Best City Boutique Hotel of China
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights from 2 Dec. Check-in was a breeze. Room was typically small but clean and well-kept. Bathroom was slightly problematic as the water tended to spill over to the toilet floor after a shower. Staff were helpful and friendly. In terms of location, we could not have asked for more. The MTR station is 3-5 minutes by foot so are the bus-stop and tram-stop. There is even a bus service to the airport right in front of the MTR station. Alternatively you can walk for 3-5 minutes to Harbour Grand Hong Kong Hotel to take the free shuttle bus to Hong Kong station for the Airport Express. There are plenty food options in the vicinity. 大澳德發 which is directly opposite the MTR station is worth a try.

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryan0034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgene L, General Manager at iclub Fortress Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2017
Dear Ryan0034,

Thank you for taking time sharing your observations with us.
Your valuable feedback has been well conveyed to the concerned departments for immediate improvement. Once again we appreciate your feedback that make us better. We sincerely look forward to your next visit in the near future.

With best regards,

Elgene Lee (Mr.)
General Manager

- Hotel Indoor Air Quality Certificate (Good Class) 2015-2016
- TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2016; Golden Pearl Award – Business Hotel of the Year 2016 & Golden Horse Award of China Hotel – The Best City Boutique Hotel of China
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

I requested high floor so was given 35th floor. A bit of harbour view but the curtain roller not functioning well so didn't really get to enjoy night view. Anyway I just wanna sleep after a long day. Breakfast provided. Coffee provided all day long. The aunties at breakfast session were nice. Walking distance to mtr. Some eating places nearby. One that we like for dinner is 好地方。

Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alyssx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgene L, General Manager at iclub Fortress Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2017
Dear Alyssx,

Thank you for taking time sharing your observations with us.
We are grateful that you enjoy our service during your stay and we deeply appreciate you pointing out the areas that did not meet your expectations.
Your valuable feedback has been well conveyed to the concerned departments for immediate improvement and thank you for your complement to our staff who serve you during the morning refreshment on the iLounge.
Once again we appreciate your feedback that make us better. We sincerely look forward to your next visit in the near future.

With best regards,

Elgene Lee (Mr.)
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Fortress Hill
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
City Garden Hotel Hong Kong
#107 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,372 reviews
Hotel Sav Hong Kong
#83 of 718 in Hong Kong
445 reviews
Tin Hau
Butterfly on Victoria
Butterfly on Victoria
#64 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tin Hau
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
Sheung Wan
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
#100 of 718 in Hong Kong
450 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
#117 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to iclub Fortress Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iclub Fortress Hill Hotel

Property: iclub Fortress Hill Hotel
Address: No.18 Merlin Street, North Point, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price range (per night): RM249 - RM816
Hotel Class:3.5 star — iclub Fortress Hill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
iclub Fortress Hill Hotel is a contemporary select-service hotel centrally located at Fortress Hill district. With just a 4-minute walk to Fortress Hill MTR Station (exit A) as well as tram and bus stations, guests staying at iclub Fortress Hill Hotel can conveniently access to all shopping, dining, entertainment and financial districts in Hong Kong. Airport Express Shuttle bus "H4" stop in front of hotel provides free shuttle to Airport Express Hong Kong Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your iclub Fortress Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iclub Fortress Hill Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing