We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amber always make me feel that special.”
Review of Amber

Amber
Reserve a table
2
Mon, 27/05
20:00
OR
Reserve a table
Ranked #104 of 16,268 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central
Description: A contemporary French fine-dining restaurant that has been awarded both two-star and Green-star Michelin status helmed by Culinary Director Richard Ekkebus. Since its launch, Amber has challenged the status quo of fine dining in Hong Kong and beyond, attracting a global audience of discerning gourmands for its innovative approach to French cuisine. In the elegantly composed dining room created by renowned New York firm Tihany Design, Chef Ekkebus and his team continue to redefine cuisine for a modern audience and push their limits to new levels such as pioneering an indulgent and luxurious experience in a more sustainable philosophy.
Reviewed 12 April 2024

When Amber change the menu every season. I will go to eat with my friends. Every time also making a difference and beautiful dish for us. We all enjoy it very much.

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Monamak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hong Kong The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, 其他 at Amber, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Monamak

Thank you for writing us such a wonderful review! We are glad that your experience at Amber has been a fantastic one. It is delighted to read your compliments on our seasonal dishes, which we are really proud of.

Guest satisfaction is always our top priority and we are truly grateful for your continuous support.

We look forward to continuing to create FANtastic dining experience for you and your guests in the future.

Best regards,
Laura Latry
Food & Beverage Manager
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2024 via mobile

Amber is definitely one of my favourite place for French fine dining in Hong Kong.
I have visited Amber three times in the past year, and each time was a wonderful experience. The food was exquisite, with beautiful presentation. Everything was prepared in perfection with the best ingredients.
The service was impeccable, especially from Ms. Suku, the Assistant Manager. She was very caring and attentive, and made us feel very welcome. She introduced each dish in detail. She was very knowledgeable and professional.
Amber is a gem that I highly recommend to anyone who loves French cuisine. It is a place where you can enjoy a memorable meal with your loved ones.

Date of visit: December 2023
1  Thank GraceYannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hong Kong The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, 其他 at Amber, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2024

Dear GraceYannie

Thank you for your 5-star rating! It is delighted to know that your lunch experience at Amber was a memorable one, from the ambience to the food and our service.. Your warm compliments have been shared with Suku and the team.

Guest satisfaction is always our top priority and we are truly grateful for your continuous support.

Thank you for visiting us again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Laura Latry
Food & Beverage Manager
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2024 via mobile

I went to Amber with a friend 2 days ago and we both thoroughly enjoyed our dinner.

The tasting menu featured some very fresh and high quality ingredients. While all savoury dishes were very delicious, the following were particularly memorable:

1. the iconic Aka Uni dish
2. Normandy scallop with winter truffle which we had in the kitchen
3. French lamb which comprised 3 different parts. The meat was perfectly cooked. It’s very tender and juicy with a unique fragrance.

The dessert wasn’t bad. But I’m kind of old-school and would have preferred some traditional or classic French pastry dessert.

As always, the service was impeccable. All the staff were professional, knowledgeable and courteous.

Highly recommended.

Date of visit: February 2024
1  Thank Egon70
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hong Kong The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, 其他 at Amber, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2024

Dear Egon 70,

Thank you for writing us such a FANtastic review! It is delighted to know that your dinner experience at Amber was a memorable one, from the ambience to the food and our service. It is glad to see that you have enjoyed one of our signature dishes – Aka Uni and more. Your warm compliments have been shared with the team.

Guest satisfaction is always our top priority and we are committed to offering the most unforgettable experiences.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Laura Latry
Food & Beverage Manager
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2024

Enough with the truffle oil and slimy gelatin with every course. The service was impeccable despite the disappointing food quality. The 8 course meal became mundane after the 3rd course with truffle this and truffle that. I was doing my best to get through the meal up until the burnt fois gras was too much to forgive. $1500 USD for 2 (with the enigma pairing + amazing 2013 Dom) was a bit much for a boring attempt with no imagination of flavor!!

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hong Kong The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, 其他 at Amber, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2024

Dear coopkt

Thank you for your candid feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We would love to have the opportunity to get in touch with you and learn more about your thoughts. Please feel free to reach out to me directly at lauralatry@mohg.com. We are looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Best regards,
Laura Latry
Food & Beverage Manager
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2024

my hubby brought me to Amber for birthday lunch. I havent been to Amber for quite some time and now they offer lunch set with free flow which is so perfect for me! the ultra premium free flow offers great wines and really worth the price!
the food was really good and i really do love the service. how the professional servers presented the dishes definitely enhanced the appetite!
the lunch went so well that i got the whole list of servers who served us, really thank you to Laura, Batuhan, Suku, Sabnam, Arthur, Katrina, Bipika, Mark, Gap, Constance, Scott, Franky and Kenny! truly appreciated!
Special thanks to Arthur who presented the dishes so well, Katrina with great smile and who conveyed my message to kitchen and Gap who was so attentive to my glasses!

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ivytsang212
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hong Kong The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, 其他 at Amber, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2024

Dear ivytsang212

Thank you for writing us such a FANtastic review! It is delighted to know that your birthday celebration experience at Amber was a memorable one, from the ambience to the food and our service. Your warm compliments have been shared with the team.

Guest satisfaction is always our top priority and we are committed to offering the most unforgettable experiences.

Thank you for visiting us again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Laura Latry
Food & Beverage Manager
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amber also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Amber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.