We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and great rooms but slow check-in counter service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Jakarta
Ranked #36 of 464 Hotels in Jakarta
Certificate of Excellence
KL
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Friendly and great rooms but slow check-in counter service”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We arrived at the hotel at 10am and there was a queue at the counter. It seemed to take the counter staff a fairly long time to check people in and out, there were only 3 staff working at the counter. When it came round to our turn, the counter staff was perfectly polite and friendly but informed us that our room would not be ready until the afternoon. We left our bags and returned in the afternoon. Our room was on the 5th floor and we received an upgrade to a Starwood preferred guest room. The room was very spacious and quite cosy, with a comfortable bed, desk and ample cupboard space. Dressing gown and bedroom slippers included, and I really loved the powerful hairdryer. Superb power shower and lots of usable space beside the sink.

They don't provide toothbrushes though, so you would either have to request this or bring one along with you. The only thing which is not good about the room is that if you can one facing the main street (which is the one we got), it gets noisy in the morning with all the traffic. I'm not sure how the other side of the hotel is like, but there is a lot of construction along the main road (I think they are building an overpass).

Breakfast was decent, a good spread of all sorts of food and attentive service from the staff. I thought overall that the hotel was nicely decorated and had a warm feel to it instead of the hollow caverns that many hotels have for lobbies. The property is old and hence the ceilings are lower but they've made it plush so it feels warm and welcoming. Our check out was very efficient as we paid in advance and it was no problem getting a taxi to the airport. We thought it was good value for money and would stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the main street are quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OctoberSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemeridienjakarta, Manager at Le Meridien Jakarta, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Dear OctoberSun,

Thank you for taking your valuable time in writing your valuable review about the service and facilities. We sincerely appreciate your comments and valuable for us in order to provide even better service in our effort to accomplish total guest satisfaction. For your next stay, May I suggest you to book room in tower building (starting from deluxe room, club room, etc) which is soundproof already. Once again, thank you for your review, whenever your travel brings back in Jakarta, we are much looking forward to welcoming you again at the Le Meridien Jakarta.

Kind regards,
Isrin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    459
    172
    36
    18
See reviews for
93
73
95
640
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

My 2nd stay at the Le Meridien in downtown Jakarta once again has been excellent.

Quality room that met my expectations and an excellent buffett breakfast with good choices in an comfortable environment.

Try to ask for a room away from the downtown traffic but even then, you hardly hear/notice the noise even if youa re facing the main highway/road.

Will def. be staying here again on my next business trip. Check in was promot and fast. Security is as expected in Jakarta as you enter the hotel and is a norm.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diving-Addiction00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemeridienjakarta, Manager at Le Meridien Jakarta, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Dear The_Rottweiler,

Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay with us. Your compliment about the service and facility are highly appreciated. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Isrin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I stayed on official trip in dec for 3 days and found this place real very fast in response . Their service quality was excellent . The negative is the infra as this is now a very old hotel and doesn't look very attractive . However we were give spl floor being spg members and we found it ok but rooms were small . Overall the service was so good that we didn't feel to much about other issues . Overall a good choice if you look for Le meridian at good price

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DR_APAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemeridienjakarta, Manager at Le Meridien Jakarta, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear DR_APAC,

Thank you for taking your valuable time in writing your review about the service and facilities. Your comment on hotel refurbishment will be considered. Again thank you for taking time to post your review. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Isrin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Best breakfast buffet ! It's fresh and many choices to choose from!

Toilet & bedroom is clean, no bed bugs or dust mite.

Very strategic location to the shopping mall. Take a cab to the nearest mall is 10 minutes :)

And also free Wifi :) stable and fast connection

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChesterTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemeridienjakarta, Manager at Le Meridien Jakarta, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear ChesterTan,

We are much looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Thank you for taking your time sent the review at Tripadvisor.

Kind regards,
Isrin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I booked the first of three nights through a discount website: superior room (room only) for USD 134++. I was positively impressed with what quality of accommodation I got for this money. Yes, it is a relatively old hotel but very well taken care of and certainly renovated in the not-to-distant past. The room's furniture was modern and it was equipped with all the amenities that one would expect of a 5-star accommodation (flat screen TV, generous supply of complimentary drinking water, wired and wireless internet connection, sound system with Ipod docking station etc.). The bed is very comfortable. The bathroom is clad in gray polished quartz tiles and has a combined shower/bathtub facility.
When extending the next morning, all the cheaper packages had been sold - or so I was told. As I did not want to move out, I agreed to take the superior room package with executive club access (complimentary snacks and drinks from 6 - 8pm, complimentary laundry for 3 pieces, breakfast, complimentary use of conference room for up to two hours etc.) for USD 220++.
Since I was not interested in any of the extras, this higher rate reduced my value for money perception - especially since I insisted to stay in the same room as the previous night instead of moving to the same class room on the executive club level. However, for guests making full use of the package, the higher rate may still be good value as the thrifty could use the 6 - 8 pm lounge access to substitute dinner and thereby realize significant cost savings - especially when consuming wine and other alcoholic beverages which are on tap during this time slot. Breakfast consisted of a buffet with an average spread of high quality offerings targeted at an internationally diverse clientele. I extended for a 3rd night (room only) at the rack rate of USD 155++.
The hotel has a bar with pool table and a music section (life and piped), which is okay for those who are in need of some late-night entertainment and do not want to go to the - justifiably - more popular places at the Shangri-La or the Mulia.
The hotel is quite ideally located along Sudirman. Most of it is however surrounded by an old construction site, which has been untouched since the financial crisis of the late ninteties. Hence, if you like to have a room with a view, do not take a room which faces the enormous ditch or the rusty steel concrete skeleton at back of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lemeridienjakarta, Manager at Le Meridien Jakarta, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Dear C073,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel after your recent stay with us and I am pleased to see that you overall enjoyed the hotel and the services we offer.

The availability of packages is dependent on seasons when we expect lower occupancies; for which time we create web offers which need to be booked (and often paid) in advance.

Please continue to look out for offers on the Starwood website and we look forward to welcome you back to Le Meridien Jakarta.

Kind regards,
Isrin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jakarta hotels
Menteng
Sari Pan Pacific Jakarta
Sari Pan Pacific Jakarta
#44 of 464 in Jakarta
779 reviews
Crowne Plaza Hotel Jakarta
#125 of 464 in Jakarta
535 reviews
Century Park Hotel
#45 of 464 in Jakarta
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sawah Besar
Hotel Borobudur Jakarta
Hotel Borobudur Jakarta
#30 of 464 in Jakarta
1,253 reviews
Tanah Abang
The Sultan Hotel & Residence Jakarta
Gran Melia Jakarta
#19 of 464 in Jakarta
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Jakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Jakarta

Property: Le Meridien Jakarta
Address: Jl. Jenderal Sudirman Kav 18-20, Jakarta 10220, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Jakarta > Tanah Abang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Jakarta
#26 Spa Hotel in Jakarta
#29 Business Hotel in Jakarta
#34 Luxury Hotel in Jakarta
Price range (per night): RM412 - RM802
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Meridien Jakarta 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Jakarta sits at the heart of the city’s golden triangle.Offering 396 rooms, the hotel exemplifies intimate luxury in a chic Javanese inspired environment. The hotel features an all-day dining restaurant, specialty restaurants serving delicious Lebanese and Japanese Cuisine, two bars—and a world class spa and fitness centre with Asian massage treatments, sauna and whirlpool. The fully renovated main ballroom, called SasonoMulyo, is thoughtfully designed and luxuriously appointed with a capacity up to 1000 guests—an ideal venue for wedding celebrations, corporate events and large-scale functions. A full range of audio, visual equipment and High Speed Internet Access is provided in 10 other meeting venues designed for 10 to 150 persons.Le Méridien Jakarta also features a penthouse suite featuring a 100-year old, handcrafted Kudus House; an intricately carved structure made from teak wood. Le MeridienClub encompasses the top four floors of the hotel tower, and the Club Lounge is on the 20th floor, providing spectacular views of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Starwood APAC, Ctrip TA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Jakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Jakarta Hotel Jakarta
Jakarta Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing