We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
5
8
9
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5
8
9
7
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2019

We decided to stay at Sophia’s Guest House in El Nido which had good reviews on AirBnB (4/5).

The Good:
-pretty reliable WiFi
-beach front (the ocean is 5 feet away)
-its very affordable and breakfast is included (the pineapple pancakes were delicious).

The Bad:
-not the most conversational English-speaking staff
-there are lots of flys, knats, spiders, ants and the occasional gecko in the rooms and bathrooms
-the bathrooms smell rancid (you can't throw toilet paper in the toilets FYI)
-the hot water is unreliable
-the staff tries to keep the lobby clean there is a lot of sand and water trekked throughout that invariably gets into your room.

This place sounds like a charming guesthouse that’s beachfront but it feels much like an unkempt hostel. I just felt unclean the entire time. My recommendation is stay elsewhere.

Room tip: The first room as you enter on the left is right behind the breakfast porch so it can get noisy.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank charismi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2018 via mobile

Sophia's Beach Guest House was a pleasant stay although the location and the sunsets were the only benefits to staying there. The staff could have been more friendly and our room was not cleaned at all during the four nights we stayed there. We had breakfast included but ended up having it elsewhere as their breakfast was not worth it. The room was comfortable with good air conditioning but the bathroom could have been better. Overall this was an average experience.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 107evanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

Arrived late on the night , booked last minute , what a surprise when we woke up , ten ft away was the sea and beach fantastic position, amazing views , room was clean and basic , free breakfast you order for a time and it’s cooked for you ,only a basic breakfast , no safe or tv in room but great view , as ac , five minutes to down town al nido , seven paso on trickle , would stay again just for the position , staff and owner very helpfull

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 554MichaelA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

We had booked several nights but was so disappointed we left after only one night. The first room we were given had a distinct smell of fungus.
The next room on the first floor had walls made of paper! You could hear EVERYTHING and we didn’t get any sleep that night.

The staff was never very helpful and we couldn’t get a refund.

Just chose something else, especially with the price. Way to expensive for what you get!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank sofies740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

The charm of this hotel is that it is right on the beach with gorgeous views. The beach is littered with trash, and walking along it is hazardous unless you have shoes. There are a few local shops and restaurants around but not much choice. Breakfast was okay but not great, and our beachside room opened up on to a public walkway with no privacy. The staff were inattentive and seemed to be more interested in their cell phones than in their customers. Our stay here was disappointing and not worth what we paid.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank nancyb20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews