We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
5
8
9
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
5
8
9
7
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2019

Do your self a favour, and do not stay here. We had booked 3 nights, and only stayed one night, it was too disgusting to stay longer. I actually slept in my clothes so we could get out first thing. The toilet in the bathroom leaked sewage each time it was flushed, and that smelly mess leaked across the floor in front of the sink into the shower area. The entire place place stunk. The bedding and towels were thread bare, and the mat for the bathroom was filthy. The towel racks in the bathroom were missing so many screws they were hanging lopsided and you couldn't have used them.
The staff were sweet, and gracious, and appeared embarrassed when we told them we were leaving due to the unsanitary conditions. The one positive is that the hotel is right on the beach.

Room tip: we had a family room, if you dare open the window you got the smell of garbage as the room was directly above all their garbage
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2019

We decided to stay at Sophia’s Guest House in El Nido which had good reviews on AirBnB (4/5).

The Good:
-pretty reliable WiFi
-beach front (the ocean is 5 feet away)
-its very affordable and breakfast is included (the pineapple pancakes were delicious).

The Bad:
-not the most conversational English-speaking staff
-there are lots of flys, knats, spiders, ants and the occasional gecko in the rooms and bathrooms
-the bathrooms smell rancid (you can't throw toilet paper in the toilets FYI)
-the hot water is unreliable
-the staff tries to keep the lobby clean there is a lot of sand and water trekked throughout that invariably gets into your room.

This place sounds like a charming guesthouse that’s beachfront but it feels much like an unkempt hostel. I just felt unclean the entire time. My recommendation is stay elsewhere.

Room tip: The first room as you enter on the left is right behind the breakfast porch so it can get noisy.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank charismi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2018 via mobile

Sophia's Beach Guest House was a pleasant stay although the location and the sunsets were the only benefits to staying there. The staff could have been more friendly and our room was not cleaned at all during the four nights we stayed there. We had breakfast included but ended up having it elsewhere as their breakfast was not worth it. The room was comfortable with good air conditioning but the bathroom could have been better. Overall this was an average experience.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 107evanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

Arrived late on the night , booked last minute , what a surprise when we woke up , ten ft away was the sea and beach fantastic position, amazing views , room was clean and basic , free breakfast you order for a time and it’s cooked for you ,only a basic breakfast , no safe or tv in room but great view , as ac , five minutes to down town al nido , seven paso on trickle , would stay again just for the position , staff and owner very helpfull

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 554MichaelA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

We had booked several nights but was so disappointed we left after only one night. The first room we were given had a distinct smell of fungus.
The next room on the first floor had walls made of paper! You could hear EVERYTHING and we didn’t get any sleep that night.

The staff was never very helpful and we couldn’t get a refund.

Just chose something else, especially with the price. Way to expensive for what you get!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank sofies740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews