We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moderate price, great service”
Review of Hotel 81 Selegie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 81 Selegie
Ranked #247 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 20 February 2015

The hotel has great staff, taking time to help me locate my phone after I lost it.
For the same price, the rooms are clean and a little larger than I'd had in the Fragrance in Bugis.
They also used the hotel refrigerator to store my medicines (insulin).

Room Tip: Rooms down the back have no view but are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DrBretto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 53 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2015

Decent Budget hotel, with small (cramped?) rooms. The plus is it comes with free wifi. Walking distance from MRT. Good if all you need it for is a decent night's sleep. Good restaurants nearby and close to Little India.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Somtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2015

Stayed here for a night. The rooms are clean, but are very small. Even the bathroom/shower combination is small. It is located near Little India and is walking distance to the Bugis MRT. I was able to get a late checkout at 3 PM via a room option on bookings. That was one of the main reasons I chose this place and it was a big help since I had a late flight out.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kven21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2015

its not a big hotel
Clean rooms
No windows
Just good for sleeping
Small lobby i mean theres only a reception area
No restaurant
A 5 minute walk to mrt
Near 7 eleven
Lots of restaurant in the area

Good for backpackers

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Cheapycheapygum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2015 via mobile

My family (which includes 15 year old twins) stayed at the Hotel 81 Selegie from the 2/12/2014 to 5/12/2014. We enjoyed our stay. Our family room had comfortable beds and was very clean. The air conditioning worked well and provided respite from the heat.
While the room had no windows and the cramped toilet/shower was a little inconvenient we were prepared for this by other Trip Advisor reviews and the positives more than made up for these issues. The location is great. It is smack bang in the middle of vibrant Little India. The Tekka Centre for food hawkers is nearby and provides tasty and inexpensive meals. We had great breakfasts at the Ananda Bhavan restaurant on Buffalo Road. My daughters bought pretty and very affordable clothes from nearby shops including some on Buffalo Road. All of this is a short walking distance from the hotel. When we were ready to visit the impressive shopping centres on Orchard Road and the great tourist attractions of Singapore we only had a short 5 minute walk to the Little India MRT station and all of this was available to us. The staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. For example, they were quick to reply to my enquiries before we arrived regarding the best/most cost effective way of getting from Changi to the hotel. We would definitely stay in this well located and affordable hotel again.

Stayed: December 2014
2  Thank Rialemsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Hotel 81 Rochor
Hotel 81 Rochor
#202 of 319 in Singapore
200 reviews
City Inn Mackenzie
#176 of 319 in Singapore
318 reviews
Little India
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
#148 of 319 in Singapore
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fragrance Hotel - Selegie
#159 of 319 in Singapore
31 reviews
Hotel 81-Bugis
#239 of 319 in Singapore
223 reviews
Hotel 81 - Osaka
#212 of 319 in Singapore
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 Selegie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 Selegie

Address: 161 Selegie Road | Singapore, Singapore 188318, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #247 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: RM 210 - RM 460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 Selegie 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 81 Selegie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 Selegie Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing