We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
19
39
61
23
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
19
39
61
23
20
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Its a great place to stay for 2 days and friendly receptionist.

Room tip: Room is good
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rizh163
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 May 2012

i landed in this hotel last july ,first time visiting singapore, i didnt know it was redlight area stayed here for 3 days it was good there was privacy. this hotel is near to bus and metro more over hundred resturantsnear by

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank prddu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 May 2012

81 Star is about 5-10 minute walk from Arjunied MRT station, or a SGD10 ride away from Clarke Quay. There are shops, restaurants and convenience stores nearby on the main Geelang road. Also nearby (opposite the hotel) are about six (legal) brothels – but as has been written by previous reviewers, this does not really impact hotel guests - all is behind closed doors.

Reception was fast, friendly and efficient. The room itself was a pleasant surprise. It is the largest I have seen in any budget hotel in Singapore and fairly clean, though quite old. The bed was large, the (open) wardrobe was also large enough, and the room also had a big (CRT) TV, a small dressing table and a (torn) foam-cushioned plastic stool. Also in the room were the customary complimentary kettle with mugs, tea, coffee etc. and a hair dryer.
The bathroom was also fairly large, but with no shower tall - so after each shower the entire room was wet. A/c was old but functioning.
The floor was bare (tile ?), and the room was a little bit dark - all in all fairly comfortable but certainly old and worn.

What may cause some people discomfort is that quite a few hotel guests (seem to be mostly Malaysians and Indians) bring hookers back to the room – so there are some interesting people going up and down th eleveator. Yes, there is a reason the mattress has a nylon underlay. Although the hotel has a real seedy feel to it - all in all it's not a bad choice.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danno_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights for university search in Singapore. This hotel has clean and minimalist room, fit for me who stayed alone. But don't expect much about the service,they just serve basic needs. Geylang area isn't good for family trip who bring young childrens,only fit for solo traveler or couple. :)

Date of stay: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jendtrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Recently stayed at this property during a 12 hour layover in Singapore. I knew what to expect, as I had stayed at similar hotels previously.
Good choice for overnight stopover, as clean and for $50, you can't go wrong.
Plenty of ladies of the night in the street where its located, but they don't bother you unless you make contact. Also plenty of great places to eat in Geylang Road.
Would stay again if necessary to stopover in Singapore. Don't bring the kids though, suitable for single or couple only.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews