We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad room and toilet is very small for all type room”
Review of Meriton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Meriton Hotel
Ranked #49 of 80 Singapore B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 June 2015

Small room no space /toilet is very very very small for all type of room / advertisement photo is good actually very bad even no power plug for available need to use TV power plug for mobile charge. If you asking power plug hotel people will request to buy our self. very bad experience in Graund U hotel..sorry..

Room Tip: Hotel 81 is better but you book on line . if u go direct thy will ask big money for room as per my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BIBINTHANKACHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2015

Ive stayed in budget hotels all over China, Hong Kong, Vietnam, and a few in Indonesia, this is by far the worst Ive stayed in.
I know hotels in Singapore are expensive and poor value for money it would seem if budget is a concern. However when I booked a "luxury" room at this hotel , I did expect reasonable value, and a cleanliness value. I was really disappointed with my "luxury" room, as it was anything but luxury. I didn't mind it being small, but the carpet was filthy, and by far the filthiest carpet Ive ever seen. The bedding was clean I think, but well worn. The bathroom was bearable, the usual shower over the toilet . The hotel has a sign in the room showing high charges for any stains on bedding etc., and the carpet also, I did have to laugh at this....
Im sorry to say that although the hotel is in a convenient location in Little India, I would not recommend it , I would never go back.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank scotchmistDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2015 via mobile

Although not the cleanest, it was a decent room for the price and in a good location in little india. There's no common room though so only stay there if you're not interested in socializing, though the room was better than any hostel room

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lcb772015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2015

This hotel is well placed for Little India, the Bus station and the MRT.
The hotel provides room only. The hotel is damp and smells very musty.
We had a double ensuite room. I've seen bigger and better bathrooms in a 2 berth caravan....if you weigh more than 10 stone, expect a struggle to get onto the loo!
The room had no window, the walls were damp and mouldy. We were out all day and I the room served it's purpose, good quiet sleep, after we'd sorted out the baby cockroaches. The double bed was clean and comfortable.
The reception staff communicated in a series of grunts and there was no hint of welcome or friendliness about them.
We have been travelling for some time and always looking for budget accommodation, this is the lowest standard that we have encountered for the price.

Room Tip: Look for somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Wonderwalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2014

We had the same experience as some one below. In the first two days we killed around 20 cockroaches in our room ranging from baby ones to large ones. The cleaner knew this was a problem and actually gave us some spray when he saw us in the corridor with the mini table they seemed to be coming from. The next days we killed a few more, bringing our total to approximately 30. On the walls, on the floor, on the bed, in the bathroom, where ever...they were there.

We were given a corner room which was considerably smaller than the other rooms so if you are still going here, ask to not be in the corner! It also meant the bathroom was very small, showering on top of the toilet. We would not return here.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Hotel 165
Hotel 165
#241 of 319 in Singapore
70 reviews
Kampong Glam
Adamson Inn
Adamson Inn
#8 of 80 in Singapore
59 reviews
Geylang
Oxley Blossom
Oxley Blossom
#30 of 80 in Singapore
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Snow
#18 of 80 in Singapore
118 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 Lucky
Hotel 81 Lucky
#29 of 80 in Singapore
127 reviews
Bright Star Hotel
#10 of 80 in Singapore
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Hotel

Address: 43A Jalan Besar Grand U Hotel | #01-00, Little India district, Singapore 208804, Singapore (Formerly Grand U Hotel)
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Singapore
Price Range: RM150 - RM229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Meriton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Meriton Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing