We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Plaza on Scotts
Nearby Hotels
M Hotel Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$113
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carlton Hotel Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$197
US$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$241
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Amara Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mandarin Orchard Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$211
US$186
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$100
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore(Singapore)
US$388
US$217
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel G Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$83
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$101/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$177
US$149
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (4,674)
Filter reviews
4,674 results
Traveller rating
2,232
1,805
463
103
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,232
1,805
463
103
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree mini barcarousel restaurantorchard roadthe royal club loungenespresso machinepremiere roomfar east plazaion orchardreplenished dailyfree wifishopping districtnon smokingexcellent locationhalal foodbuffet breakfastcentral locationrain shower
Filter
Updating list...
3,468 - 3,473 of 4,674 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Stayed at the Royal Plaza as it had the bext value for a club level room. The club itself was good for breakfast, plenty of options and never crowded. The room was a little tired and looked out onto an apartment block that felt like you could reach out and touch the washing hanging on the lines.

Room was small but ok for someone on their own. The gym was very disappointing - old equipment and not much of it. The pool is ok but is on a lower level and does not have the appeal of the rooftop pools at other hotels in the city.

Very convient to Orchard and the shopping so that is a plus but overall I would likely not stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

As a five stars hotel, Royal Plaza is clean with friendly service.

The room is clean and in good size. The drinks in the fridge are free. The coffee machine is very considerated, but the milk provided by the hotel is below average. Suggest buying your own milk if you are a coffee lover.

The swimming pool is a little bit disappointed. It is small and strangely design, the water is rather dep, at least 2.5 meter on one side. The outdoor pool is very small.

The buffet restaurant at the ground floor must be very good, since there is a long queue everyday.

The hotel is about 700 meter to the Orchard MRT. But the Orchard MRT is like a maze, we almost got lost at the underground pass. And if you are thinking about going carry your laugggages to the MRT, FORGET ABOUT IT! You need ot carry your luggages and climb many steps.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneySamantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I just returned to the US from Singapore; once again the staff at the Royal Plaza met and exceeded my expectations (and I admit that I have high expectations of any hotel where I stay for more than 2-3 nights). They live up to their motto of "what else can we do for you?" Whether we speak of the staff at the reception desk, the concierge desk, the guys at the front door who welcome guests back -- usually by name -- the housekeeping staff and certainly those who staff the Royal Club on the top floor, there is no question but that they fully "get" the importance of service.

Yes, the location is excellent, the beds are comfortable, the room rates are reasonable, yada, yada, yada, but it is the staff that makes staying at the Royal Plaza an absolute pleasure.

Room Tip: Staying on floors 13-15 gives a guest access to the Club Lounge -- well worth it; full breakfasts, lovely high tea and excellent cocktail/hors d'ouevres hour.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Hotel is just that - fine, but not great. Location is v good if you are into shopping. Hotel itself could be anywhere - not much is distinctive. Like the free minibar.
10 min walk to the subway not recommended if you have luggage

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wassenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I was in Singapore with the wife and in-laws just last weekend for a family event, from March 9-12. For this 4D3N stay, we went for our first choice since a long time ago, i.e. the Royal Plaza on Scotts.

We left KL rather late (lunchtime) and only reached Singapore at 1700 hrs. After leaving the luggage with the bellboy and parking the car in the adjacent garage, we did our check-in at the reception. Unfortunately, the two rooms we booked were not ready at the time and the male receptionist recommended us to proceed to one of the nearby cafes for a drink while waiting. He also told me that he would send a text once the rooms were ready. Eventually, after sitting down for a cuppa at McCafe, just next door, we headed for our two rooms at 1750 hrs, both of which were adjacent to each other on a rather low Level 4 (no connecting door though).

The room my wife and I stayed in (no. 404) was quite nicely done up, with a queen-sized bed as well as LCD TV stuck on the wall. Next to the window + single-seater sofa was an elongated table, which can double up as both a workstation as well as dressing table. There was also a cupboard (not built-in, btw) where the hangers as well as iron, kettle + tea, and safe box were kept. The toilet was spacious enough but unlike the bigger Premier and Club Rooms, there was no attached bathtub and only a shower was provided (with a combo rain + hand shower).

Also, we should not forget the hotel's famous minibar, where everything is free (hotel-branded mineral water, one packet of Oreo biscuits, two cans each of Coca-Cola and Tiger beer, and a Minute Maid orange juice) and refilled daily! No other hotel offers such a convenient feature, whether it is a budget or 5-star type, throughout my various holidays in Malaysia, Singapore, and overseas. And as expected the view is a disappointment, since we were only on Level 4 of a 15-floor building, and faced the rear of the Pacific Plaza next door.

Interestingly, the RP's room was the first one which has no coffee packets bundled together with the kettle. Instead, this was made available by a Nespresso machine, which was the first time I've seen in a room. I had to ensure there is sufficient water and after placing a capsule (three variants are available, including espresso), I just needed to press a button and voila, the coffee is churned out automatically! Such a convenient feature, which renders boiling of hot water for making coffee no longer necessary but to make tea (there is Japanese green tea and the usual English one), we still have to boil water in the kettle, like usual.

Unlike my previous stay in another hotel in Singapore last November, the RP is very generous with its Internet access. There is no charge to access the Web in our room and I could either use WiFi or connect a broadband cable to the notebook. What makes things better is when I went for a swim and took the iPod touch along, there was also some Internet connection at the poolside, which is such a great convenience to check Twitter or online news, on-the-go!

Speaking of the pool, since it's located on Level 5 and atop the podium block housing the DFS store, it was a small-looking square type and adjacent to a 24-hour gym and the Balmoral meeting room. However, once in the water, the pool is actually bigger than expected and doing a 30-lap swim can take around 15-20 minutes, which is quite sufficient for a morning workout.

We have also heard loads of good reviews about the buffet offered at the RP's Carousel Restaurant and there were four sessions daily (Breakfast, Lunch, Hi-Tea, Dinner). Unfortunately, we were not able to sample the offerings there due to lack of time and furthermore, our rooms do not come with breakfast (we went for the promo price for Malaysian travelers). This is something for me to seriously look at, during a future return trip to Singapore!

However, what made us go for the RP is its excellent location and super-affordable price, a combo not found anywhere in Singapore! For a price of SGD168 net per night, we are able to stay right in the middle of the Orchard Road shopping precinct and to get anywhere else, there is also the MRT at the RP's doorstep, although we drove down to SG from Malaysia. In addition to the popular nearby malls like ION Orchard, Ngee Ann City, Tangs Plaza, and Paragon, the famous Isetan was just next door and the store was having a sale period during our stay, what perfect timing! As for food, in addition to the cafes next door (Starbucks, McD's + McCafe), there was a myriad of sit-down options as well, including the Food Opera in ION Orchard as well as Wisma Atria's Food Republic and various restaurants in Ngee Ann.

In conclusion, the RP is indeed one of the better hotels in town and with a very affordable price, coupled with a superb location in Orchard precinct, we will surely be making it our preferred accommodation option for any trip to Singapore!

Room Tip: Go for a Deluxe Room, if you want better views of the surrounding area. Otherwise, a low-lying Superior will be more than sufficient (and also cheaper!).
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HannTi_Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews