We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,383)
Filter reviews
2,383 results
Traveller rating
947
1,119
247
39
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
947
1,119
247
39
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool clarke quay rooms are small diy laundry hi express minute walk modern hotel walking distance to chinatown free breakfast short stay bars and restaurants the breakfast area noodles stayed here for nights mrt stations yogurt rain shower
Filter
Updating list...
882 - 887 of 2,383 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2016

The room design is excellent, it is not too big but feels spacious. Quiet air-conditioning system (although the temperature unfortunately could not be regulated in my room). It is designed for business travelers so do not expect finding any large storage places for your stuff. The best feature is a 40 meter swimming pool on the roof. There is also a gym but windows was always open there and air-conditioning was off so could not do any workout in the middle of the day. Breakfast is sufficient but just.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a_slinko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2016

Dear a_slinko,

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay and for taking the time to share your great review.

I was delighted to read that our Select Service Model hotel met your needs as a smart traveller, in particular our clean and comfortable rooms, Free Express Start Breakfast, Rooftop Swimming Pool and our great location.

We regret to learn of the issue you faced with the air conditioning and we appreciate this must have been frustrating for you. We thank you for highlighting this to us for our continuous improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

With kind regards,

Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2016

LOCATION: Quiet, yet central location at the river. Only minutes away by foot from the next MRT station at Clarke Quay (another MRT station, Fort Canning, is currently under construction around the corner and will improve the connectivity even more). Chinatown is also within walking distance. For Orchard Road or Bugis shopping you can either walk to the MRT or just take several buses stopping around the corner from the hotel. With an EZlink card you can also use the water taxi, which runs next to the hotel along the River Valley neighbourhood up to Marina. There are just a few restaurants and bars at the Central Mall opposite the hotel. Liang Court with more options to eat and shop is located across the river. The charming River Walk running next to the hotel offers quite a few great places to eat and drink. For the touristy stuff you just walk a few minutes to Clarke Quay. And if you prefer a local touch, take the Upper Cross Street and eat at the food stalls at the People's Park Complex, also just a few minutes away by foot.

HOTEL: When we stayed in this hotel for 12 nights in December 2014, it was still relatively new. The lowrise building with a stylish interior has some interesting architectural features. Parts of the hotel are enclosed and air conditioned (lobby, part of the breakfast room, elevators, rooms, laundry room), and some parts are open (corridors, breakfast terrace, rooftop terrace with pool and gym and showers). This allows the air to flow freely, but can also be annoying to someone, who can't bare the heat. We loved the openness of the design, only the open gym was a bit too hot. The highlight is the 40-meter infinity pool on the roof, surrounded by a beautifully landscaped little garden with sunbeds. The views of the city are fantastic - we spent days at the pool, because it was so relaxing.

ROOM: Stylish, minimalistic design. Big windows. The room is relatively small, which is quite common in Singapore, but it was enough space for us and our two big bags. As an IHG Rewards Club Member, we got a room on the top floor with a fantastic view towards Clarke Quay, which was really quiet. Many rooms however are facing the busier Clemenceau Avenue, which might be a little louder. A small number of rooms on every floor is facing the central atrium, which offer less privacy (curtains available).

STAFF: Staff in the lobby is professional, the check in/out was quick and hassle-free.
The ladies at the breakfast are very helpful and friendly.

BREAKFAST: Nice buffet breakfast with cold and warm dishes, pastries, juices and warm drinks. We stayed for 12 nights and we didn't find it boring, even though the breakfast didn't change much during our stay. The area around the buffet was always busy, but there were plenty of tables outside, where you could eat in a relaxed atmosphere.

CONCLUSION: Very relaxing place for a reasonable price, with clean and comfortable rooms, a good breakfast and a fantastic rooftop pool.

Room Tip: As a IHG Rewards Club Member you get an "upgrade" to rooms in the upper floors, which offer a better view.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2016

Dear R M,

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay and for taking the time to share your fantastic five star review.

I was delighted to read that our Select Service Model hotel met your needs as a smart traveller, in particular our clean and comfortable rooms, Free Express Start Breakfast, Rooftop Swimming Pool, great location and the service provided to you by our polite and helpful team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

With kind regards,

Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016

Check in time not too bad considering there were a busload of us arriving from a cruise. We had a 2 hour wait for our room owing to the first bus filling the available rooms. There are no porters (not a worry for us) though there was a worker who took our luggage to a holding area till the rooms were ready. A modern hotel with compact well appointed rooms..comfy queen bed and pillows with crisp white linen. A complimentary breakfast with a good selection but no egg cook but again not a worry for us. The pool and gym covered the entire tooftop with gardens and lounges. A 10 minute walk to China town and Futurama shopping mall.

Room Tip: We faced the street but there were other rooms that faced inside
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joybelle2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2016

Dear Joybelle2015,

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay and for taking the time to share your fantastic five star review.

I was delighted to read that our Select Service Model hotel met your needs as a smart traveller, in particular our clean and comfortable rooms, Free Express Start Breakfast, Rooftop Swimming Pool, great location and the service provided to you by our polite and helpful team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

With kind regards,

Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 4days! Over all is excellent!

Few tips,
Location wise is great specially if you love to party and go to bars Clarke quay is very near its only 5mins walk from the area.

Also the Clarke quay MRT station, Clarkey quay - Central, China town Mall.

Also the Marina Bay Sand its very near if you love walking just follow the river its only 30mins. Walk away from this hotel.

Stayed: May 2016
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2016

Dear Mark R,

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay and for taking the time to share your fantastic five star review.

I was delighted to read that our Select Service Model hotel met your needs as a smart traveller, in particular our great location.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

With kind regards,

Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2016

The room was very clean and average sized. The location was superb and we walked to Clarke Quay almost every night for dinner. Breakfast was fine but there was no proper restaurant for the rest of the day, just a simple bar with quick snack type foods. The price was pretty reasonable for what we got so all in all I'm very satisfied. The pool was small but nice and clean. This was a pre-cruise stay for a few days and more than did the trick!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2016

Dear Melanie P,

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay and for taking the time to share your great review.

I was delighted to read that our Select Service Model hotel met your needs as a smart traveller, in particular our Free Express Start Breakfast, Rooftop Swimming Pool, great location and our clean and comfortable rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

With kind regards,

Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews