We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good spot for a stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay
Ranked #55 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2016

We had a couple of days in Singapore and this hotel was a central and convenient spot. Smallish room but very functional for a short stay. Very clean with good bed, great shower and air con. Staff very helpful. Good breakfast buffet was included in our booking. Secure place to leave baggage if on a late flight. Taxi rank outside. Excellent rooftop terrace with pool. Would recommend for business travellers or those having a short stay.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2016

Dear Sue2153,

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay and for taking the time to share your fantastic five star review.

I was delighted to read that our Select Service Model hotel met your needs as a smart traveller, in particular our clean and comfortable rooms, Free Express Start Breakfast, Power Showers, Rooftop Swimming Pool, great location and the service provided to you by our polite and helpful team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

With kind regards,

Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,068)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

632 - 636 of 2,068 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2016

The room design is excellent, it is not too big but feels spacious. Quiet air-conditioning system (although the temperature unfortunately could not be regulated in my room). It is designed for business travelers so do not expect finding any large storage places for your stuff. The best feature is a 40 meter swimming pool on the roof. There is also a gym but windows was always open there and air-conditioning was off so could not do any workout in the middle of the day. Breakfast is sufficient but just.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a_slinko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2016

Dear a_slinko,

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay and for taking the time to share your great review.

I was delighted to read that our Select Service Model hotel met your needs as a smart traveller, in particular our clean and comfortable rooms, Free Express Start Breakfast, Rooftop Swimming Pool and our great location.

We regret to learn of the issue you faced with the air conditioning and we appreciate this must have been frustrating for you. We thank you for highlighting this to us for our continuous improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

With kind regards,

Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2016

LOCATION: Quiet, yet central location at the river. Only minutes away by foot from the next MRT station at Clarke Quay (another MRT station, Fort Canning, is currently under construction around the corner and will improve the connectivity even more). Chinatown is also within walking distance. For Orchard Road or Bugis shopping you can either walk to the MRT or just take several buses stopping around the corner from the hotel. With an EZlink card you can also use the water taxi, which runs next to the hotel along the River Valley neighbourhood up to Marina. There are just a few restaurants and bars at the Central Mall opposite the hotel. Liang Court with more options to eat and shop is located across the river. The charming River Walk running next to the hotel offers quite a few great places to eat and drink. For the touristy stuff you just walk a few minutes to Clarke Quay. And if you prefer a local touch, take the Upper Cross Street and eat at the food stalls at the People's Park Complex, also just a few minutes away by foot.

HOTEL: When we stayed in this hotel for 12 nights in December 2014, it was still relatively new. The lowrise building with a stylish interior has some interesting architectural features. Parts of the hotel are enclosed and air conditioned (lobby, part of the breakfast room, elevators, rooms, laundry room), and some parts are open (corridors, breakfast terrace, rooftop terrace with pool and gym and showers). This allows the air to flow freely, but can also be annoying to someone, who can't bare the heat. We loved the openness of the design, only the open gym was a bit too hot. The highlight is the 40-meter infinity pool on the roof, surrounded by a beautifully landscaped little garden with sunbeds. The views of the city are fantastic - we spent days at the pool, because it was so relaxing.

ROOM: Stylish, minimalistic design. Big windows. The room is relatively small, which is quite common in Singapore, but it was enough space for us and our two big bags. As an IHG Rewards Club Member, we got a room on the top floor with a fantastic view towards Clarke Quay, which was really quiet. Many rooms however are facing the busier Clemenceau Avenue, which might be a little louder. A small number of rooms on every floor is facing the central atrium, which offer less privacy (curtains available).

STAFF: Staff in the lobby is professional, the check in/out was quick and hassle-free.
The ladies at the breakfast are very helpful and friendly.

BREAKFAST: Nice buffet breakfast with cold and warm dishes, pastries, juices and warm drinks. We stayed for 12 nights and we didn't find it boring, even though the breakfast didn't change much during our stay. The area around the buffet was always busy, but there were plenty of tables outside, where you could eat in a relaxed atmosphere.

CONCLUSION: Very relaxing place for a reasonable price, with clean and comfortable rooms, a good breakfast and a fantastic rooftop pool.

Room Tip: As a IHG Rewards Club Member you get an "upgrade" to rooms in the upper floors, which offe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2016

Dear R M,

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay and for taking the time to share your fantastic five star review.

I was delighted to read that our Select Service Model hotel met your needs as a smart traveller, in particular our clean and comfortable rooms, Free Express Start Breakfast, Rooftop Swimming Pool, great location and the service provided to you by our polite and helpful team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

With kind regards,

Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016

Check in time not too bad considering there were a busload of us arriving from a cruise. We had a 2 hour wait for our room owing to the first bus filling the available rooms. There are no porters (not a worry for us) though there was a worker who took our luggage to a holding area till the rooms were ready. A modern hotel with compact well appointed rooms..comfy queen bed and pillows with crisp white linen. A complimentary breakfast with a good selection but no egg cook but again not a worry for us. The pool and gym covered the entire tooftop with gardens and lounges. A 10 minute walk to China town and Futurama shopping mall.

Room Tip: We faced the street but there were other rooms that faced inside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joybelle2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2016

Dear Joybelle2015,

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay and for taking the time to share your fantastic five star review.

I was delighted to read that our Select Service Model hotel met your needs as a smart traveller, in particular our clean and comfortable rooms, Free Express Start Breakfast, Rooftop Swimming Pool, great location and the service provided to you by our polite and helpful team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

With kind regards,

Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 4days! Over all is excellent!

Few tips,
Location wise is great specially if you love to party and go to bars Clarke quay is very near its only 5mins walk from the area.

Also the Clarke quay MRT station, Clarkey quay - Central, China town Mall.

Also the Marina Bay Sand its very near if you love walking just follow the river its only 30mins. Walk away from this hotel.

Stayed: May 2016
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SingaporeClarkeQuay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2016

Dear Mark R,

Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay and for taking the time to share your fantastic five star review.

I was delighted to read that our Select Service Model hotel met your needs as a smart traveller, in particular our great location.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

With kind regards,

Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#60 of 319 in Singapore
4,681 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#65 of 319 in Singapore
3,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Holiday Inn Express Singapore Orchard Road
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 319 in Singapore
1,309 reviews
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#70 of 319 in Singapore
6,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay

Address: 2 Magazine Road, Singapore 059573, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: RM 569 - RM 826 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart International Hotel in Singapore, Clarke Quay with free Breakfast and Wi-Fi offeredThe new Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay is the smart choice for savvy business and leisure travelers, offering a relaxed affordable and hassle free stay every time, located minutes away from Central Business District and Clarke Quay, the trendiest riverside nightspots and dining options.Our great location offers accessibility to Singapore’s major attractions included Chinatown, Sentosa Island, Universal Studio, Gardens by the Bay, Suntec International Convention Centre and the world-famous shopping district of Orchard Road, we are near the mouth of the Singapore River, just a short 30 minutes drive from Changi Airport, 5 minutes walk from the speedy MRT Subway train, Clarke Quay and Chinatown Stations.Relax in one of our 442 brand new and well-designed rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows. Kick start your day with our free Express Start Breakfast or Grab and Go option and stay productive with our free high speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Experience our high quality bedding, have a restful night with a choice of soft and firm pillows, have an invigorating shower with our high quality bathroom equipped with a rain shower to recharge after a long day and have everything in control with our self service laundry facility.Our hotel offers bright and airy landscaped social spaces, rooftop fitness room and 40 metres swimming pool overlooking Clarke Quay and Robertson Quay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing