We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Perak Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$258
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$365
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$355
US$266
PARKROYALhotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Carlton Hotel Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$196
US$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$206
US$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$313
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Marina Bay Sands(Singapore)
US$749
US$433
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$164
US$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$213
US$163
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Hotel Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$234
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (576)
Filter reviews
576 results
Traveller rating
90
281
151
29
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
281
151
29
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslittle indiano liftcall to prayerbudget hotelrooms are smallcharming hotelsmall windownoodlesthird floormrt stationtea coffeepublic areasplus pointdouble roomair conditionermin walklocation is excellent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
340 - 345 of 576 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We booked well ahead here and arrived late at night. We were shown to a room that looked like a cave with a raised platform for sleeping with mattresses on it and a tiny old bathroom. As it was late we waited until morning to address this. After some negotiation we were given a far superior room albeit a bit noisy.

The breakfast is basic and the room becomes very crowded and sometimes hard to get a seat which is annoying if you have a tour booked etc. The woman working in the kitchen is moody and sour and spends most of her time watching the oversized TV loudly playing CNN news. It seems an imposition to ask the kitchen hand for anything.

Friends just stayed at Perak recently for the second time and this time were most dissapointed as they were placed in a very noisy room.
The location is great but it depends on the room you get as to how much you will enjoy your stay here.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front left corner if you are looking from the road on the third level I think.. nice room but a little noisy but hard to avoid in this area.. downstairs room on right hand side like a cave
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taj81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

This is nice hotel in a vivid and beautiful part of Singapore. The area is packed with bars and restaurants. The hotel is in an old building so it has it´s own character. The service was friendly. I wouls come again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OtsoKa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Great location in vibrant and colourful Little India...surrounded by restaurants cafes and markets.The hotel is somewhat basic and ok for a short stay...nice shutters but no view beyond the facing brick wall. Staff not particularly friendly but not rude. Breakfast was adequate. Room small and in need of updating...but nice wooden floors. We felt that they were merely providing what you paid for...shame because it could be special here, it's a great location and the surrounding area is truly authentic...away from clinical Singapore.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aloisw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Spend 2 nights there with my family and we were happy with our treat. Got two "adjoining" rooms. Did not choose cause of it's location but only looked at price and value. However note that the Breakfast is only bear minimum and rooms are small. Also there neighborhood is lively in the evenings. The MRT stops nearby in Little India or Burgis that is on the Green line from Chang Airport.
So all in all good budget option that we were happy to have found.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arni_Jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

When I told our cab driver where we wanted to go he growled "cheap hotel." As a description of the price, that was accurate given Singapore prices, but the quality of the hotel was quite good. The rooms were comfortable, although not especially large, they were very clean and the bed was good. The room had an easy to use safe and the staff were friendly.

This hotel is located in Little India, which for me was a plus because it put me in close proximity to plenty of restaurants, including a Madras New Woodlands, serving excellent Indian food. (It is worth strolling through the streets of this neighborhood after dark to get a sense of what Indian cities are like.)

Two things to be aware of: there is no elevator so you will have to walk your luggage upstairs to a second or third floor room; and the morning breakfast isn't up to much. But the hotel's other virtues more than compensate.

There is a computer in a side room that is available to guests after 7 p.m. and it is possible to make yourself a cup of coffee in the cafe, including decaf!, at any time of the day or night.
I was very happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohninNewburyport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews