We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
M Hotel Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$173
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Royal Plaza on Scotts(Singapore)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel G Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mandarin Orchard Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$192/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore(Singapore)
US$265
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$227/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen(Singapore)(Great Value!)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$641
US$446
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,702)
Filter reviews
1,702 results
Traveller rating
717
676
194
69
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
717
676
194
69
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub streetboutique hotelrooftop barann siang hillmaxwell food centretartufomaxwell roadexecutive roomoutdoor jacuzzigreat boutiqueshop housesno windowrooms are smallquiet streetchinatown areabars and restaurantshawker centre
Filter
Updating list...
446 - 451 of 1,702 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2015

Had booked a deluxe room for 5 nights during a recent business trip to Singapore. Very convenient location, just a short walk from my office and near Club street if you are looking for some after work drinks. The windows were double glazed so I heard very little street noise.
Lovely bar on the top floor with a friendly bartender serving a premixed Negroni, which is one of their specials. Once I got over the fact that it was pre-mixed, I loved it.
There is an Italian restaurant attached to the hotel which has received rave reviews, though I couldn't try it during my last trip. In room food selection is minimal but there are ample places around to satisfy and food cravings.
The room is on the small side, but if ideal for a single business traveler and comes with a cupboard with ample hangers. The bed is large, firm and very comfortable, while the bathroom is definitely better then I expected for a hotel of this size and price. Large and comfortable with a power shower and good, full service amenities.
The hotel is located within re-furbished heritage shop lots and so the rooms have some character which one doesn't find in cookie cutter corporate hotels.
The décor is a bit over the top for my taste and I can understand why many Singapore couples use this hotel for a romantic get away. If you can get over the décor, this has all the elements, including above average, friendly service which make this a good place to stay.
I have booked another stay next month and will definitely make this one of my preferred places to stay whenever I am in Singapore.

Room Tip: Opt for larger rooms if you are staying with a companion as the bed is large, leaving little room to move around.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Gloods73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletSg2015, Hotel Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2015

Dear Gloods73

Gracious greetings from The Scarlet Singapore!

Thank you for your detailed and positive review of your stay with us. We are glad you appreciate our unique decor, charm and quirky qualities. Many of our guests love our distinctive personality and we are delighted that we can add you to this list!

We are pleased as well that you liked our ideal location, our personalised service and our guestroom (along with the inroom amenities).

We have noted your feedback on the room service selection and i have forwarded it to the restaurant staff for their follow up action.

Finally thank you for your endorsement of The Scarlet Singapore - we look forward to having you stay with us again next month. In the meantime, Happy Holidays!

Graciously Yours
Jack Chan
Hotel Manager
The Scarlet Singapore


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2015

We had two rooms on a four night stop and were impressed. The hotel is in a great spot - 2 mins walk into the heart of Chinatown and just behind Maxwell Food Centre. Its a stylish hotel and we would recommend it to anyone having a city break in Singapore. The staff were friendly and the rooms clean and comfortable. Neither room (one deluxe, one premium) had a window but that really didn't matter to us. Both were of a good size with naturally the Premium being a little larger with a sitting area furnished with a chaise longue. Chinatown MRT was also nearby as is the suburb of Duxton so lots of great eating choices close by.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bridgesontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletSg2015, Hotel Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2015

Dear bridgesontheroad

Gracious greetings from The Scarlet Singapore!

Thank you for taking the time to post a complimentary review of your stay at The Scarlet Singapore. My team and I are really heartened by your kind endorsement! We are glad that you found our location ideal, and hope that should your travels take you back to Singapore, you'll find more new exciting discoveries in our charming neighbourhood.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Scarlet Singapore!

Graciously Yours,
Jack Chan
Hotel Manager
The Scarlet Singapore






Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2015

We came across the Scarlet on the internet. The words that came into my mind of the pictures shown was lush and inviting. and we were not disappointed.
The rooms were great and the staff were helpful and attentive. The position of the Scarlet is a major plus being in Chinatown with so many different eateries at your front door plus all the atmosphere of Chinatown itself. Great hotel. We will be going back there.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJOGRADY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletSg2015, Hotel Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2015

Dear AJOGRADY

Gracious greetings from The Scarlet Singapore!

We truly appreciate your taking the time to post a glowing review on your stay with us. Thank you for your compliments on our staff, our decor and guest rooms. We are glad you found our location in Chinatown ideal, as it is also within close proximity to the financial district, the popular visitor attractions, and the hip restaurants and bars of Ann Siang Hill.

We especially appreciate your kind endorsement of our hotel - and we look forward to having you as our guest again.

Graciously Yours
Jack Chan
Hotel Manager
The Scarlet Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015

...location was brilliant for Chinatown, room excellent we had a balcony overlooking the car park but it was a good price and very clean and comfortable. Reception staff were courteous and well informed about sightseeing. Good access to MRT for getting around Singapore. Breakfast was a little expensive for what it was but there was plenty of choice and you could eat as much as you wanted. Rooftop bar was great with good service and plenty of choice. Overall an excellent place, a more personal experience to the high rise hotels downtown for those travellers who like character and something different.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kem1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletSg2015, Hotel Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2015

Dear Kem1609

Gracious greetings from The Scarlet Singapore!

We truly appreciate your 5-star review of your stay at our hotel. We are delighted that you loved our guestrooms and our warm, personalised service. At The Scarlet Singapore, we pride ourselves on offering our guests, a different hotel experience from that of the bigger international chains,' and we are really pleased that you prefer our quirkiness, charm and distinctive personality.

We are glad that you found our location in the heart of Chinatown very convenient. If you haven't already discovered, our hotel is also within close proximity to the financial district, several popular visitor attractions and the hip bars and restaurants of Ann Siang Hill. Should your travels bring you back to Singapore, we hope you'll make many more interesting new discoveries.

In the meantime, Happy Holidays and a wonderful 2016!

Graciously Yours
Jack Chan
Hotel Manager
The Scarlet Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2015

We love Singapore and on this visit we wanted to stay somewhere a bit different. The hotel reception is impressive and our room was very nice. We shouldn't have paid extra for a balcony though as it only had room for one chair and looked directly into a multistorey car park. We thought a hotel with no pool would be ok but we did miss this facility. The small jacuzzi was just outside our room and we spent an afternoon relaxing in it. Unfortunately we couldn't turn the jets on as the noise from the generator was too much.
We were very disappointed the rooftop bar and restaurant were closed, there were no works being carried out so not sure if it will reopen. The breakfast was poor for such a good quality hotel, little choice and only push button coffee and earl grey tea. The selection of fruit was ok if you liked melon.
The best points about this hotel is it's quirkyness, location and excellent staff.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kitty52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletSg2015, Hotel Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2015

Dear Kitty52

Gracious greetings from The Scarlet Singapore!

We are sorry that you had a disappointing experience during your stay at The Scarlet Singapore. Thank you for your constructive feedback which is important to us, as we continue to further enhance our guests' experience.

Many thanks for your generous compliments on the staff - I shall happily share them with the team. We are glad that you also liked our lobby and guestrooms and found our decor quirky (and charming we hope!). All our guests have found our location in the heart of Chinatown very convenient, and we are pleased that you have rated it highly too.
I would like to add that we are also within close proximity to the financial district, several visitor attractions and the hip restaurants and bars of Ann Siang Hill.

We apologise for the quality of the breakfast, and I have forwarded your comments to the restaurant team for their immediate follow up.

When you stayed with us earlier in June this year, the rooftop bar and restaurant was under renovation. It has since re-opened in September as Aria. We hope that on your return visit to The Scarlet Singapore, you'll have the opportunity to patronise Aria and enjoy the views of the Singapore skyline, against the evening sky.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Scarlet Singapore some time in the near future!

Graciously Yours
Jack Chan
Hotel Manager
The Scarlet Singapore


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews