We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Singapore's Naught Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Scarlet Singapore
Ranked #67 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2015

This is a hotel with an attitude. The bold colors and extravagant décor are not for everyone. This hotel is made for the daring and perhaps mischievous traveler. It is audacious and unapologetically so.

The hotel is located in the trendy Ann Siang hill area of Singapore. At the door steps there are specialty shops, trendy restaurants and wine bars. It one of the top destinations in Singapore for in the know expats who flock to the area during the week for a pleasant meal or on the weekends for some late night fun. A block away you’ll find Singapore’s Chinatown with its maze of hawker shops, which are outdoor restaurants selling cheap and cheerful dishes, as well as market where you can get everything from household goods to fresh octopus. Nearby is also Singapore’s busting financial district with business men in blue suites and brief cases hustling to the office and next meeting while you sip coffee from your terrace and watch their harried movements below.

Amid the fancy boutiques, bistros, and shops of Ann the Siagn Hill neighborhood is a crimson red façade in shocking contrast to the gray and white colors of its neighboring buildings. The Scarlet Hotel is Singapore’s first boutique hotel which opened its doors in 2004. As you walk through the door you’ll enter a parlor of rich bold colors, ornate and exquisite furniture and décor. The lobby is set with velvet high back chairs and fabric furnishings in cobalt, chartreuse mustard and garnet reds. There’s an elaborate and sparkling chandelier and a deep red bejeweled upholstered wall at the reception area. To one side is a wonderful drawing room with beautiful antiques, period pieces, artwork and books; perfect for morning coffee or a business meeting. You quickly notice that this is a sensual and visually stimulating environment.

The Scarlet Hotel is what one thinks of when they think of a boutique hotel. By definition they are small, less than 100 rooms and not all the things you look for in a big resort. What they don’t have in size they make up with service, special touches, and a bespoke style. The Scarlet hotel delivers big time with an adventure for the senses in this high design masterpiece.

The hotel is masterfully hewn from what was once living quarters for the women factory workers of the area in the early 1900. The property has taken the concept persona of Scarlet, the vivacious host and conceived her dripping with jewelry, undoubtablely gifts from her adoring gentlemen callers. Sparkling jewelry is at the centerpiece of the concept and as such the hotel is strikingly bold and ornate with extravagant details on top of details throughout.

The nattily decked out front staff accommodate you and you’re off to your accommodations. The 75 rooms and 5 suites of the boutique hotel are spread over six floors and joined row houses. The corridors are long, sloping and narrow. There are leather saddle bags on each door for storing the day’s newspaper or a note from the staff. One can imagine how the building was in a century past with area factory women coming and going or chatting in the hallways. Those ghosts are still there but now the rooms have been upgraded and renovated to be fit for high society.

The fun thing about boutique hotels reclaimed from the past is that no room is alike. Each room, has a distinct personality and none are the same. Many have different configurations, some with wonderful verandas and walk out terraces. Some have views over the red rooftops of surrounding buildings or of the downtown area. Others have windows facing the lively streets below. What they all have in common is that they are all completely provocative and sensuous.

All rooms have fine decor with tasteful and at times whimiscal artwork, king sized beds with dashing headboard, desk and all the amenities one would expect in a luxury boutique hotel. The furnishings are functional works of art with swirling design details and plush velvet fabrics. The bathroom is elegant with a large marble soaking tub and separate walk in shower.
T
here are other categories of rooms with varying sizes and amenities. The five suites are also very special with large verandas and separate sitting rooms and larger baths. They are exceptionally unique in design with another level of extravagance and room to spread out.


There’s so much to do in the area and the Scarlet hotel makes an excellent base to explore it all. After a long day exploring all that Singapore has to offer or after a series of intense business meetings, guests need to decompress. There is a refreshing cobalt blue Jacuzzi called Soda. They also have a boutique sized gym complete with free weights, machines and a resident trainer.

The Scarlet hotel is an authentic boutique hotel drenched in history and heritage. It is lavish with a strong design concept perfect for those looking to escape the predictable cookie cutter hotel experience. The Scarlet hotel is located in the trendy Ann Siang Hill area allowing for a short walk to a collection of restaurants, lounges and it also has easy access to the rest of Singapore via the MRT subway. The Scarlet Hotel is not for everyone but it’s a perfect for the right one.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletSg2015, Hotel Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2015

Dear Glenn H

Gracious greetings from The Scarlet Singapore!

You have made everyone's day this festive season! Thank you indeed for your excellent but objective review of your stay at The Scarlet Singapore. As a luxury boutique hotel we strive to offer a different hotel experience for our guests, one which is distinctive (and in our case quirky!) but always memorable. Our guests have always loved our bold and
flamboyant decor and furnishings, which they find refreshing and often - uplifting.

Our convenient location within close proximity to 2 MRT stations, the financial district, popular visitor attractions and the hip restaurants and bars of Ann Siang Hill, is always appreciated by all our guests. From our hotel, they have wondered around our exciting neighbourhood and have made many interesting discoveries.

Thank you for taking the time to draft and post your comprehensive feedback. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to having you stay with us again. In the meantime, Happy Holiday and a wonderful New Year!

Graciously Yours
Jack Chan
Hotel Manager
The Scarlet Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

378 - 382 of 1,625 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2015

Had booked a deluxe room for 5 nights during a recent business trip to Singapore. Very convenient location, just a short walk from my office and near Club street if you are looking for some after work drinks. The windows were double glazed so I heard very little street noise.
Lovely bar on the top floor with a friendly bartender serving a premixed Negroni, which is one of their specials. Once I got over the fact that it was pre-mixed, I loved it.
There is an Italian restaurant attached to the hotel which has received rave reviews, though I couldn't try it during my last trip. In room food selection is minimal but there are ample places around to satisfy and food cravings.
The room is on the small side, but if ideal for a single business traveler and comes with a cupboard with ample hangers. The bed is large, firm and very comfortable, while the bathroom is definitely better then I expected for a hotel of this size and price. Large and comfortable with a power shower and good, full service amenities.
The hotel is located within re-furbished heritage shop lots and so the rooms have some character which one doesn't find in cookie cutter corporate hotels.
The décor is a bit over the top for my taste and I can understand why many Singapore couples use this hotel for a romantic get away. If you can get over the décor, this has all the elements, including above average, friendly service which make this a good place to stay.
I have booked another stay next month and will definitely make this one of my preferred places to stay whenever I am in Singapore.

Room Tip: Opt for larger rooms if you are staying with a companion as the bed is large, leaving little room to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Gloods73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletSg2015, Hotel Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2015

Dear Gloods73

Gracious greetings from The Scarlet Singapore!

Thank you for your detailed and positive review of your stay with us. We are glad you appreciate our unique decor, charm and quirky qualities. Many of our guests love our distinctive personality and we are delighted that we can add you to this list!

We are pleased as well that you liked our ideal location, our personalised service and our guestroom (along with the inroom amenities).

We have noted your feedback on the room service selection and i have forwarded it to the restaurant staff for their follow up action.

Finally thank you for your endorsement of The Scarlet Singapore - we look forward to having you stay with us again next month. In the meantime, Happy Holidays!

Graciously Yours
Jack Chan
Hotel Manager
The Scarlet Singapore


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2015

We had two rooms on a four night stop and were impressed. The hotel is in a great spot - 2 mins walk into the heart of Chinatown and just behind Maxwell Food Centre. Its a stylish hotel and we would recommend it to anyone having a city break in Singapore. The staff were friendly and the rooms clean and comfortable. Neither room (one deluxe, one premium) had a window but that really didn't matter to us. Both were of a good size with naturally the Premium being a little larger with a sitting area furnished with a chaise longue. Chinatown MRT was also nearby as is the suburb of Duxton so lots of great eating choices close by.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bridgesontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletSg2015, Hotel Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2015

Dear bridgesontheroad

Gracious greetings from The Scarlet Singapore!

Thank you for taking the time to post a complimentary review of your stay at The Scarlet Singapore. My team and I are really heartened by your kind endorsement! We are glad that you found our location ideal, and hope that should your travels take you back to Singapore, you'll find more new exciting discoveries in our charming neighbourhood.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Scarlet Singapore!

Graciously Yours,
Jack Chan
Hotel Manager
The Scarlet Singapore






Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2015

We came across the Scarlet on the internet. The words that came into my mind of the pictures shown was lush and inviting. and we were not disappointed.
The rooms were great and the staff were helpful and attentive. The position of the Scarlet is a major plus being in Chinatown with so many different eateries at your front door plus all the atmosphere of Chinatown itself. Great hotel. We will be going back there.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJOGRADY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletSg2015, Hotel Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2015

Dear AJOGRADY

Gracious greetings from The Scarlet Singapore!

We truly appreciate your taking the time to post a glowing review on your stay with us. Thank you for your compliments on our staff, our decor and guest rooms. We are glad you found our location in Chinatown ideal, as it is also within close proximity to the financial district, the popular visitor attractions, and the hip restaurants and bars of Ann Siang Hill.

We especially appreciate your kind endorsement of our hotel - and we look forward to having you as our guest again.

Graciously Yours
Jack Chan
Hotel Manager
The Scarlet Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015

...location was brilliant for Chinatown, room excellent we had a balcony overlooking the car park but it was a good price and very clean and comfortable. Reception staff were courteous and well informed about sightseeing. Good access to MRT for getting around Singapore. Breakfast was a little expensive for what it was but there was plenty of choice and you could eat as much as you wanted. Rooftop bar was great with good service and plenty of choice. Overall an excellent place, a more personal experience to the high rise hotels downtown for those travellers who like character and something different.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kem1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScarletSg2015, Hotel Manager at The Scarlet Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2015

Dear Kem1609

Gracious greetings from The Scarlet Singapore!

We truly appreciate your 5-star review of your stay at our hotel. We are delighted that you loved our guestrooms and our warm, personalised service. At The Scarlet Singapore, we pride ourselves on offering our guests, a different hotel experience from that of the bigger international chains,' and we are really pleased that you prefer our quirkiness, charm and distinctive personality.

We are glad that you found our location in the heart of Chinatown very convenient. If you haven't already discovered, our hotel is also within close proximity to the financial district, several popular visitor attractions and the hip bars and restaurants of Ann Siang Hill. Should your travels bring you back to Singapore, we hope you'll make many more interesting new discoveries.

In the meantime, Happy Holidays and a wonderful 2016!

Graciously Yours
Jack Chan
Hotel Manager
The Scarlet Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 319 in Singapore
1,311 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#95 of 319 in Singapore
701 reviews
Hotel G Singapore
#73 of 319 in Singapore
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naumi Hotel
#19 of 319 in Singapore
2,432 reviews
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#15 of 319 in Singapore
1,314 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#66 of 319 in Singapore
3,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Singapore

Address: 33 Erskine Road The Scarlet Hotel, Singapore 069333, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Singapore
#30 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#61 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: RM 498 - RM 1,029 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Singapore 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scarlet Singapore, Singapore's first luxury boutique hotel, has made a bold statement, both locally and internationally, by preserving and combining the architectural styles of Singapore heritage buildings with a striking, audacious concept. Vivacious and uninhibited, the interiors of this 80-room hotel pulsate with an eclectic tension, offering all who enter an adventure for the senses. Using signature red and combining it with opulent gold and sophisticated black, the hotel decor's provocative style is followed through in the rooms including 5 individually-themed suites, each with a tantalizing name - Splendour, Passion, Opulent, Lavish and Swank. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Scarlet Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarlet Hotel Singapore
Scarlet Singapore
Scarlett Hotel Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing