We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
22
80
86
30
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
80
86
30
25
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

The room is ok but the floor is quite dusty. The TV is extremely small but it was ok for us. The bathroom is extremely small which i believe it is due to the bathtub inside. But there are quite a number of halal restaurants available around and the islamic centre also located beside the hotel. So for Muslims, Geylang area will be the easiest place to stay when it comes to the food.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank laeeqa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

Hotel location is good. You can get to town by bus along the main road. Room size is better that other budget hotels nearby. Coffee shops are available nearby and is easily accessible by walking. Can come and stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Asiatravel.com
2  Thank meaniehew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Clean hotel, easy to find with friendly and helpful hotel staff. The hotel room is small a bit difference with the pict we saw in the internet. Small wall-mounted TV is the only entertainment in the room. The room-key lock (room 413) sometimes not working and need hotel staff to open it. No breakfast served for visitors but lucky that many street food seller nearby already open in the morning. I was not aware, until my wife told me after she checked in the internet that we stayed in the "red-light-area" of Singapore. I was walking around in the evening nearby the hotel and realized that my wife was correct. But the good things is that some brothels around did not show their business vividly and it seems it is only operating during the night time. During the daylight nobody will noticed.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Drajat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KennethMGR9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Princess, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Dear Drajat W, thank you for your review,we are glad the staff at our reception made a positive impression of you! We do have different kinds of rooms in Hotel 81 Princess, like our Deluxe rooms which are bigger in space!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017

I choose it because it was affordable, but when I came I understood it was in the middle of red-light district of Singapore. The staff is great but the hotel is dirty, old, the sink was about to fall out of the wall, there was almost no hot water, the beds were small no breakfast etc and Very noisy as there are no noise cancelling effects. next time I will spend more and get my self a decent hotel. if you have so little money that you need to stay here DONT go for a vacation and wait until next year.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariusespaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KennethMGR9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Princess, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Dear mariusespaas, we are sorry for your experience, however we do note that the front office were working all out to ensure your stay was as comfortable as possible. We do acknowledge our limitations and will see how we can work around them. Thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Hotel in Singapore is generally quite expensive so this was an affordable choice. The hotel is ok for what you pay. The rooms are pretty small and simply furnished, but fine enough. The service is not excellent, but ok. Not the best location. Generally an all over ok hotel. Nothing more, nothing less.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travel598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KennethMGR9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Princess, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2016

Dear travel598,

Thank you for taking the effort to review us! We do hope to improve on all areas so as to meet our guests and our own high standards so encouraging comments like yours will spur the Hotel 81 Princess team on!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews