We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 81 - Princess
Ranked #260 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Good location in geylang area. Personally, it's not my type. Because it is old and seems not well maintained. I'm not sure they wash the blanket daily. Because its dusty. When I want to use the kettle, there still water inside. Might be from the previous guest. However the service was good. Easy check in/out.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank Richard_Sembiring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

The room is ok but the floor is quite dusty. The TV is extremely small but it was ok for us. The bathroom is extremely small which i believe it is due to the bathtub inside. But there are quite a number of halal restaurants available around and the islamic centre also located beside the hotel. So for Muslims, Geylang area will be the easiest place to stay when it comes to the food.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank laeeqa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

Hotel location is good. You can get to town by bus along the main road. Room size is better that other budget hotels nearby. Coffee shops are available nearby and is easily accessible by walking. Can come and stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Asiatravel.com
2  Thank meaniehew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Clean hotel, easy to find with friendly and helpful hotel staff. The hotel room is small a bit difference with the pict we saw in the internet. Small wall-mounted TV is the only entertainment in the room. The room-key lock (room 413) sometimes not working and need hotel staff to open it. No breakfast served for visitors but lucky that many street food seller nearby already open in the morning. I was not aware, until my wife told me after she checked in the internet that we stayed in the "red-light-area" of Singapore. I was walking around in the evening nearby the hotel and realized that my wife was correct. But the good things is that some brothels around did not show their business vividly and it seems it is only operating during the night time. During the daylight nobody will noticed.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Drajat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KennethMGR9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Princess, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Dear Drajat W, thank you for your review,we are glad the staff at our reception made a positive impression of you! We do have different kinds of rooms in Hotel 81 Princess, like our Deluxe rooms which are bigger in space!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017

I choose it because it was affordable, but when I came I understood it was in the middle of red-light district of Singapore. The staff is great but the hotel is dirty, old, the sink was about to fall out of the wall, there was almost no hot water, the beds were small no breakfast etc and Very noisy as there are no noise cancelling effects. next time I will spend more and get my self a decent hotel. if you have so little money that you need to stay here DONT go for a vacation and wait until next year.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariusespaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KennethMGR9, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 81 - Princess, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Dear mariusespaas, we are sorry for your experience, however we do note that the front office were working all out to ensure your stay was as comfortable as possible. We do acknowledge our limitations and will see how we can work around them. Thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Orchid
Hotel 81 - Orchid
#279 of 317 in Singapore
439 reviews
Joo Chiat
Hotel 81 - Sakura
Hotel 81 - Sakura
#200 of 317 in Singapore
151 reviews
Geylang
Chang Ziang Hotel
Chang Ziang Hotel
#188 of 317 in Singapore
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Palace
Hotel 81 - Palace
#262 of 317 in Singapore
221 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 Hollywood
Hotel 81 Hollywood
#193 of 317 in Singapore
175 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#149 of 317 in Singapore
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 - Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 - Princess

Address: 21 Lorong 12 Geylang, Singapore 399001, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #260 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: RM170 - RM258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 - Princess 2*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 81 - Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 - Princess Singapore
81 Princess Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing