We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveller rating
48
104
108
54
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
48
104
108
54
31
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 345 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2012

we thought singapore is one of the safest country we could spend our vacation but i we were wrong.

we left our phone at the hotel's room since our local phone service was not set for roaming. when we got back to the hotel, the room was already clean and the phone was missing. we reported it already to the hotel manager but they just stare at us like they dont understand a single word. they didnt resolve it thus when we reported it to the police station, the police also cant understand english.

i sent an email to their government's foreign agency but after a reply of apology, they didnt make the hotel 81 accountable to what was lost.

Date of stay: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SharlaCarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Stayed 3 days 2 nights here in August 2012. Hotel can be considered as budget hotel. Nice room. But quite small. For Muslim friends.. its quite horrible to perform solat. Air conditioner and heater was too good.

Only the problem with surrounding area which the place is red light district. So scary to go out at night. So many people mingle around to find best chicken... Seriously not suitable for family.

Probably I will not go again to this hotel. Not because of room but surrounding area.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mielong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Our family stayed in this hotel because it's cheap. Had 2 rooms good for 2 person each, it was clean and maintained daily. Very convenient, near 7-11 and bus terminal. But dangerous at night because also near to night clubs and a lot of hookers roaming around.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NoOneLastMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I agree with the previous reviewer's comments. This hotel provides an acceptable sleep, but not much else. As a single traveller in Singapore, I found hotel prices very expensive, so opted for this one. However, once I saw the hotel and room, I was disappointed. It was really just too basic for my liking; like an office building that had been turned into a hotel (maybe it is).

The facilities were disappointing. The shower was cold one morning; the wireless did not work with the access code given (I later tried another one and then it worked), and the bed sheet was too short for the mattress - meaning my feet touched the plastic mattress cover all night. As I stayed over the weekend, Geylang (the redlight district as other reviewers have said) was very busy, and I could hear the elevator, voices and comings and goings in the hotel all night. I'm sure weeknights are better, but I used earplugs to sleep.

The staff were okay. They did upgrade me to a slightly better room when I complained about the one I'd been allocated. This gesture was appreciated, and made my stay a little better. When I was having Internet trouble, they asked me to bring my computer to the front desk for help, which I had to do several times. It would have been easier for them to just come to my room.

I'd probably spend more money next time, and stay somewhere nicer and near the city centre. Then it would feel more like a 'treat' for me too.

Room tip: I recommend booking the 'deluxe' room, which has a shower/bath combined (so the shower doesn't spray all over the toilet). The bed is also bigger, I think.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonabroad10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I used the Hotel 81 Geylang as a place to get some sleep before an early morning flight. For that purpose it sufficed, barely. Unfortunately,the whole of Geylang tends to have a redlight reputation, which is unfair. I have previously stayed at the Hotel 81Tristar, in another part of Geylang which was okay and nearby to fantastic food and historic Joo Chiat street. However, the area around Hotel 81 Geylang IS sleazy, with sex shops and prostitutes walking the streets. The food options were also lacking in comparison, with just a few smaller food outlets close by. The Old Airport Road Food Centre, possibly Singapore's best should be walkable, but I didn't try. The hotel room was about as basic as you can get. Bed with disposable pillowcases, desk but no chair, place to hang clothes, a disconnected television with a bare wire, no curtain or partition for the shower, which sprays on to the toilet, no view out of the window and tiny ants crawling around. The room felt hot despite the airconditioner, I could hear the noise from other rooms and the corridors smelled of cigarette smoke. At least the wireless internet was reasonably fast. I think it's S$10 per day, though free for reservations from the airport hotel desk. The front desk staff were okay, but not particularly interested. The Hotel 81 chain offers affordable accommodation in an expensive city, but I think I would chose one in a different area, should I need to stay in one again.

Date of stay: July 2012
Trip type: Travelled solo
4  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews