We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$88
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/11/21
Booking.com
US$91
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/11/21
Trip.com
US$70
View deal
Hotels.comUS$88
eDreamsUS$91
PricelineUS$80
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
56
89
45
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
56
89
45
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chinatown mrt boutique hotel mosque street great location a standard double room needed amenities friendliness and helpfulness bathroom shower a short walking distance highly recommend this hotel a wonderful stay would stay again comfortable bed bottled water rooms are small central location shophouse
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 211 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2021

Thank you Spencer and Team for making our style a pleasant one. We truly appreciate your hospitality and for making us feel welcomed.

Spencer was really friendly and the conversations we had with him was lax, casual and as if talking to a good friend. He made the experience a whole lot more enjoyable by recommending what to eat around there and of course with his jokes along the way to brighten the conversation.

The room was cleaned and well maintained, with a unique touch of a monochromatic theme to really stand out from your usual hotel room. although the TV does not have a HDMI input for our movie night, we ended watching channels such as HBO, Fox Movies and Chinese classics.

Price was also very reasonable given the location; we were surrounded by a food haven and a few minutes walk from Chinatown Point / Chinatown Complex.

Overall, it was a wonderful stay this National Day weekend! Thank you team once again .

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rongyil2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 June 2021

Stayed 1 night in mono. I would say it was kind of disappointing seeing how good the reviews were. Comfort level was not there.

Pros:
1. Good location
2. Polite staff

Cons:
1. Room was small, the table was small and uncomfortable, how can anyone possibly use their laptop and work there if need to.
2. Room is very bare and basic, the finishing wasn't good, wall paint dirty at some areas, it is just pretty raw, I hate the floor tiles.
3. Aircon could not be switched off when it gets too cold, u can only turn it up.
4. The room was damp in the morning, condensation on the floor tiles, floor was damp, u can't go bare foot, even the room slippers make u slip cos the floor was wet.
5. Bedsheets felt like it had a sticky layer, I have probably slept in at least 20-30 hotels room cos I have been travelling for 30 years and stayed in budget/business/luxury hotel and apartments, but never encountered bed sheets that felt like this. I could hardly sleep.
6. Noise, its true, u can hear people walking, talking along corridors, and tv noise from other rooms. pretty bad.
7. Toilet shower head was mouldy.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 June 2021 via mobile

This boutique hotel is conveniently located a stone’s throw away from Chinatown MRT, just walk past a row of shophouses and you’ll see the distinct black-and-white 3-storey shophouse that has been converted into Hotel Mono.

The room is surprisingly spacious for a shophouse boutique hotel and very clean. Every furniture is only in black and white colors. Unique monotone. We have two comfortable queen beds with four pillows on each bed, a sofa bed, a fixed long table to the wall that can seat two persons. There is also a proper wardrobe for us to hang our clothes and a side bench to put our bags and luggage. The bathroom is not big but sufficient, and we love the scent of the body wash and shampoo. The bath towels are also soft and fluffy.

This hotel doesn’t have the luxury of swimming pool, gym or restaurant/cafe but it’s good enough for a short staycation. Finding food is not a problem as there are a lot of eateries and restaurants in the area, and you can also walk over to Chinatown Point and People’s Park Complex for a great variety of food.

Will we be back to Hotel Mono? Most probably and this time we may try the loft room with the loft bed, and when dining out is allowed again.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Angelica_WT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 June 2021 via mobile

Room is smaller than expected although true to pictures.
The front office staff were absolutely kind and friendly.

Basic toiletries are provided in a pouch; shampoo, bathing soap, sanitary bag, toothbrush set, shaving kit, slippers, hairdryer etc.
Two towels per set, consisting of a large and small one.
Water kettle is provided, along with coffee and tea.

Windows can be opened.
Surrounding is amazing as there were so many food options.
Walking distance to Chinatown MRT & Chinatown Point.
Recommended restaurant: 东方美食

Some room for improvement:
The mini fridge is not very cold.
Cleanliness could be better as there are a couple small ants on the table, bedside tables were a little dusty.

Overall, very happy with the stay due to the convenience and basic comfort for the price paid. Would be keen to try the larger room types in the future.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jinnnmei
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 April 2021

i really liked the hotel, but then i like quirky things. as long as you are prepared for noises (it's a converted shophouse structure with a busy road right below for god's sakes) you'll be fine. room was immaculately clean, design is black & white simply classy, good view of the comings & goings on the street below (with accompanying people & vehicle sounds). the neighboring room had a bunch of rowdy kids but that's just down to bad luck, i suppose. was a little confusing getting to & leaving the room as you traverse the buildings so got to remember the route & recognize the right doors! was a little disturbed that the hotel hosts covid quarantine guests so would had been nice to find out about that before booking.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chocwafflemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews