We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jenny T

Stay here if you want too be ripped off and treated badly

Review of Hotel Mono
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Jul 2023via mobile
Terrible customer service. Towel has a bit of temp hair dye and we told them it can be washed out. However, they wanted to charge us $50SG, $50?!!! for an old used towel. After much back and forth as they were unwilling to at least clean it first to prove we’re right, we took it to the laundry washer and cleaned out the stain for 7SG$. We asked for additional towel and they (Connie) wanted to charge us $20 for it; they are nickel and dime-ing for everything. After talking to another front desk Jeremy, he told us we can exchange for new towels as they keep a tally of 4 towels/room, which Connie never mentioned. All she wanted to do was charge us for anything. Connie can use better customer service training and at least try to help instead of charging us for anything she can. Do not recommend EVER.
Received one vanity kit for the 6 days there.
It’s raining and we asked for a loaner umbrella but was told they don’t provide such. The following sunny day, a whole stack of loaner umbrellas sat in front of the lobby. Apparently they do offer but told us they don’t?!
The wall is thin so you can hear everything from the streets to outside our door, trash truck crushing noise and other guests talking outside of our room.
Guest visitors must register. Checked and other hotels didn’t require such.
Room has ants that invaded our food. This is by far the worst hotel we’ve stayed in. Never again.
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
RM 790
  • Expedia.com
    RM 895
  • Vio.com
    RM 606
  • Hotels.com
    RM 947
3.4 km from Hotel Mono
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 1,022
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,150
  • Priceline
    RM 922
  • Hotels.com
    RM 1,149
0.5 km from Hotel Mono
Free Wifi
Pool
Sky Bridge
RM 1,330
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,376
  • Agoda.com
    RM 1,201
  • Official Site
    RM 1,662
1.7 km from Hotel Mono
Free Wifi
Pool
Pacific Club Lounge
RM 1,508
RM 1,203
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,508
  • Priceline
    RM 1,364
  • Official Site
    RM 1,348
1.8 km from Hotel Mono
Free Wifi
Pool
Facade
RM 468
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    RM 465
  • KLOOK
    RM 455
  • Expedia.com
    RM 586
3.0 km from Hotel Mono
Free Wifi
Pool
RM 559
  • Expedia.com
    RM 621
  • KLOOK
    RM 492
  • Hotels.com
    RM 623
0.3 km from Hotel Mono
Pool
Restaurant
Facade
RM 465
  • Expedia.com
    RM 466
  • Hotels.com
    RM 376
  • Priceline
    RM 389
1.1 km from Hotel Mono
Pool
Restaurant
RM 1,049
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
    RM 1,049
  • travelup.com
    RM 1,028
  • Expedia.com
    RM 1,049
18.0 km from Hotel Mono
Free Wifi
Pool
RM 632
  • Expedia.com
    RM 801
  • Vio.com
    RM 621
  • Priceline
    RM 635
4.0 km from Hotel Mono
Free Wifi
Pool
RM 4,070
RM 3,137
Fully refundable
  • travelup.com
    RM 3,663
  • Vio.com
    RM 3,135
  • Priceline
    RM 3,137
1.6 km from Hotel Mono
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Singapore
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
59
96
65
20
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
59
96
65
20
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chinatown mrt chinatown point bathroom toilet hot shower hawker pros cons eateries
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2022 via mobile

In digha visit Dighali 1. Run by WB tourism this is a neat property, friendly staff and good f&b.
Arup as a friendly staff stands out. The location is good and amenities decent.
Book in advance as it is a popular hotel.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank tablu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 November 2022 via mobile

i would have wanted to give 5 star to this hotel. the location is great. close to the mrt and nightlife of chinatown. hawker centers are close by. staff were accommodating, friendly and efficient. our room was clean and looked lovely but they sure had the hardest pillows in the whole of singapore. for that, that i take off one star.

Room tip: request for softer pillows.
Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank allan_y1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 November 2022

Location: This is probably their best selling point. Very near Chinatown MRT (exit E, less than 5 minutes walk), so it's accessible to anywhere. Also, if you're one not to shy away from walking, you can walk to Tanjong Pagar for food (15-20 minutes). Raffles Place too.
Cleanliness: Can be improved. Overall cleanliness is fairly OK. The bed and toilet were clean. However the bedsheet had a hole in it (please consider changing to new ones). Found a tiny baby cockroach in my room on my last night there... which was the main reason I lowered my rating.
Design: It's minimalistic, and the black-white dramatic feel was rather dumbed down. I spend most of my time outside though, so room design is not important to me. I had a room with windows overlooking the outside. However since the rooms were not high up, people from the outside / opposite building will be able to see in. So I had to keep my blinds down most of the time. And the bathroom is rather dark at night.
Noise: It can get noisy at night due to the eateries in the street and in the early morning as there was some renovation going on nearby. Anyhow, I can fall asleep fairly easily and wake up around 7am regardless. So it was less of an issue for me. But if you have problems sleeping with noise and love sleeping in, this would not be the place for you.
Service: Check-in and check-out were smooth. Staff was courteous. Free bottles of water were given daily (super plus point).
Price: It's cheap for an accommodation in Singapore.

Room tip: Quieter rooms are located at the back, no windows though (from what I read). Windowed rooms are facing the street, but noisy.
Date of stay: October 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 July 2022 via mobile

Stayed four nights with my 12 y.o daughter in a Studio Room.

Pros:
-location
-great bed and linen
- 24/7 reception (we landed late, arrived 1am

Cons
- whilst I understand the use of a hero shot for the website, our room was not 30% of it. Seriously smaller, cannot call that a window
- re-grouting please!! Very basic thing to do guys!!

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank rkiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 May 2022 via mobile

Been wanting to try here and finally did.
Good location. Very close to Chinatown Point and walking distance to others.

Very quaint entrance. Love the staircase. The lift is old school which i liked. Staff at reception was very friendly.

Got a Double Deluxe room.
SMALL! Probably justifies the fact that a picture is but a picture.
You have about 1-metre distance around the bed to move about.
The bathroom/toilet is rather dark. You cannot open the window because you are exposing yourselves to the building across the street. Probably may not be the case if your room face elsewhere.

The blinds in the room had to be drawn down for the same reason. Which made it a bit dingy cos no window. You can close the window pane (its double layered).

At night, you can't really have a good sleep because of the sounds from the eateries along the road. The sounds were very clear. You can really join in their conversation. It was as if you were with them.

The TV channes super limited. Wifi was rather odd on laptops.

Manual adjustable aircon was good.
Hot shower was awesome.
I might wanna try their bigger rooms next time.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank addietrucon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews