We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Vietnamese food in Singapore”

Samsim Vietnam Cafe
Ranked #3,349 of 12,628 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Neighbourhood: Joo Chiat
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Joo Chiat
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Good Vietnamese food in Singapore. Local outlet with Vietnamese food, ran by Vietnamese people. Nothing fancy, just nice food.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank 497ralphn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

The friendly and beautiful waitresses are certainly a plus, have a go at the Vietnamese coffee, chicken curry with baked bread, and a wide variety of exotic Vietnamese traditional dishes, or indulge in a few bottles of beers, surely a very nice venue to relax in Joo Chiat!

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank KarenHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

A Joo Chiat gem, serving traditional Vietnamese food. Extensive menu, cooked fresh by the friendly owners as you order. Excellent pho, rice paper spring rolls, duck salad and spicy green vegetables when we were there last weekend, plus cheap beer!
Having been there on several occasions in the last year, and always satisfied, I can definitely recommend Samsim for tasty authentic Vietnamese food, served in a cafe environment and delivering great value for money.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChrisSingapore2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Friendly. Wide variety of food. Price reasonable. The service friendly. Parking in front of shop. They open 12.30pm. We ordered take away and food portion is good. Can call them to prepare order. Will come again.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank ButtClara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2014

After visiting Long Phung twice, both my husband and I feeling disappointed by the quality after reading such good reviews and seeing the restaurant being constantly busy, we decided to move on. (see a separate review).

Samsim is just a walk further down Joo Chiat Road, less busy, but when we went last night, the restaurant was quite full. It had a nicer atmosphere, busy but not overcrowded. Our experience in Singapore is that customer service often does not exist, so we have become used to not expecting smiles or welcoming staff. The service were better, some staff did smile, and it felt less like we were some what an inconvenience and were polite enough.

We had steamed rice with fried morning glory, salted cabbage and hot spicy chicken. Our kids had fried rice and pineapple juice. Verdict:

The kids liked the pineapple juice (at Long Phung they complained that it was too watery).
They also like the fried rice and said they would have again.
The steamed rice was nice, fluffy and not dry like it has been sat there all day.
The morning glory was tasty (though a little too much oil)
The salted cabbage (ordered by mistake) was nice and tasty as was the chicken.

Overall we enjoyed the meal a lot more as the taste was more subtle and not laced with msg and salt. Vietnamese cooking's common ingredient is msg so you have to accept that it will be in the majority of dishes. At Samsim, it was an acceptable amount, not tried their noodles yet.

Prices are comparable. In my Long Phung review I said we would eat there again if we were craving Vietnames food, now that we've tried Samsim, we WON'T be going to LP again.

Please note I've given atmosphere and service 4 stars, that is comparative to Singapore standards of service at similar places, not with say the UK. If it was in the UK I would give less.

Date of visit: November 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank oncecalledfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Samsim Vietnam Cafe also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Samsim Vietnam Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing