We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (910)
Filter reviews
910 results
Traveller rating
712
145
32
16
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
712
145
32
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews piano bar pavilion room art deco suite pisco sours chilli heated pool bellavista neighborhood san cristobal hill la chascona bars and restaurants gorgeous hotel patio bellavista breakfast staff eggs cooked to order dinner reservations breakfast room old mansion
Filter
Updating list...
535 - 540 of 910 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2013

The Aubrey offers impeccable and friendly service. The rooms and baths are stylish, up to date, and comfortable. Rachel, our waitress for breakfast, sang as she brought us freshly ground coffee and custom cooked eggs. Later in the day we had tea and banana bread on the peaceful pool terrace. This haven was a real treat in downtown Santiago. The price is reasonable for so much luxury.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzannemcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

The Aubrey Hotel is a fifteen room boutique hotel, in the Bella Vista Bario They gutted a mansion and re-did the rooms which are just gorgeous, and so tastefully decorated. The location is very convenient. Three doors down from Pablo Neruda's home in Santiago. Close to boutique shopping, the zoo and park right behind the hotel and within walking distance to the LaStarria neighborhood. We even walked to the Mercado Centrale from here.

The dining room open out into an outdoor dining space that has stone arched wall, with water streaming down to create the most tranquil atmosphere.

Breakfast is included with eggs made however you like - and even eggs benedict with salmon. Yum.

The staff was so helpful, and the service to and fron the airport, could not have been easier.

They made sure I was booked on my flights, arranged tours, booked dinner reservations, well, you get the idea. If I was ever going to stay in Santiago, I would stay here.

Room tip: The rooms on the first floor, may be a bit nosier than the ones higher up, or back by the pool.
Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

It's interesting how travellers can have such different experiences of the same establishment. The Aubrey came highly recommended to us by a friend and through these reviews, but our experience was one big disappointment.

We have just stayed there for three nights. It should have been four, but our LAN flight from Easter Island was delayed by ten hours and we only arrived at The Aubrey at 6.45 am. We had rung The Aubrey the previous afternoon to say that the flight was delayed and that we would be there at 3.00 am or even later, but that we were still coming. While we acknowledge that we should have paid for the first night's accommodation, we were quite surprised to find out that our credit card had already been debited for all four nights' accommodation before we arrived and that we were a "no show". This was most inconvenient for us as we had planned to pay in cash and wound up stuck with a significant amount of US dollars that we could not use. But when I asked the receptionist how this had occurred, he (very abruptly) said it was hotel policy and that it wasn't the hotel's problems that our communication from the previous day had been misconstrued. As a result, he said he would not apologise. So much for that.

But the problems with The Aubrey were more with the standard of accommodation itself for what is a moderately expensive hotel positioning itself at the upper end of the market. Our room faced the street and was far from sound-proof. From 6.30 am in the morning, road noise prevents sleep, so if you are staying there avoid the front rooms. Secondly, while we don't know the size of all beds, you would need to be no taller than 175 centimetres (5 foot 9 inches) to sleep comfortably. The bed is only 190 centimetres - exactly my height. Put a pillow and bedhead behind your head and six inches of feet dangle over the bed end. Also, hot water takes the best part of four or five minutes to arrive at the showerhead.

The problems also extended to breakfast. The Aubrey makes much of its food, but even the cheeriness of the staff does not compensate for cold fried eggs, repeatedly served to us. And if you plan to use the bar or the restaurant, watch your bill. The tip is included in the bill, but nobody mentions that it is at a rate of 12% rather than the customary 10% found throughout Chile. Sorry, but that smacks of dishonesty to us. All in all, a pretty unsatisfactory experience - the first time in our considerable travels that the experience was so dissimilar to that of other Trip Advisor reviewers.

Room tip: Avoid the front rooms.
Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poropat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

The front desk was very helpful and courteous when we checked in and took us to our room in the new addition in the back. What a great room. Great shower. Private patio in the back. The ramp to the pool was very convenient from our room. We decided that this hotel is one of the best we have ever stayed at. The ambience at night in the courtyard and bar area is fabulous. We chatted with the owner and he was a gracious host. That first night was stunning. We took a tour of the wineries the next day and didn't return until late afternoon. It was great going to the pool area and have a drink delivered to us. The pool has an area that is only about one foot deep and when you lay there flat the jacuzzi jets massage all over your body. I had never seen a pool spa effect like that. After relaxing at the pool we went to the courtyard, had drinks and dinner. The lighting and cascading water in the arches completed the romantic feeling. A great romantic hotel. My only problem with The Aubrey is it is too far from my home. Loved our stay there. Highly recommend it. Great staff and service. Bravo Aubrey!

Room tip: When we looked at their website we didn't know that the room we/they selected was in the new area in the back of the hotel. I would recommend those rooms.
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainshadowsierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I arranged a transfer through the hotel and unfortunately it didn't show up as planned... However, I did get to the hotel just fine and it appears there was an error at the car company with the arrival time - I forgive them! The staff are amazing, great English and very helpful and friendly. Location is good, next door to the zoo and an easy walk to the metro (which is really easy to use). I will definitely be back if I am ever in Santiago again.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hopskipandajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews