We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No early checkin-Noisy- Lots of steps”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Aubrey Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 204 Hotels in Santiago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We really enjoy boutique hotels with character vs chains and high rises. The Aubrey is the first exception.
The hotel has it's pluses - outdoor courtyard, friendly staff, comfortable beds,and is clean.


The BIG negatives are STEPS and NOISE.

Steps
Lots of steps no matter where your room is located.
Especially the loft (really an attic that you have to be careful not to bang head) offering a challenge of over 60 steps each way from lobby to/from room. During our 12 hour stay over 360 steps to climb up and down just to check in ,go shopping ,and to dinner!

Very disappointed that after our International flight arrived at hotel at 9:30 AM we couldn't check in until 3 PM even if were willing to pay extra. Didn't even have a refresh room available for short time to change like other boutique hotels like LaStarria Had to tour and roam streets until 3PM before could check in. We checked out 6-7Am each of the 3 separate stays for flights within Chile. Hard to believe that on the day of our arrival no one had checked out early!

Noise
Had 3 different rooms on 3 different evenings and could hear people talking, shouting, yelling until after 3PM. Worse was a Saturday night that sounded like a riot outside with drums beating, shouting voices and car alarms. If you are a deep sleeper and night life until wee hours of morning perhaps you can survive. Otherwise bring earplugs or better yet select quieter location or hotel.
The last night they had a big private party with band in courtyard until after 11AM. Our wake up call was @5:15.

Don't think about sleeping until after 3PM

Would never recommend hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PSU64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (802)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

448 - 452 of 802 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2013

The Aubrey offers impeccable and friendly service. The rooms and baths are stylish, up to date, and comfortable. Rachel, our waitress for breakfast, sang as she brought us freshly ground coffee and custom cooked eggs. Later in the day we had tea and banana bread on the peaceful pool terrace. This haven was a real treat in downtown Santiago. The price is reasonable for so much luxury.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzannemcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

The Aubrey Hotel is a fifteen room boutique hotel, in the Bella Vista Bario They gutted a mansion and re-did the rooms which are just gorgeous, and so tastefully decorated. The location is very convenient. Three doors down from Pablo Neruda's home in Santiago. Close to boutique shopping, the zoo and park right behind the hotel and within walking distance to the LaStarria neighborhood. We even walked to the Mercado Centrale from here.

The dining room open out into an outdoor dining space that has stone arched wall, with water streaming down to create the most tranquil atmosphere.

Breakfast is included with eggs made however you like - and even eggs benedict with salmon. Yum.

The staff was so helpful, and the service to and fron the airport, could not have been easier.

They made sure I was booked on my flights, arranged tours, booked dinner reservations, well, you get the idea. If I was ever going to stay in Santiago, I would stay here.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor, may be a bit nosier than the ones higher up, or back by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

It's interesting how travellers can have such different experiences of the same establishment. The Aubrey came highly recommended to us by a friend and through these reviews, but our experience was one big disappointment.

We have just stayed there for three nights. It should have been four, but our LAN flight from Easter Island was delayed by ten hours and we only arrived at The Aubrey at 6.45 am. We had rung The Aubrey the previous afternoon to say that the flight was delayed and that we would be there at 3.00 am or even later, but that we were still coming. While we acknowledge that we should have paid for the first night's accommodation, we were quite surprised to find out that our credit card had already been debited for all four nights' accommodation before we arrived and that we were a "no show". This was most inconvenient for us as we had planned to pay in cash and wound up stuck with a significant amount of US dollars that we could not use. But when I asked the receptionist how this had occurred, he (very abruptly) said it was hotel policy and that it wasn't the hotel's problems that our communication from the previous day had been misconstrued. As a result, he said he would not apologise. So much for that.

But the problems with The Aubrey were more with the standard of accommodation itself for what is a moderately expensive hotel positioning itself at the upper end of the market. Our room faced the street and was far from sound-proof. From 6.30 am in the morning, road noise prevents sleep, so if you are staying there avoid the front rooms. Secondly, while we don't know the size of all beds, you would need to be no taller than 175 centimetres (5 foot 9 inches) to sleep comfortably. The bed is only 190 centimetres - exactly my height. Put a pillow and bedhead behind your head and six inches of feet dangle over the bed end. Also, hot water takes the best part of four or five minutes to arrive at the showerhead.

The problems also extended to breakfast. The Aubrey makes much of its food, but even the cheeriness of the staff does not compensate for cold fried eggs, repeatedly served to us. And if you plan to use the bar or the restaurant, watch your bill. The tip is included in the bill, but nobody mentions that it is at a rate of 12% rather than the customary 10% found throughout Chile. Sorry, but that smacks of dishonesty to us. All in all, a pretty unsatisfactory experience - the first time in our considerable travels that the experience was so dissimilar to that of other Trip Advisor reviewers.

Room Tip: Avoid the front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poropat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

The front desk was very helpful and courteous when we checked in and took us to our room in the new addition in the back. What a great room. Great shower. Private patio in the back. The ramp to the pool was very convenient from our room. We decided that this hotel is one of the best we have ever stayed at. The ambience at night in the courtyard and bar area is fabulous. We chatted with the owner and he was a gracious host. That first night was stunning. We took a tour of the wineries the next day and didn't return until late afternoon. It was great going to the pool area and have a drink delivered to us. The pool has an area that is only about one foot deep and when you lay there flat the jacuzzi jets massage all over your body. I had never seen a pool spa effect like that. After relaxing at the pool we went to the courtyard, had drinks and dinner. The lighting and cascading water in the arches completed the romantic feeling. A great romantic hotel. My only problem with The Aubrey is it is too far from my home. Loved our stay there. Highly recommend it. Great staff and service. Bravo Aubrey!

Room Tip: When we looked at their website we didn't know that the room we/they selected was in the new are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainshadowsierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Le Reve Hotel Boutique
#3 of 204 in Santiago
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vitacura
Renaissance Santiago Hotel
Santa Lucia
Lastarria Boutique Hotel
Lastarria Boutique Hotel
#13 of 204 in Santiago
730 reviews
CasaSur Charming Hotel
#1 of 204 in Santiago
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aubrey Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aubrey Boutique Hotel

Address: Constitucion 317 | Bellavista, Santiago 7530137, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Providencia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 204 Hotels in Santiago
Price Range: RM 755 - RM 1,424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Aubrey Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aubrey an Australian/English owned and operated small friendly boutique hotel which opened in 2010, is situated in bohemian, artsy Bellavista neighbourhood, Providencia. Situated next to the Park Metropolitan and is the first true boutique hotel in Santiago, The hotel comprises of 2 lovingly restored old mansions which have been completely modernized while retaining many original features, and furnished with a fusion of contemporary and antique styles. The hotel has a new contempory built pavilion wing, an outdoor heated jacuzzi swimming pool with sundeck, a relaxing lounge bar with indoor/outdoor terrace seating , serving cocktails, wines and tapas, Monday to Saturday with live pianist every Friday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Aubrey Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing