We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quito
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Amazonas Inn
Ranked #139 of 287 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed in the Amazonas Inn four nights. The service is good and the staff is friendly. It was an OK option between day trips in Quito and reading reviews it seems it has been refurbished. We paid 35$ for a double room that was spacious and full of light with two balconies, wooden floors throughout, cable tv, wifi(that works!) and hot shower.

However the rooms in the first floor are quite noisy once the breakfast service begins (7 am) and the matresses in the first floor are extremely hard, we wanted to change rooms but the ones on the second floor have tiny little windows. Also the sliding doors of the bathrooms do not close and the shower was outdated but the water was hot.

The breakfast was included, enough but not plenty. It included toasts, butter and jam plus eggs one day and salad fruit the next one.

The area is very convinient, full of restaurants/bars(Plaza Foch) and travel agencies. Although during the night it changes (hikers) but there is police all around. It seems it is changing in the last couple of years.

Overall this hotel was OK. It was a cheap option but two nights I couldn't sleep properly.

Room Tip: First floor: spacious rooms, beautiful balconies, noisy after 7am, hard matresses Second floor: tin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chucho_nordes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

I can't say enough about how great this hostal was. Our first encounter was with the new owner's son who was so friendly and cordial and showed us rooms for a future stay. When we arrived they went out of their way to get us comfortably settled. The rooms have been updated with new drapes, comforter covers, and upholstery and the showers are HOT. The rooms and hall are spotlessly clean and a nice breakfast is served every morning. It was the best value of any hotel I stayed in this trip. It is only two short blocks from some excellent restaurants and night life.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pkibbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

this place was had the door closed after ringing the bell for about 10 minutes in a area thats dreadfull with drugs in the front door, the staff finally came to open the door, the price was ok $18 for a single person, but the room was dirty no hot water, no wifi, no cable, and the walls were totally stain with something i dont dare thinkg.. i turned around and asked for a refound, this place is a total waste of time and money dont ever go here

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gorge t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gusecua, Propietario at Hostal Amazonas Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Dear Gorge t,

I am sorry to read this bad review. We are the new owners of the Hostal.
The former administration was neglectful in the aspect of the cleanliness and the quality of service. We have changed everything inside the place. We have hot water, WiFi, Cable in every room.
In behalf of all the staff, I apology for the bad impression you got from our hostal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

The new ownership neglects responding to requests for reservation through their web site and emails. We obtained reservations through a third party in Quito but upon arriving found that they had discontinued cable TV and internet service. (We don´t go out much in the evening and want to be able to watch TV as well as read.) The cafe is closed for remodeling.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeorgiaGypsyMacon_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2010

At $16 a night for a room with everything one could need, including a bathtub, it was a fantastic deal. No windows in the room with tub, but that kept it quiet at night (rare for Latin American countries). Desk clerk 24 hours, so safety no problem. They have a safe behind desk for valuables, which I used. My room was small, but who wants to spend time in the room while on vacation. Breakfast not included but a cafe is on first floor of building. I paid $2 for breakfast. Staff was friendly and helpful, but nobody could help me pull up my emails on the in-house computer. No matter; plenty of internet cafes in the same block for $1 an hour. I stayed 4 nights and made day trips to two parks, Pululahua, Mitad del Mundo, and Yanacocha. I have a detailed trip report (birding) on another website. If you want the link, contact me.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rarich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
5.1 km away
Hotel Sebastian
Hotel Sebastian
#38 of 113 in Quito
200 reviews
5.2 km away
Hotel Reina Isabel
Hotel Reina Isabel
#16 of 113 in Quito
778 reviews
4.7 km away
Travellers Inn
Travellers Inn
#20 of 287 in Quito
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 km away
Hotel Casa de Hacienda La Jimenita
15.4 km away
San Jose de Puembo - Quito Airport, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
7.9 km away
Casa Gangotena
Casa Gangotena
#3 of 113 in Quito
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Amazonas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Amazonas Inn

Address: J Pinto E4-324 & Av. Amazonas, Quito, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 287 Speciality Lodging in Quito
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing