We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3d2n package in a nice environment!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Secret Garden Cotopaxi
Ranked #7 of 245 Quito B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A friend of us didn't have that much time to spend around Quito and Cotopaxi and therefore the 3d2n option of Secret Garden was a very efficient and convenient way to explore the region. We booked it the day before and the next day we already left in the morning, flexible & easy going.
What is included in their 88usd package:
- transport from Secret Garden Quito to SG Cotopaxi
- 1st day 2 meals, 2nd day 3 meals and 3rd day breakfast and lunch (all days as snack bananas and banana cake and coffee/tee/water for free)
- 2 nights in the dorm (very comfy bed and room heated with wood)
- 1st day a walk to see waterfalls (2h), 2nd or 3rd day (up to your decision), guided hike to Pasochoa (4200m), good exercise if you want to go higher on the 3rd day or in the following days

On the third day most of the people do additional activities like horseback riding or another hike which cost around usd 30-35. The transfer back to Quito was usd 5pp. The can also arrange transfers to other close destinations like Machachi (price depends on groups).
An individual night without package costs about usd 38 which can be arranged on their homepage or via SG Quito.

Beforehand we thought it sounds like a good deal and afterwards we knew it was very good value for money. The accommodation is due to it's location definitely better than a common hostel night elsewhere and the food was just great and enough (as well for active hikers:)! Combined with the relaxed atmosphere in the common areas it's just a great experience! Again: the food was outstanding and we ate a lot!
Also the big hammock, the small hammocks, the jacuzzi and the hot showers helped to relax and enjoy the environment. The compost toilet had a great view as well, unique!

Overall, very nice experience in a great location with nice people. Even if travelling on a budget this is a reasonable and convenient option to explore the region. Recommended and would do it again. Thank for these nice impressions.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Raephels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing hostel, beautiful views of Cotopaxi. Lovely and friendly staff very efficient with bookings and organising tours.
Perfect for couples or solo travellers. Made everyone feel welcome eating together as a community the food is incredible and cater for vegetarians and vegans.
Great facilities, hot tub, clean showers and hot water. The fire man made us a cosy fire every night so when we would get in to our room it was nice a warm!
Highly recommend this hostel probably the best hostel I have ever stayed in.
Thank you

Bryre & Jon

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bryre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

The location is superb, it is just like living in a postcard, everywhere is picture perfect. We booked the private cabanas which are so pretty too and with exceptional views (you can see the cotopaxi volcano from the window). At night it goes a bit cold so you have a stove in the room. It was funny as the bedroom is upstairs and the shower downstairs as soon as you go in with the toilet under the stairs :). The food was very good and homely.
For me the best part were the dogs :) so friendly and cute that you would want to take them back home with you.
With respect to the excursions they were nice. The waterfall one was quite easy and highly suggestible. Loved it.
The next day we took the Pasochoa one. I was a bit disappointed here to be honest. This was free as in part of the package we took. When one of the people in charge came to ask us if we want to join we told her yes but asked about the difficulty level and she told us it is hard. We are trekkers but not used to the altitude so i was having second thoughts. She tried to make us chose not to go, at least that is how i felt it. In the end we decided to go all the same and if need be turn back. Most of the people (including the guide) were rushing ahead and we sometimes even got lost as we could not keep up with them. This led them to come back for us. In the end we did it and it was a lovely trek. In my opinion though for treks there should be two people leading.. one at the front and one at the back to make sure that no one gets lost. There were two but one of them was new and was staying at the front too only when we told him that this is not right he stayed at the back. Apart from this I highly suggest it :)

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SVELMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Stayed at Secret Garden Cotopaxi for 3 days in a hobbit home. Really nice room concept with great view on Cotopaxi from your bed. Hot shower is outside also with a beautiful view. We did a climb to base camp of Cotopaxi, the waterfall trek and a trek to one of the nearby summits. Worth it. Its a really nice area and the place too. The only thing you have to bear in mind, its more like a "packaged holiday" and you eat all meals together in the group. You have to like that, for us it was ok as the group was quite nice.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank capricornus12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

I used to live in Ecuador and have traveled thoroughly throughout the country. I feel that I am being fair in this review and hope that it helps other people think hard about spending so munch money on this place.

The view is definitely amazing if the volcano comes out from behind the clouds, but this place is completely overpriced. Why? Firstly, it is run predominantly by volunteers who do not appear to receive any training about the property, the country, or frankly, even how to smile at guests or make conversation. We took a walk to the waterfall and the "leader" failed to count the amount of participants and wasn't sure if any were lost at the end of it all...

We purchased the package that included meals and transportation. We spent over $175USD for two nights as a treat and we learned that we should have spent the same amount for five days to a week anywhere else in Ecuador.

When we arrived at the hostel in Quito for the transportation to Cotopaxi, we were told that they did not have our reservation because it was canceled last minute and rebooked to someone else. They said the system canceled the reservation because they did not receive a deposit, but they did (which, by the way, was a bit of a pain in and of itself). They found our deposit and didn't apologize, but offered to find us some form of accommodation.

They offered us a cabin the first night and then a tent for the second... The cabin was good (costs even more if you want this), but the tent was a ridiculous suggestion given that it was 5 degrees outside, the zipper was broken, and the heater didn't work. We ended up making friends with another couple whose reservation was also messed up and they let us sleep in their bunkbeds. Not exactly the romantic birthday gift I had intended on experiencing, but at least we didn't freeze to death.

Throughout our stay, it appeared as if no one knew who we were as we were left off of lists for activities and transportation, but that didn't bother us much. As for food, the "unlimited" banana bread was definitely not unlimited as people had to keep asking for it and they kept telling us "It's coming"...and honestly...it wasn't great anyway. Plus if you want a glass a pop, you had to pay $1.25 which seems a bit much.. I would suggest bringing your own drinks and snacks if you decide to go. The food was actually good overall, but the lunch is minimal (soup one day and rice and lentils the next).

Honestly, I would have loved to say that the atmosphere was wonderful and comforting, but actually, we were just grateful that we met a couple cool travellers there because everything else was mostly mediocre.

I'd say...If you can't get a hobbit hole, I'm just not convinced this place is worth the long ride and chunk of money.

IF YOU ARE GOING FROM SECRET GARDEN TO BAÑOS---They drop you off on the side of the highway and tell you that busses come through constantly, but we were left waiting over 1.5 hours to get to Baños and had to take a bus to Ambato first. Had I not known we could do this, we may still be waiting on the side of the road. TAKE THE FIRST BUS YOU SEE TO AMBATO AND THEN TRANSFER TO BAÑOS.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank shannanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quito
33.6 km away
Casa Joaquin Boutique Hotel
31.9 km away
The Secret Garden
The Secret Garden
#19 of 281 in Quito
418 reviews
3.4 km away
Chilcabamba Mountain Lodge
Chilcabamba Mountain Lodge
#2 of 29 in Cotopaxi Province
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra del Volcan
Hacienda El Porvenir / Tierra de...
#1 of 29 in Cotopaxi Province
269 reviews
6.1 km away
Hacienda Los Mortinos
Hacienda Los Mortinos
#1 of 12 in Machachi
123 reviews
31.8 km away
Hotel Boutique Portal de Cantuna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Secret Garden Cotopaxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Secret Garden Cotopaxi

Address: | Via El Pedregal, Quito EC170350, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 245 B&Bs / Inns in Quito
Price Range: RM296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Katherine and Tarquin, the owners/creators of The Secret Garden Quito, have moved to the countryside where they have been building their dream home and hostel. It's spectacular mountain scenery, it's a beautiful traditional lodge made of mud bricks and thatched roof, it's an eco-friendly self sufficiency project, it's great homegrown herbs and spices,with an exquisite home style food, it's considered an adventure center and it's a relaxation center. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing