We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,866)
Filter reviews
1,866 results
Traveller rating
1,151
535
135
30
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,151
535
135
30
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the executive lounge celebrity cruise bistro latino la hacienda smoothie bar yellow cab breakfast buffet lobby bar beautiful hotel galapagos islands business center old town rooms are spacious bottled water roses silversea airport
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,866 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The concierge services at this hotel were fabulous. I communicated with them prior to my trip, and all of our tours and car arrangements worked perfectly. the rooms are clean and spacious. The food on the 9th floor is very good, and it provides gorgeous views of the city.

Room Tip: view of the city
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 327maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoxanaZ92, Marketing Coordinator at JW Marriott Hotel Quito, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 327maggie,

Thank you for choosing JW Marriott Quito for your stay!

We appreciate your comments regarding our excellent concierge service, rooms and Executive Floor.

We are glad to know our concierge service surpassed your expectations and that all your car arrangements worked perfectly. We will let our concierge team know about your wonderful comments.

Regarding our rooms, we renovated them about two years ago. This is why rooms are so spacious, modern, clean and amazing! We updated them thinking in our guests and in how to make every stay memorable.

It is awesome you had access to our Executive Lounge and that you were able to try our delicious food. Did your try our omelet station at breakfast? Our guests usually love it! About the gorgeous views from the lounge, we agree, they are breath taking. Actually, from the terrace you can see Cotopaxi Mountain, one of the most amazing volcanoes in Ecuador.




Please visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

This hotel is modern, airy and the rooms are spacious (large bedroom and bathroom with shower and tub). We stayed here for several nights through Celebrity Cruise before our Galapagos trip. We also stayed 2 separate nights afterwards using Expedia. First, the front desk personnel are pleasant and helpful. Overall the service is excellent. We noticed that with the Celebrity booking you received additional perks such as a beautiful Quito grown rose or a few chocolates on your bed at night and a beautiful view. Also breakfast was included. Their buffet breakfast at Bistro Latino had a great variety of food including a juice bar. If it’s not included in your package, it's $25 per person.

The rooms we booked through Expedia were the same but with a view of the lobby. We requested a king bed but got a double room one night (they were 90% booked for a convention and couldn't accommodate our request to change rooms). There were also minor differences between each of the 3 rooms. One room didn’t have a table for our luggage; another didn’t have a small refrigerator. The toiletries varied (two had bath salts, another had mouthwash), coffee wasn’t replenished the 2nd day in the first room. But these didn’t affect our stay.

We did a lot of sightseeing and found the location wasn’t convenient to Old Town. An Uber ride costs a little over $2 and taxi over $3 to get there depending on traffic. My only wish was that the lighting in the room be brighter. There are many spotlight fixtures around the room but the bedroom seemed dim to me (I do have glaucoma that affects my night vision).

However, if you want to stay at a lovely large hotel with a variety of restaurants on site and excellent service, then this Marriott would be a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoxanaZ92, Marketing Coordinator at JW Marriott Hotel Quito, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Dear Ty E,

How did you enjoy your trip to the Galapagos? We are glad you had the chance to visit our amazing islands!

Thank you for your comments regarding our rooms, service and breakfast buffet.

Our rooms got renovated just two year ago and we took all of our guest’s concerns in account in order to create a room that fits your needs and wants. This is the reason why our rooms are so modern, spacious and beautiful.

We appreciate you mentioning our outstanding staff and service. Our sincere service is what makes us so special and different from other hotels. We work to make our guests feel welcomed and at home.

We are pleased you were able to enjoy our breakfast buffet, our chefs prepare food with the best quality ingredients. Did you have a chance to try our smoothie station? It is honestly the best part; my favorite combination is with orange, strawberries and bananas.

Thank you for your suggestions, we will take them into account. As a JW Marriott brand, we appreciate recommendations in order to improve and achieve the aim.




Please visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

I give the 4-star rating because the staff is superior and the hotel has all of the conveniences as well as a small shopping mall inside the huge lobby area. But it is too expensive, even if it is beautiful.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RockinCuenca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoxanaZ92, Marketing Coordinator at JW Marriott Hotel Quito, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear RockinCuenca,

Thank you for choosing JW Marriott Quito for your stay.

We appreciate your comments regarding our superior service and our beautiful amenities.

Our service, it is what makes us so special and different from other hotels. We work to make our guests feel welcomed and at home. As a JW Marriott, we follow Marriott International's standards and procedures and we follow the most important guide from our founder: "Put people first".

Regarding our conveniences, we aim to make every stay memorable. During the past years, we have been updating areas including our rooms, spa, Exchange Bar and Bistro Latino Restaurant. The purpose of making then amazing and modern is to make guests visit unique.

We appreciate your recommendations, as a JW Marriott brand we are always looking for ways to improve and our guest’s comments are extremely important for us because it is what helps us become better.




Please visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

The hotel is located in Quito’s La Mariscal area, within walking distance from the main entertainment and dining area and 15/20 minutes from the old town and the teleférico.
The big lobby area lacks coziness but gives impressive views of the mountains.
Rooms have a more than decent size and beds are big and comfortable. Bathrooms are big but they are ageing
There is a nice and big outside pool and a good gym. Food in La Hacienda restaurant is good too.
Service is very friendly and very efficient.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mateus v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoxanaZ92, Marketing Coordinator at JW Marriott Hotel Quito, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear mateus v,

Thank you for choosing JW Marriott Quito for your stay.

We appreciate your comments regarding our excellent location, lobby mountain view, spacious rooms, pool area, well equipped gymnasium, La Hacienda restaurant and our extraordinary service.

We are glad to know you liked our central location. As you mentioned, we are close to a lot of restaurants, parks, shopping centers, downtown etc. Where you able to visit Quito’s old city? We believe it is a must!

We are happy to know you enjoyed our impressive views form our lobby. Our crystal cycling is made that way in order for our guests to appreciate our mountain and city view.

Our rooms where renovated two years ago, this is why they are spacious, modern, and amazing. We renovated them thinking on our guests and on how to make every stay memorable. We are glad to know we achieved your expectations.

Our outdoor pool area together with the sound of the waterfalls is the ideal place to relax. We are happy to know you were able to spend some time in our outstanding temporized pool.

It is great you had the chance to visit and try our delicious steakhouse restaurant La Hacienda. Our chefs use best quality and fresh food when cooking; this is why food is so amazing.

We are happy to know you really felt the JW Treatment and the Marriott International thinking of "putting people first". As associates we do our best to exceed our guests expectations because we follow the principle that Mr. Marriott himself created: "If you take care of your employees, your employees will take care of your customers/guests, and they will come back". Our objective is to make customers feel special and we are eager to know you felt that way.

As a luxury brand we are always aiming to go outside the box by making our guests feel at home. Thank you for your comments and recommendations we will take immediate action. All of our guest’s comments are very important to us because they help us improve.



Please visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Arrived on 11 day Celebrity experience, and first room was lovely, overlooking the pool. Only problem imo, was no towel racks, no coat hooks in Bathroom, and not a good light in entry way; other than that, the service was impeccable, room clean, bed comfy, and mostly quiet. Best service ever from every person we encountered. Breakfast was very good; included in our package. Not sure if included otherwise. The fruits I didn't recognize were exciting to try some of each. The return from Galapagos for 2nd room had a wonderful bathtub, towel bar, and coat hooks, so not sure why first one didn't have it too? Our farewell dinner was in the Steakhouse rest. and it was very good. The concierge arranged a great day tour to the Cloud forest on our last day in Quito. Highly recommend this hotel, although it is about a 40 minute ride to the airport. Love the rose they gave me every day we were there. Sorry I couldn't bring them home; as they were high quality.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fromSantaBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoxanaZ92, Marketing Coordinator at JW Marriott Hotel Quito, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Dear SantaBarbara,

How did you enjoy your Galapagos trip? We are glad you had the chance to visit our amazing islands!

We appreciate your comments regarding our rooms, service, breakfast buffet, steakhouse restaurant and roses.

Our rooms where renovated two years ago, this is why they are spacious, modern, and amazing. We renovated them thinking on our guests and on how to make every stay memorable.

We are happy to know you really felt the JW Treatment and the Marriott International thinking of "putting people first". As associates, we do our best to exceed our guest’s expectations because we follow the principle that Mr. Marriott himself created: "If you take care of your employees, your employees will take care of your customers/guests, and they will come back". We aim to make customers feel special and we are glad to know you felt that way.

In regards to our food, our chefs prepare food with the quality ingredients. We are pleased you were able to enjoy our breakfast buffet options and that you had the chance to try new flavor fruits. Did you try our fresh smoothie station? My personal favorite is a mixture of orange, bananas and strawberries. We are pleased you were also able to enjoy our outstanding restaurant La Hacienda steakhouse.

We are happy to know you like the roses given to you every day by our associates. Ecuadorian roses are beautiful and we love to know that you liked them.

As a JW brand, we are always aiming to improve. Your comments are important for us, thank you!



Please visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews