We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully appointed hotel with friendly service and in a great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel El Relicario del Carmen
Ranked #45 of 113 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2016

We had a wonderful experience with this hotel from start to finish. We arrived at midnight and made previous notification to the hotel to ensure they could accommodate us at this late hour. A friendly staff member was there to greet us, welcome us, and get us settled into our room. The friendly and helpful service continued throughout our stay (and we checked out at 3:00 a.m.). Alfonso had already arranged for our cab ride and helped load our luggage. Alfonso also made us a delicious breakfast each morning and was there in the afternoons for a snack or drink. I don't think Alfonso ever sleeps! We felt perfectly safe in this hotel and were very pleased with the accommodations. The friendly staff really made our stay enjoyable. The hotel is an easy two blocks from Plaza Grande, local shops, and eateries.

Room Tip: We were happy on the bottom floor but I think most of the rooms were on the second and third floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GINA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2016

Beautiful boutique hotel in historic "El Centro". Rooms were on the smaller side, but very clean and comfortable. They are tastefully decorated in an historic style. The included breakfast was excellent! The staff, especially Tarquino, is always pleasant and very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2016

You can easily miss it from the outside at first - but inside is a trip back in time. Our room was small but comfortable and functional. Breakfast is included and There are hot and cold options. The staff are extremely helpful and will arrange taxis, restaurant bookings, laundry, luggage storage etc. Nothing is too hard or too much trouble. Situated in the Old Town, historical attractions and modern restaurants are within easy walking distance

Stayed: April 2016
Thank Felicity H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Stayed twice in a period of 10 days whilst on tour of Ecuador. not the easiest to get to due to Quito's one way system, and a little daunted at first as it's basically a blue door onto street. But once inside.... quaint & eclectic place with lots of interesting artifacts ...including a Red telephone box!! Mere stones throw from central square so very easy to get to all good restaurants. Would recommend over the large corporate hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kevin592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Very comfortable updated historic B & B, within walking distance of most of the Old Town sights. Helpful staff available at all hours. Good breakfast, and courtesy coffee, etc. periodically. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jenifer888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.7 km away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
0.4 km away
Hotel San Francisco de Quito
0.4 km away
Hotel Real Audiencia
Hotel Real Audiencia
#38 of 113 in Quito
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Plaza Grande
Hotel Plaza Grande
#31 of 113 in Quito
305 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#10 of 113 in Quito
1,238 reviews
0.2 km away
Carlota
Carlota
#14 of 113 in Quito
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Relicario del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Relicario del Carmen

Address: Venezuela 1041 y Olmedo, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range: RM503 - RM689 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Relicario del Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly historic house, dating back to 1705 has just opened it??s door as a hotel with 18 comfortable rooms. It is beautifully renovated with great emphasis on the original details and has all the comfort expected today, including a central air conditioning system. All the furniture is handmade by recognized Ecuadorian artisans and many original paintings decorate public and private areas. You will live in a real historic surrounding. The hotel is definitely declared non-smoking. It is located a block away from the main square "Plaza de la Independencia", the Government Palace and very close to many historic monuments of Quito. We also have an exclusive dining room and coffee-shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel El Relicario del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Relicario Del Carmen Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing