We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional, small hotel, very well situated.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel El Relicario del Carmen
Ranked #41 of 116 Hotels in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Very traditional in style, spotlessly clean with good service and a good breakfast. The hotel is small, not much storage space in the rooms, all a little cramped. No tea/coffee facilities in the rooms.

Room Tip: Some rooms have no external window and just overlook the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Avril G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2016

This hotel is in a restored mansion in Old Town, Quito. While the hotel is quite pretty and the breakfast was delicious, I don't think that I would stay here again.

First, our room could have use some improvements. The bathroom in our room was odd. It was very small and not in the theme of the room nor was it modern -- it felt like what you might find in a cheap hostel. Plus, the water pressure and temperature were all over the place. In addition, the mattress felt old and I've never seen flatter and less comfortable pillows.

Second, the part of Old Town that the hotel is located in does not feel safe. People frequently report muggings, the buildings are covered in graffiti and almost all of the nearby shops are closed by 6pm, making it frightening to walk in the neighborhood in the evening.

Third, the front desk staff was not especially helpful when it came to recommending nearby restaurants and attractions or calling cabs, which would take a very long time to arrive.

All in all, given the price of this hotel, I was fairly disappointed. If I am in Quito again, I will just stay at one of the big brand hotels in a nicer part of town.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TBinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relicarm, Gerente at Hotel El Relicario del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Sorry for your negative experience in the old town of Quito. You stayed in a colonial house built in 1705. We are glad you liked in general the hotel and the breakfast.
All our mattresses are new and of a semiorthopedic type. Thanks for staying in our hotel and if you come back to Quito please give us a chance to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile



Nos quedamos aqui en familia- 2 ninos chiquitos y nos gusto mucho el hotel. El lugar esta buenisimo para conocer el Centro de Quito. Di solo las 4 estrellas porque el precio me parecio alto por el lugar.

Hay que decir muchas gracias a Marisol y Alfonso por ayudarnos tanto durante nuestro alojamiento en el hotel. Todo estuvo muy bien- el desayuno riquisimo, y con toda la selecion de frutas, jugos, tortas. Que chevere q pasamos y esperamos hospedarnos de nuevo algun rato con ustedes!

We stayed here as a family and really enjoyed this hotel. Location is great for the old town and being in the bustle of Quito life. I would have given 5 stars but it was pricey I thought for Quito.

Must say thank you to Marisol and Alfonso for all your help during our stay at the hotel. Everything was wonderful, the breakfast delicious- with the fruits, juices and breakfast pastries. We had a memorable stay and will come back again next time!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank cactuscaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016

This is a lovely place to stay. The place is full of antiques and art works, the rooms are lovely, the staff are charming. Great breakfasts. You're five minutes walk from the Grand Plaza. It's certainly expensive, but it's a wonderful, quiet, civilized place to stay.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank JMF32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016

We had a wonderful experience with this hotel from start to finish. We arrived at midnight and made previous notification to the hotel to ensure they could accommodate us at this late hour. A friendly staff member was there to greet us, welcome us, and get us settled into our room. The friendly and helpful service continued throughout our stay (and we checked out at 3:00 a.m.). Alfonso had already arranged for our cab ride and helped load our luggage. Alfonso also made us a delicious breakfast each morning and was there in the afternoons for a snack or drink. I don't think Alfonso ever sleeps! We felt perfectly safe in this hotel and were very pleased with the accommodations. The friendly staff really made our stay enjoyable. The hotel is an easy two blocks from Plaza Grande, local shops, and eateries.

Room Tip: We were happy on the bottom floor but I think most of the rooms were on the second and third floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GINA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quito hotels
0.7 km away
La Casona de la Ronda Heritage Boutique Hotel
0.2 km away
Carlota
Carlota
#13 of 116 in Quito
110 reviews
1.2 km away
Boutique Hotel Mansion del Angel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Real Audiencia
Hotel Real Audiencia
#39 of 116 in Quito
343 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Patio Andaluz
Hotel Patio Andaluz
#10 of 116 in Quito
1,264 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Plaza Grande
Hotel Plaza Grande
#30 of 116 in Quito
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Relicario del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Relicario del Carmen

Address: Venezuela 1041 y Olmedo, Quito 170150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Pichincha Province > Quito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Quito
Price Range: RM 498 - RM 764 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Relicario del Carmen 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly historic house, dating back to 1705 has just opened it??s door as a hotel with 18 comfortable rooms. It is beautifully renovated with great emphasis on the original details and has all the comfort expected today, including a central air conditioning system. All the furniture is handmade by recognized Ecuadorian artisans and many original paintings decorate public and private areas. You will live in a real historic surrounding. The hotel is definitely declared non-smoking. It is located a block away from the main square "Plaza de la Independencia", the Government Palace and very close to many historic monuments of Quito. We also have an exclusive dining room and coffee-shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel El Relicario del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Relicario Del Carmen Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing