We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
89
40
8
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
40
8
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstwo blocksold townyogurtboutique hotelmain plazathe ground floorcolonial housecab driverhistoric centerthe hotel staffvenezuelafurniturebasilicaantiquescabs
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2016

This hotel is in a restored mansion in Old Town, Quito. While the hotel is quite pretty and the breakfast was delicious, I don't think that I would stay here again.

First, our room could have use some improvements. The bathroom in our room was odd. It was very small and not in the theme of the room nor was it modern -- it felt like what you might find in a cheap hostel. Plus, the water pressure and temperature were all over the place. In addition, the mattress felt old and I've never seen flatter and less comfortable pillows.

Second, the part of Old Town that the hotel is located in does not feel safe. People frequently report muggings, the buildings are covered in graffiti and almost all of the nearby shops are closed by 6pm, making it frightening to walk in the neighborhood in the evening.

Third, the front desk staff was not especially helpful when it came to recommending nearby restaurants and attractions or calling cabs, which would take a very long time to arrive.

All in all, given the price of this hotel, I was fairly disappointed. If I am in Quito again, I will just stay at one of the big brand hotels in a nicer part of town.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TBinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relicarm, Gerente at Hotel El Relicario del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Sorry for your negative experience in the old town of Quito. You stayed in a colonial house built in 1705. We are glad you liked in general the hotel and the breakfast.
All our mattresses are new and of a semiorthopedic type. Thanks for staying in our hotel and if you come back to Quito please give us a chance to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile



Nos quedamos aqui en familia- 2 ninos chiquitos y nos gusto mucho el hotel. El lugar esta buenisimo para conocer el Centro de Quito. Di solo las 4 estrellas porque el precio me parecio alto por el lugar.

Hay que decir muchas gracias a Marisol y Alfonso por ayudarnos tanto durante nuestro alojamiento en el hotel. Todo estuvo muy bien- el desayuno riquisimo, y con toda la selecion de frutas, jugos, tortas. Que chevere q pasamos y esperamos hospedarnos de nuevo algun rato con ustedes!

We stayed here as a family and really enjoyed this hotel. Location is great for the old town and being in the bustle of Quito life. I would have given 5 stars but it was pricey I thought for Quito.

Must say thank you to Marisol and Alfonso for all your help during our stay at the hotel. Everything was wonderful, the breakfast delicious- with the fruits, juices and breakfast pastries. We had a memorable stay and will come back again next time!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank cactuscaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016

This is a lovely place to stay. The place is full of antiques and art works, the rooms are lovely, the staff are charming. Great breakfasts. You're five minutes walk from the Grand Plaza. It's certainly expensive, but it's a wonderful, quiet, civilized place to stay.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank JMF32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016

We had a wonderful experience with this hotel from start to finish. We arrived at midnight and made previous notification to the hotel to ensure they could accommodate us at this late hour. A friendly staff member was there to greet us, welcome us, and get us settled into our room. The friendly and helpful service continued throughout our stay (and we checked out at 3:00 a.m.). Alfonso had already arranged for our cab ride and helped load our luggage. Alfonso also made us a delicious breakfast each morning and was there in the afternoons for a snack or drink. I don't think Alfonso ever sleeps! We felt perfectly safe in this hotel and were very pleased with the accommodations. The friendly staff really made our stay enjoyable. The hotel is an easy two blocks from Plaza Grande, local shops, and eateries.

Room Tip: We were happy on the bottom floor but I think most of the rooms were on the second and third floors.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GINA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016

Beautiful boutique hotel in historic "El Centro". Rooms were on the smaller side, but very clean and comfortable. They are tastefully decorated in an historic style. The included breakfast was excellent! The staff, especially Tarquino, is always pleasant and very helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews