We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food, Excellent Service & Great Location”
Review of Theatrum

Theatrum
Ranked #70 of 1,371 Restaurants in Quito
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Ecuadorean, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant is located in Quito's Historical Center on the second floor of Sucre National Theater, Cultural Patrimony from the XIX century, an expression of renaissance classicism. In the entire second floor it is located the most important restaurant in Quito, THEATRUM Restaurant & Wine Bar that offers an extraordinary menu of the vanguard Mediterranean cuisine. One of our emblematic dishes is the Grilled tender octopus with mixed greens, cherry tomatoes, garlic tossed in pesto vinaigrette. Our classic Ecuadorian prawns on the grill with avocado mousse and tomato fondue.
Florida
Level Contributor
253 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Amazing Food, Excellent Service & Great Location”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Theatrum is located in the National Theater distric in all over its second floor including the terrace.Theatrum offers an extraordinary menu of the vanguard Mediterranean cuisine, where seafood, fish, meat, birds and ducks combine with fine aromatic herbs and local and imported ingredients. The servers and staff stayed in view of our table through our full meal to offer us the best service, anything we needed was there in a flash! Many options to choose from, but the best part is that you dont need to take a taxi or bus there, when you call to make your reservation just ask them for transportaion , they will pick you up and drop you back off at NO CHARGE!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelthroughmyeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    107
    37
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great restaurant but empty”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We were picked up and dropped off from our hotel, and had a very good tasting menu at the restaurant. The food was excellent but there was way too much; we should have ordered a la carte. It was the night before New Year's Eve and maybe that is why there were so few customers- but they missed a very good meal.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Retired_and_Going
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South & Central America
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Upscale and fine dining over a theater in colonial Quito”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Touted as one of the best in Quito - we were not disappointed! Situated on the second floor of the Teatro Nacional Sucre. The setting was magnificent. First opened in 1867 in Quito's Old Town at Plaza del Teatro Manabí, this old theater added to our culinary experience. Entering Theatrum Restaurant and Wine Bar we were surprised with an exquisitely set table and excellent service. The fresh local and imported ingredients used along with aromatic herbs and spices made for delicious cuisine. I had a salad of Cured goat cheese (monte-caprino), lettuce, prunes & macadamia nuts that was simply wonderful and a beef tenderloin with foie gras folded in with sliced Portobello, all roasted with plentiful thyme, fresh spinach & beef jus - I can taste it now! You'll need reservations as it fills up fast. I highly recommend it for fine dining.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank GrahamBlaikie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“GREAT RESTAURANT”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

This is quite elegant, situated inside of the Teatro Nacional Sucre a building that is itself a great site to visit. I found out that the drinks are outstanding and the food excellent. Good service, quite expensive, but it is worth it. I certainly recommend it.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank ARTCOLLECTOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
139 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Strickly top of the line perfect in every way”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Have been to a lot of restaurants in my day, but was very surprised at the quality of service, the presentation of food, the variety of selection, and the quality of the food itself. Totally one of the finest restaurants I have ever eaten in. It isn't the cheapest, but it is a place you will always remember. I had the cream of wild asparagus soup, the Shin of Veal which was truly wonderful, and the medley of fruit sorbets and ice cream for desert. Service just couldn't be any better

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toberua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Theatrum also viewed

Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Theatrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing