We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old-style hospitality matching a historical city”
Review of Hotel Crespo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Crespo
Ranked #29 of 62 Hotels in Cuenca
Reviewed 19 January 2017

We had stayed there while working in Ecuador in the 1980-ies. We found the place almost exactly as it was back then and enjoyed this midrange hotel with perfect service and decent prices. Staff very helpful and polite. The breakfast room overlooking the river is an experience in itself. We liked the solid wooden furniture and panelling in the rooms. And the location was perfect as the tramway works had made hotels in the center hard to reach by car. One of the few hotels in the old part of town with its own car park, as others may send you to paid parking several blocks away. .

Room Tip: Rooms on top floors at back of building, have best view and sound of river obliterates noise from ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justino D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Crespo-Cuenca, management assistant at Hotel Crespo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017


We appreciate your comment, that makes us even more committed to you, we look forward to your return

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2016

Stayed during recent 3 day visit to the lovely city of Cuenca. Hotel Crespo is a good medium class hotel with very good location, close to the city centre, with nice bars and restaurants close by. Very good views from high floor rooms. Limited bar-& restaurant facilities.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunnar E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-Crespo-Cuenca, Management assistant at Hotel Crespo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

We greatly appreciate your comment, that will make us improve on the things you mention I hope that the next time you come to the city we will take into account your concern
regards
Andrés Hurtado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We have stayed at the Hotel Crespo many times over the years and it has always been a relaxed and enjoyable experience. Decent prices for comfortable rooms furnished with style. It is close to all the Downtown amenities and by the river. Go for an early morning walk along the river; it will help de-wrinkle and un-stress.

Room Tip: Ask for a third floor room facing the river. These are older, nice and away from Calle Larga that t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Though well located, this hotel is not only old (and kitsch!) but really outdated. The wooded rooms are clean and oldfashioned. This is Agoust and we face a painstaking dilema: sleeping in a freezing room or turn on the heating and no sleeping at all, as the heating system makes an horrible noise!
The breakfast is rather bad, the service is slow and the dining room is always crowded so we decided to have breakfast outside the hotel... Luckily, Cuenca is full of excellent cafes!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank olgacruzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

As with many hotels in the historic district, this hotel is old and has a certain charm to it that is different from any other hotel. This is the charm of Cuenca in general.

Crespo did seem a bit disjointed though in the layout and the feel of the rooms. Our room looked at an interior square that was very small (not appealing). The rooms were clean, but sparse and not cozy or charming in any way. The bed and pillows were comfortable.

The best part was the restaurant, which served an American style breakfast with coffee, juice and assorted breads. The service was good as was the view of the river and newer part of the city.

The location is good, being only a few blocks from the main square and steps to the river below for walking on the river path.

The wifi was descent.

Depending on pricing, there may be better options, depending on what one is looking for. But, if you are looking for a good location, clean facility and good service, Crespo should not disappoint.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Inca Real
Hotel Inca Real
#18 of 62 in Cuenca
125 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#46 of 62 in Cuenca
134 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Boutique Carvallo
Hotel Boutique Carvallo
#12 of 62 in Cuenca
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
San Rocke House
San Rocke House
#35 of 62 in Cuenca
12 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel La Casona
Hotel La Casona
#21 of 62 in Cuenca
119 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel El Conquistador
Hotel El Conquistador
#43 of 62 in Cuenca
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Crespo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crespo

Address: Calle Larga 7-93 | Cuenca Ecuador, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 62 Hotels in Cuenca
Price Range: RM274 - RM380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Crespo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most classic and emblematic hotels in Cuenca, with many years providing our services, which guarantees the satisfaction of our guests. Characterized by the details of the city's culture in its corridors, privileged location in the historic center, comfort of its rooms and personalized service. In our restaurant you will find delicious options with fresh ingredients and of the highest quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Crespo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crespo Hotel Cuenca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing