We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely friendly place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco
Ranked #12 of 401 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

I stayed in Samay Wasi I based on tripadvisor reviews and I wasn't disappointed. I stayed there before and after visiting Machu Picchu and my luggage was kept secure whilst away. I stayed in two different single rooms with private bathroom, and would recommend staying on the top floor, as you hear noise through the wooden floors during the night when guests go off on their various tours/treks. Monica is extremely helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Recommended.

Room Tip: Upstairs is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DidiYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    119
    31
    7
    3
See reviews for
21
171
52
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights prior to our inca trail trip in a private room. It is very basic here, but there are at least 4 thick blankets on the bed changed every day, hot water, the most helpful staff who collect you from the airport. 3 nights private cost us 70 dollars. Can not beat this place!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freyjabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

72 soles for a double room with a private bathroom, including breakfast (the hostel accepts dollars)

This hostel is great however it is very expensive. Therefore I only stayed for two nights before I moved onto a cheaper hostel, of the same quality as I wanted to spend about two weeks in Cusco. (There are plenty of similar hostels for a lot cheaper all around Cusco. Please check this blog out for information).

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was small, it probably had the smallest shower I’ve ever been in but it was fantastic. The shower was incredibly hot and powerful, exactly what you want in Cusco because it’s freezing!

There is free wifi but not in the room I was in.

There is a roof terrace with seating. There is also a comfortable inside lounge area.

The breakfast was bread, butter, jam, coffee or tea and a juice. You could also pay extra to add on eggs or order more.

The main problem I had with my room was that it was absolutely freezing. It was one of the outside rooms with unsealed windows and a large gap underneath the door so the cold air came in easily. This made my stay very uncomfortable. You would probably have a completely different experience if you had a room inside the main house, it would be much warmer.

I would only recommend this hostel if you got a warmer room inside the house. Also on a backpacking budget 72 soles is far too expensive. Throughout my two months in Peru I only ever paid 50 soles for a double room with a private bathroom. I know people will say it’s more expensive in Cusco and I would’ve agreed. But when I wandered the streets I found plenty of decent hostels offering double rooms for 50 soles. You just have to look for them because they are not the hostels with websites. (I moved to Mirador Hostel just off Avenida del Sol, it was 50soles for a double with private bathroom & breakfast).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

I stayed here for four nights in total. All the staff were so friendly and helpful! I stayed in a dorm style room that had a large bathroom attached with hot showers. There was internet connection upstairs. They even let me leave my baggage there free for a few days when I went to visit Machu Picchu. Any questions you have Monica or one of the other staff there will be happy to answer and show you where to go. I'd definitely recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in Cusco. The hostel is located in the San Blas neighborhood, which means you're going to be walking up lots of stairs and hills to get back to your room. The bonus of that is there are few cars in this neighborhood, making it very quiet and peaceful in an otherwise busy tourist town. The room was a little funky (sink held up with re-bar, one wall of the room was actually the hillside cemented in with rocks, etc) but it was clean, we never ran out of hot water (there was even hot water in the sink!) breakfast was good, wifi signal was decent (had to be outside of our rooms to use it). The staff was very helpful and spoke some English.

My only complaint is that it was a bit cold, and the rooms could have a been a bit better insulated, but that's to be expected in winter time.

I would recommend this hostel for travelers on a budget looking for some serenity!

Room Tip: The lower level rooms are a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slm125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.8 km away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#104 of 162 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.8 km away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 401 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
1.3 km away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 401 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#6 of 401 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.4 km away
Supertramp Hostel Cusco
1.0 km away
LOKI Cusco
LOKI Cusco
#8 of 401 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco

Property: Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco
Address: Calle Atoqsaycuchi No 416 - San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 401 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price range (per night): RM49 - RM146
Hotel Class:2 star — Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samay Wasi is located in The turistic San Blas neighborhood, in a small hill which give us an amazing view of the city, 10 minutes walking distance to Plaza de Armas, close to restaurants, pubs, souvenirs stores, etc.Personalized service that will make you feel like home.We offer you private and dorm rooms with private bathroom, 24 hours hot water, included breakfast, internet access (WiFi), kitchen facilities, luggage storage and pick-up from the airport or bus station to Samay Wasi when the booking is for two or more nighrts. Laundry service and tourist information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing