We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely place, lovely people.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta
Ranked #79 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place, lovely people.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

I stayed for five week from june untill july 2011. from the moment Laura met me at the airport I felt very comfortable at home. During my whole time there if I had a problem, it would be fixed immediately. The rooms and en suite are cleaned every day, and the whole place was spotless.
The staff were happy to organize tours and a hotel in a another city if it was needed.
I loved my time there, it's more of a home away from home than a hotel!
Ask luis to teach you how to make a Pisco Sour!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BGriffith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    90
    33
    9
    9
See reviews for
30
94
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

I spent 8 weeks in Hostal Girasoles while gaining work experience at a hospital in Cusco. The hostel is located on a quiet street (without traffic) around 5 minutes walk from the Plaza de Armas. It was great being so close to the centre of the city, yet without the 24/7 noise of taxis buzzing up and down the street.

When I arrived in Cusco, the friendly Laura picked me up from the airport. The personal welcome and complimentary cab ride from the airport was very much appreciated. Furthermore, I was welcomed with a hot cup of coca tea when I arrived at the hostel, to help with my altitude sickness. The hostel’s owner Mercedes greeted me by saying ‘I will be like your mother for the next 8 weeks, please let me know if there is anything I can do to make your stay more comfortable’.

The staff at the hostel - Laura, Luis and Rodrigo – where very helpful with organising tours, recommending safe places to eat, and in helping me organise transport to other destinations in Peru & throughout South America. They were above all very honest. I strongly disagree with the previous comment left on trip advisor by ‘smason4’ regarding the ‘dishonesty’ of the staff. They are all very honest, and were like family throughout my stay.

The hostel is always very clean, and the housekeeping staff are very friendly and hardworking. Showers were reliably (very!) hot, and the ensuite to my room always clean. Fast Wi-Fi Internet is available on all 3 floors, and even on the roof, so that you can check your emails while enjoying the view over the whole of Cusco. The roof is also a great place to enjoy an ice cold Cusquena (local beer).

A fresh continental breakfast is served every morning, and basic cooking facilities are available should you wish to cook your own meals throughout your stay.

Hostal Girasoles was a great place to stay, and I highly recommend it to all people planning a trip to Cusco.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Palm0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

I had high hopes for Hostal Girasoles based on the reviews; however, I was quire disappointed in the quality of my week long stay.

The Pros: The hostal is relatively clean. The staff is friendly, unless there is a problem.

Cons: Lots of dog feces and even a dead animal in the alley way where the hostal is located. Leftovers from breakfast are reused so there were a few hairs in the butter, dirt on the rolls, etc.

The noise is horrible. Roosters, the night manager's guitar/parties, the maid slamming doors, etc. I was on the 2nd floor and could here every word spoken in the first floor lobby. I also stayed on the third floor. It was a bit better.

The main reason I am leaving such a poor review for this hostal is because of the dishonesty of the staff. Let me explain: The hostal will try to sell your tours of surrounding areas. I told them specifically that tours were not in my budget and I would be exploring the area myself. “No problem,” they assured, “the tours are included in the priced of the tourist ticket.” (The tourist ticket is a voucher good for access to a dozen or so historical sites) Since I was already planning on purchasing the tourist ticket, I agreed to go on the “included” tours, which ended up being awful. One tour was cut short because the guide was uncomfortable in the weather, and I had to translate for English-speaking visitors in the other “English” tour. Anyway, the main point is that the hostal tried to charge me an extra $180 for 4 tours (over 500 soles!) upon my departure. They were very rude about the situation and insisted that I was “so silly” for thinking the tours were included. Because they had blatantly lied to me when they said the tours were included when I initially refused them, I did not pay the $180. Instead, I filed a report with the tourist police, who insisted I should not pay the extra charge, and left immediately. Of course, I paid the agreed upon price for the room before departure.

I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Inspired_Traveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercedesCusco, Gerente at Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
It is the first time that some guest calls us "dishonest" I think no where in the world the tours that include professional tourist guide , tourist bus and a buffet lunch in one of them, for 2 people along a week coul be "included in the room rate, mostly when this rate is usa$40 for 2 people, breakfast included.
The tours were developed along the week , visiting the most important archeological sites .
Sounds so difficult to understand, why you stay with us, without any complain during your stay, only at the check out time you did not want to pay for the services.
We allways accept the suggestions of our guest to improve our service and we are well rewieved by the people who stayed with us and we can not accept the tittle of "dishonest" because we work according to the rules and we try to be clear since the first moment, when we pick the tourist up at the airport, we are recognized as a helpfull staff instead as "dishonest".
I only want to suppose that it was abig misunderstanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

OK value for money. Extremely friendly people who will come pick you up at the airport

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anachoune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
163 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

As stated by others it's a little ways from City Center (about 2 blocks), however the walk is very interesting and easy. They have a little kitchen that you can use and they prepare a small breakfast for you in the morning. The staff is very helpful with other travels in the area. I was on my way to Machu Picchu and they happened to have another hotel in Ollantaytambo so I was able to set up a room there no problem!
A little noisy trying to sleep towards the back with a rooster chicken crowing in the middle of the night!

Room Tip: Get a room towards the front otherwise you will hear the chickens crow al night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.9 km away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#105 of 162 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
1.6 km away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#66 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#36 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hotel Inkas Inn Cusco
Hotel Inkas Inn Cusco
#118 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.5 km away
Yanantin Guest House
Yanantin Guest House
#88 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.1 km away
Antares Mystic Hotel
Antares Mystic Hotel
#82 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta

Property: Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta
Address: Calle Pantaccalle 388, San Blas, Cusco 084, Peru (Formerly Hostal Girasoles Cusco)
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cusco
Price range (per night): RM111 - RM200
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta, formerly Hostal Girasoles Cusco offers private rooms with cable TV, sun terrace and free Wi-Fi. It is a 5 minute walk from the central Plaza de Armas of Cusco. Rooms at Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta has a rustic decor, heating and private bathroom with hot shower. The rooftop sun terrace offers spectacular panoramic city views. La Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta also offers a tour desk where you can arrange city tours and visits to the nearby Inca ruins. An American breakfast is served daily in the dining room. Furthermore, the property is within walking distance of bars and restaurants where you can eat and nightlife. The hostel is a short walk from the bus station and 10 minutes drive from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAE Travel Pte Ltd, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Girasoles Cusco Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing