We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“good hotel. great location. awesome comforters!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Andenes al Cielo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Andenes al Cielo
Ranked #4 of 325 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
118 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“good hotel. great location. awesome comforters!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

our small group had stayed at andenes al cielo for two nights after returning from our inca trail hike and machu picchu. the front desk receptionist seemed to be a bit harried when we arrived as a group around 9 pm. but we eventually got to our rooms. one couple asked to be moved to a different room, and that request was accommodated right away without questions. several in our group had commented that they loved the comforters - which was toasty comfortable. the showers in the bathrooms had a strong and hot flow. probably one of the nicest showers we had for most of our stay in peru. the breakfast was standard (and similar to other hotels in peru that we had stayed at). four people had left laundry to be done, however one laundry load was overlooked - which was upsetting. and that couple had to wear their last set of clothes for 3 days before being able to do laundry (in puno). the front desk staff had apologized for the oversight. the hotel's location was excellent. in a quiet street, but not too far from plaza armas. and several doors away from jack's - a great restaurant not to be missed. overall, the group did enjoy their stay at this hotel, and they have indicated that they would like to stay again if they're to return to cuzco.

Room Tip: the rooms on upper floors (e.g. 2nd or 3rd) would offer a bit more privacy than those on the first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d240i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    124
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
97
188
40
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed at Andenes Al Cielo twice - once before our Lares Valley trek and once afterwards. The accommodation is wonderful. The email communication was excellent and responsive. Once we checked in, we were able to get some coca tea and the room was clean and cozy. The rooms did get a little chilly at night, but with the extra blankets and space heater, it was fine. The shower was good, the bathrooms clean. The breakfast was nothing to write home about, but it's included and nice to have something in your stomach before going out for the day.

So why the 3/5 review? I don't like to be tricked. I understand that as American tourists in these countries we're expected to pay higher prices or premiums - that's fine. But when we needed to do laundry and it happened to be on a Sunday, and the desk girl pretends to help but leads you to places that don't exist because she wants you to bring the laundry to their laundry service.....it is not just frustrating but a waste of our precious vacation time. We then gave in and asked her what the price was (pretty expensive for Peru), weighed it, and then handed it over. When we got our clothes back (TIP: always catalog what you put in, weigh it before it goes, and check when you get it back) the price was significantly higher from the originally quoted price. Actually, the weight mysteriously tripled. We protested and had her weight it again and it was totally off from what was written. You couldn't even argue difference in scale calibration or whatever. It was corrected immediately, of course, but the trickery was unacceptable.

Perhaps it was the third-party laundry service. Perhaps it was the hotel hoping we wouldn't notice. Either way, as a customer, the hotel is just as guilty - the girl at the desk knew (she looked sheepish when we caught the "error"), she was hoping we wouldn't notice. What should have happened is the girl should have stopped the laundry service from their sneaky ways since she knew we measured it before hand. It's more damaging to get caught, in my opinion.

It's too bad, I feel like I'm being generous with the 3/5 after that experience.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SDCHIK2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
france
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

I found this hotel when I was walking down the street and thought it would be too expensive for me. I was delighted to be offered a pretty single room with double bed for 45 dollars. The hotel is set around a courtyard and has a little roof terrace with rooftop views. There is a fireplace in the lobby. It is decorated in a classic style, stone walls, lovely old tiled floors- charming.

The staff is so welcoming and helpful, especially Estephany who was so kind after a horrible experience with a local tour operator, TOUR PERU ABROAD WHO CHEATED ME and ruined my visit to Machu Picchu (paid for a nice hotel in Aguas Calientes but they tried to put me in a hostal not fit for an animal etc....didn't provide me with transport prepaid by me....real scam artists, Beware).

Anyway, Andenes al Cielo is a lovely place to stay, very central.

Would have given it 5 stars except the wifi came and went from my room and the water was only just hot enough. And Cusco is cold and wet in January!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mitey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

My husband & I stayed here whilst we were in Cusco. The staff were so lovely. I was very ill with Soroche (altitude sickness) and they were really helpful & explained that I just needed to get through it & that I would get better which at the time I though would never happen. There was also a very helpful chemist next door.
Out bedroom was very sweet with a clean en-suite. Breakfast was good & tasty. They kept our bags in a safe room whilst we did the Inca Trail and when we got back we were able to give them all our dirty clothes which they cleaned for us (this was extra on top of accommodation).
The location I thought was perfect we were close to everything including the San Blas Quarter as well as the main square where there ere banks & ATMs. On the same road as the hotel is a perfect place to eat called Jacks Cafe which served everything from smoothies to bugers from salads to pancakes & maple syrup which made a nice change if you wanted a break from the Peruvian cuisine.

Room Tip: I managed to see most of the rooms by being nosy and they were all nice. The ones on the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NB2_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

We have stayed at Andenes al Cielo for 4 nights during our visit to Machu Picchu.

Location is perfect as it is only a 3 minutes' walk from the main square, so it is very close to the main attractions and restaurants. It is a 20 minutes' cab ride away from the airport (10 Sol, around £2,50). At the end of the street you can find the tourist route leading to Sacsayhuaman, a beautiful Inca site (walking 20-30 minutes). The building is charming with strong Spanish influences. The courtyard is very impressive with the different levels and the stonework on the exterior of the breakfast room. The hotel is very well maintained and clean. The roof garden has great views over Cusco and it is a perfect place to sip your cocoa tea (complimentary at reception).

We had a few glitches with our booking. First of all, our booking stated that a representative will pick us up at the airport but they were nowhere to be seen. We arrived with an early flight and when we rang the hotel nobody picked up for 30 minutes. 45 minutes later we managed to get in touch with the reception and they sent us a cab. Secondly, I booked the delux room via WHL Cusco but when we got to the hotel the room wasn't available. We had to stay in a standard room for the first night and we were promised to move to the deluxe room the next day. Very disappointing, but the Javier tried to accomodate us as much as he could.

The standard room was clean but small as you would expect. The delux room on the other hand was excellent. Fireplace, fresh flowers, windows looking at the street and the room was very spacious. There are two double beds in the room - both a bit tight for two people - but it gets so cold at night that you better share one bed. Tip: make sure you take lots of warm clothes with you as when the temperature goes below freezing at night the rooms get very cold. Also, there are only 3 hairdryers at reception that can only be borrowed for a short period, so my recommendation would be to take a travel hairdryer with you. There is a computer with internet access in the reception room.

The breakfast was delicious and the omelettes were made to order. A selection of fresh fruit, bread, ham, jam and cereal were also available. The staff was very nice and helpful.

Apart from the hiccups with our reservation this is an excellent choice to stay in Cusco.

Room Tip: Definitley go for the delux room. It will be the best £20 you have ever spent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zedlux, Owner at Andenes al Cielo, responded to this review, 22 January 2012
Dear Nora:

Thank you so much for your very kind and detailed review of our hotel. We very much regret the complication regarding your first night's stay with us. Javier did apprise us of the matter at the time and we have since improved our coordination with WHL. Also, we wanted to let you and our other guests know that this year we will be adding a central heating system to the hotel to imrove comfort. We are very pleased you enjoyed our deluxe rooms so much despite the chilly mountain nights. We hope you come and visit us again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Tony and Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
2.1 km away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 161 in Cusco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Rumi Punku
Hotel Rumi Punku
#17 of 161 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.8 km away
Ninos Hotel
Ninos Hotel
#26 of 161 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Tierra Viva Cusco Plaza
0.2 km away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.1 km away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#33 of 161 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andenes al Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andenes al Cielo

Property: Andenes al Cielo
Address: 176 Calle Choquechaca | Barrio San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 325 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price range (per night): RM396 - RM413
Hotel Class:3 star — Andenes al Cielo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Andenes al Cielo, a boutique hotel situated in the charming artisan’s district of San Blas, in historic Cusco. A short two blocks from the main plaza, our comfortable and well-appointed 15 rooms offer a distinctive level of comfort combined with an Andean hospitality that will inspire a truly memorable stay. We invite you to enjoy our hotel’s colonial ambiance, modern amenities and many custom services tailored to your travel needs. Our friendly staff awaits you here in the imperial city of the ancient Inca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, AAE Travel Pte Ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your Andenes al Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andenes Al Cielo Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing