We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mirador del Inka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mirador del Inka
Ranked #286 of 410 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

This hostel is well located in San Blas but there are better ones in the neighbourhood than this. We stayed in a double room which was ok, although the bathroom could be cleaner. In general, we felt there was a clear lack of attention to details from the staff: broken curtains on the windows, no shower curtains in some bathrooms, no lock on the door of the shared bathroom. Also there is a travel agency run from the hostel with a guy who really wants you to get one of his tours and doesn't seem very happy when you say you're not interested. In consequence we couldn't get any other type of information (we actually wanted to do a tour by ourselves and needed info on public transportation but he didn't help us).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie3511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    13
    8
    13
    21
See reviews for
5
25
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

We were forced to stay a night in this dump after the hotel we booked somehow lost our reservation. The two owners were said to be friends. I doubt this was a bait and switch, and was mostly an honest mistake, but it was too late at night to look for a new place and we stayed.

I don't know where to begin with the problems with encountered in that one night. First, when we arrived around 11 PM there was no service to be found. Some other guest knocked on doors for me to find someone who could bring us toilet paper. That guest said that he wasn't sure the hotel provided it. Really? No toilet paper?

Didn't seem to matter because what we got ended up soaked because the shower curtain was a mere flimsy sheet of plastic that did not prevent water from flooding the bathroom and spraying the walls, as well as filling the crumbling holes in the plaster and sending roaches scurrying. I was scared because the electrical outlet was also hanging on for dear life. Bad news all around.

At 8 AM we were up the next morning looking for somewhere new and ended up at the lovely Amaru Hostal two blocks away. Sure that place was 50% more money, but it was 1000% better experience.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mattf71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cusco hotels

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2011

There are tons of places to stay in San Blas, Cuzco, but this is one of the cheapest we could find and it was an ok value. It was fairly big with patios and a lounge, but the kitchen was not usable and it's website makes it seem a lot more beautiful than it is. That being said, the rooms were nice enough with thick blankets and private bathrooms-not much hot water though! All around a decent place for the price.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pachamoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

Dear members of this travel comunity,
my boyfriend and I are on a 2 months trip in Peru. Peru is a marvelous country. We are a very cheer couple, but now we feel quite bitter.
We already knew that accommodations in the Mirador del Inka hostel were very basic. Still we were very surprised about the lack of proper service and the lack of cleanliness. Normally we are not the type of persons to complain about these matters on the internet.

What we do find very important is the problem that occured yesterday, which is the reason why we left the hostel:
1. It seems that there are not much foreign travellers staying at this hostel. Most of them are locals, a bit of the dodgy type. Probably for the cheap price.
2. They have different prices. Foreigners like us had to pay more. Very anoying if you believe in equal rights for all.
3. The owners stimulate foreigners, especially the ones who speak English, to deposit messages on very respected traveler forums like this one. They offer a free night in a matrimonial room in return. We believe this is totally not done, with respect to the people using these froms and the owners of the forums who work hard to provide trustworthy information.
4. Because of the fact that we refused to play their game, we were refused internet access at their hostel (1 Sol per hour). Also other things started to go wrong with a guy with a big head called Harry. Not sure if he is an employee or one of the owners.

We are now staying at the Amazon Trail Hostel, run by a very friendly German lady. The hostel is just 50 meters from the Mirador del Inka. The day after tomorrow we go to the Manu Jungle with Amazon Trail, the jungle operator of the hostel. Good energy here.

Enjoy the beautiful things in life, love and peace,
Helen

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenAckerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South America
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

We have stayed 4 nights in Mirador del Inka and we had a good time! Owner Edwin is a very friendly person and helped us well on planning our trip to Machu picchu. The rooms are basic, but clean. The location is perfect, and just a few minutes walk from nice restaurants. Maybe not everything is perfect, but the friendly people and the good atmosphere made it a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan-Marije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.9 km away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#110 of 163 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.4 km away
Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta
0.6 km away
Hostal El Chaski
Hostal El Chaski
#249 of 410 in Cusco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hostal Huaynapata
Hostal Huaynapata
#76 of 410 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.2 km away
Hostal Pakcha Real
Hostal Pakcha Real
#154 of 410 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.5 km away
Kurumi Hostel
Kurumi Hostel
#36 of 410 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirador del Inka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirador del Inka

Property: Mirador del Inka
Address: Tandapata 160 San Blas, Cusco 01, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #286 of 410 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price range (per night): RM78 - RM148
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mirador del Inka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing