We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, basic, affordable budget hostal.”
Review of Hotel Espana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Espana
Ranked #35 of 366 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Stayed here many times over. Great location; budget prices; basic but fine rooms. Also, free transport to airport!

In Lima you get what you pay for. I prefer to stay in central Lima cos eating out is cheaper and i like the attractions. Espana isn't perfect, but suits my budget, and is adequate.

Room Tip: some rooms are noisier than others. I prefer to stay at the top, near breakfast and animals ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bwa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2016

The baroque interior of this old mansion looks very nice on the pictures. Unfortunately the whole hotel needs a complete renovation.The location is very good, next to all major tourist attractions in the old town. The rooms are not expensive but you get only an average quality. Little advice: Ask to get a room on the second floor. The rooms on the 3rd and 4th floor are a little bit old/smelly and smaller. Plus don't forget your earplugs. Breakfast not recommendable.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jean-Marc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

Like most travelers, we read reviews. Even we, experienced professionals and long time travelers could not be prepared for this joint.
On check in, our room wasn't ready. We are taking 8 pm at night. No problem, we helped the nice receptionist put sheets on the bed.

Out tumbles pills and trash. Ok. Whatever.

So we put the bedspread on. Full of stains. It's fine, we are here 2 nights and that's it. We will waste more time looking for a place than enjoying Lima.

Right?

WRONG.

We had only been in the room for a few seconds when I realized that the area above the door was in fact, an opening. And the "window" above that Was as well. Ok.

We are tired, we will change rooms in the morning. My wife slept with her clothes on.

Bad on us right?

Next morning, we decide to just make the lost of it so we don't waste our time. Come back an hour later because we ate bad ceviche in Huaraz. Open the bedroom door... We are blocked in. Completely.

Ok.... How can this get worse???

So we leave... Come back... STILL BLOCKING OUR ROOM.

No notice of work... So fine... Whatever....

Well.. They come back... And lock us in our rooms.

We talk to them, wedge our way out.. Receptionist had 20-30 gringos she's dealing with so we can't talk to her.

An hour later, my stomach discomfort kicks in...

I come back to the room... Not only do I have to shimmy past, ask them to move....

Someone has dropped a major deuce in the room.

I don't mean.... Like when we were there.... I mean .... Someone dropped stuff all over the bathroom, there's hand prints on the second opening...

Stuff, dirt and piss all over the bathroom and seat. Toilet paper? Gone. Smell? Still potent.

So I try to do my biz and leave... Locked in. Still.

I haven't even gotten to the horrible beds etc. etc.

Look at my reviews. It takes a lot to make it onto my bad side.

I only gave this place 1 star because that was the lowest option I could give it.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Offlately
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016

The hotel is an old period mansion house full of reproduction paintings and statues. Very different and pretty cool. 45s private room with shared bathroom


The rooftop terrace is large and pleasant to sit out on. There are peacocks and tortoise to keep you company!

Quite quiet place to sleep considering it is in the middle of Lima.

Lady on reception speaks good English

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2016

Centrally located within walking distance of historic Lima. Colonial style 3 floors with a 4th up the spiral staircase overlooking the roof top terrace. Ornately framed mirrors & artwork, statuary & crystal chandeliers and a pair of peacocks and tame tortoises. Plus human skulls in a glass case as a quirky nod to the catacombs of the Iglasia San Francisco across the street. Comfortable rooms, dorms as well as private with hot water showers. Stayed twice, first upon arrival then again upon departure after 6 weeks of travel, transportation arranged to and from airport. Travel agent on sight, Axel very helpful and good service during our stays. Breakfast available. Great fun!

Stayed: February 2016
Thank clamar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lima hotels
Cercado de Lima
Hotel Paris Lima
Hotel Paris Lima
#102 of 232 in Lima
106 reviews
Hotel San Antonio Abad
#32 of 232 in Lima
952 reviews
Cercado de Lima
Gran Hotel Bolivar
Gran Hotel Bolivar
#77 of 232 in Lima
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Continental Lima
#58 of 232 in Lima
420 reviews
Cercado de Lima
Kamana Hotel
Kamana Hotel
#177 of 232 in Lima
207 reviews
Cercado de Lima
1900 Backpacker's Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espana

Address: Calle Azangaro 105, Lima 00001, Peru
Region: Peru > Lima Region > Lima > Cercado de Lima
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 366 Speciality Lodging in Lima
Price Range: RM99 - RM169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing