We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Highlights of Our Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Urubamba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Sol y Luna is a very special, magical place. The decor is unique and memorable, the food outstanding but the best part is the service approach of the staff. There was a slight mix-up during our check-in which was speedily rectified but the entire staff from the General Manager Juan Carlos to the hotel manager to the young, extremely polished French intern Malo who took care of us continued to go out of their way throughout our visit to compensate for the slight delay.

We also were impressed by the business philosophy of the couple who own the hotel. Profits from the operation are channeled to the Sol y Luna school for poor children across the street from the hotel. You can feel good about staying in the lap of luxury for a good cause. The best of all worlds.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Marjorie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolyLunaRC, Gerente at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Marjorie,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at our Relais & Châteaux property and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

We were truly delighted to learn that we exceeded your high expectations from our staff, with their efficient personalized service level.
We are especially proud that you appreciated the many special touches that we did to personalize and care of you.

We will look forward to having you stay with us again and remain at your service.

Sincerely.

Andrea Valdivia
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 37 of 1,438 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed here during a tour of the Scared Valley and it was a lovely oasis of calm after spending the day visiting the many inca sites around the area.

We made use of the outside hot tub which was really relaxing and very warm but the swimming pool was a bit too cold for us - wimps I know!

We stayed in a very nice small chalet with a private terrace overlooking the surrounding mountains, which was nice to sit out during the evening looking at the stars.

The room didn't have a TV which is not a bad thing as it was nice to relax without it but the lack of coffee making facilities was a bit of a let down. We asked at reception about getting a coffee, where then directed to the bar and charged 26 sol for 2 white coffees - bit of a cheek

We enjoyed evenings spent at the ranch bar sat by the roaring fire with a cheeky pisco sour to round off the day, drinks were a bit expensive compared to local bars but the atmosphere certainly made up for that.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dayle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolyLunaRC, Gerente at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing to experience the Sol y Luna Relais & Chateaux and for taking the time to share this review. We are all very happy to read that you enjoyed the feel of the property.

We appreciate your feedback regarding our prices as well, we work hard to keep all the facilities in top conditions and rewarding our staff to give a really good service, sometimes this comes with inevitable costs that cannot be translated into cheap rates. We hope you leave thinking that was worth spending a bit more for a nice experience.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future!

Yours sincerely,
Andrea Valdivia
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

We stayed here for two nights between stays in Cusco and Machu Picchu. We normally prefer hotels in the middle of cities, but the slightly rural setting of this hotel made a change. We arrived quite late (on a Saturday) and after checking in etc, we wandered around a bit and couldn´t find anyone at all in the grounds. We immersed ourselves in the outside jacuzzi (quite pleasantly hot) and had a swim in the outdoor pool. We then encountered 2x Americans who said that everyone had eaten early and then gone to bed! Odd, but must have been true - at least it was on that day, as next day, there were plenty of people around.

Accommodation is in casitas or rondavels in the extensive grounds and are large and well-equipped, except that the rooms are (fashionably?) ill-lit, except for the bedside lights. There is no TV, but the internet is very good. Rooms have heaters and hot water bottles available. We declined these on the first night and were surprised to find two in the (large) bed on the second night, as It wasn’t really that cold outside.
The bathrooms are large and well-furnished. An odd feature is that you are instructed not to put toilet paper into the toilet, but to put it in the waste bin beside the loo. This is then cleared frequently, so is not a problem.

The breakfast buffet is excellent and the dinner we had (in the fine-dining restaurant) was superb. The staff were helpful and welcoming.

On Sunday there is a big local market in Pisaq, which is around 21 miles away. Following a suggestion from our Saturday guide, we took local buses there and back. This was quite simple, safe – and cheap at just 3 soles each in each direction, so a total transport bill for the day of 12 soles, around USD4. We enjoyed the market and had a light lunch etc in Pisaq.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Peter3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolyLunaRC, Gerente at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind review. It's very rewarding to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was to your liking.We appreciate your feedback regarding the staff, the food and for explaining to the trip advisor community about the sorroundings so well, it is always good to have different options of non conventional tours.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future!

Yours sincerely,
Andrea Valdivia
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here two nights before we moved to machu picchu.
beatiful ground to relax, horse show in the afternoon.
Hot water bottle in the evening to keep bed warm
Excellent and delicious breakfast, Gourmet and casual dining.
Helpfull and experienced staff.
Hope they keep up standards

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Hamdi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolyLunaRC, Gerente at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your spectacular review! We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for taking your time to write about your experience in our property and for sharing your kind comments about the quality of service, food offered and staff kindness.

Regards,
Andrea Valdivia
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Sol y Luna is a fantastic hotel in the sacred valley of the Incas. It has one of the most beautiful gardens I've ever seen, with great staff and a delicious breakfast! It was a wonderful experience to stay in Sol y Luna for a few days.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gabriel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SolyLunaRC, Gerente at Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear Gabriel,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your most valuable opinion about Sol y Luna Hotel.

We are thrilled to know that you appreciated the overall service offered by our Maison and we hope to have you again soon.

Best Regards,
Andrea Valdivia
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Urubamba hotels
2.0 km away
Tambo del Inka, A Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Valle Sagrado
1.9 km away
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
Belmond Hotel Rio Sagrado
#2 of 29 in Urubamba
788 reviews
6.8 km away
Casa Andina Premium Valle Sagrado Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Aranwa Sacred Valley Hotel & Wellness
10.1 km away
Explora Valle Sagrado
Explora Valle Sagrado
#1 of 29 in Urubamba
203 reviews
0.5 km away
Inti Nan Hotel
Inti Nan Hotel
#9 of 29 in Urubamba
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux

Address: Fundo Huincho Lote A-5, Urubamba 069, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Sacred Valley > Urubamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Urubamba
#2 Business Hotel in Urubamba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Urubamba
#4 Spa Hotel in Urubamba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Urubamba
Price Range: RM758 - RM2,274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique property is an intimate 43-casitas hotel within 328,000 square feet of beautiful gardens surrounded by archaeological attractions, and many opportunities of outdoor activities.We have 15 high end luxury casitas like that one which have private terraces and plunge pools overlooking the gardens. They all have an entry porch, foyer, living room and are equipped with heating floor system and fireplace.All the decoration of the casitas is based on the art work of renowned Peruvian artists such as Jaime Leibane and the beautiful frescoed murals by acclaimed artist, Federico Bauer which makes them all really special and unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol And Luna Lodge & Spa
Sol & Luna Hotel Urubamba
Sol Luna Urubamba
Sol y Luna - Relais & Chateaux Peru/Urubamba, Sacred Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing