We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax on Island Time”
Review of Sunset Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunset Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Avarua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2013

After a hectic 2 weeks in New Zealand we arrived in the Cook Islands for a spot of R &R. Hotel is located on a beautiful sandy beach, with safe bathing with great snorkelling (equipment provided). Rooms were comfortable and the pool was welcoming, as were the two bars (happy hour 5-7) Staff were friendly and helpful and the food was fine with entertainment some nights. A relaxing holiday, with enough to do on the island when you have finished chilling!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davidlowe46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2013

Kia Orana David, lovely to get your feedback. Yes the Sunset Resort is a great place to relax and unwind especially after some hectic travelling. It is nice to read you just chilled out when you wanted to but was able to also enjoy what the island has to offer.

We trust you had a safe and not so tiring trip back to the UK and hopefully one day you may visit our beautiful shores again.

Meitaki Maata.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

436 - 440 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2013

My Husband and I landed at the Sunset Resort on our Travel Agent's recommendation. We stayed the week before Christmas, and it was so wonderful. After touring Australia, we were very grateful to be in one spot! The room was beautiful, clean and very comfortable. The kitchen facilities were much appreciated, but also not necessary as the food at the resort was good. We loved grabbing some snorkel gear, and hitting the lagoon out front. We had excellent recommendations for other snorkel spots, and the service received from Kimmie, was outstanding. Stephanie in the restaurant deserves a special thanks also!

The pools were clean, and the Drum Beat Bar was more fun that we expected. The resort was quiet due to the impending Christmas rush, and also the slower season. Those of us who were staying here ended up forming an impromptu community. The Bar was a great place to get together, laugh, and share stories. We thoroughly loved our time here.

We can attest to the Management's dedication to maintenance, quality, and maintaining the resorts beauty.

We will absolutely be back, and would stay here in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms will not dissapoint, but poolside rooms are close, cheaper, and still very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fish_Swim_Play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2013

Kia Orana Fish, Swim and Play. Sounds great doesn't it? Your comments are much appreciated, thank you very much.

We will pass on your feedback to Kimi, Stepanie and the team and they pride themselves in making our guests stay here a happy and memorable one.

Meitaki Maata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This was our 3rd stay at the Sunset Resort. We have usually had a poolside room and found them a bit noisy and too close to the road. The aircon did not work and it felt like a motel unit but the lovely staff and no children policy and proximity to the beach kept us returning . This visit we splashed out and got a beach front room.

WOW!

Definitely a case of location location location!
We loved it.

The picture above is the view from our room.

I liked the triple doors (first sliding mosquito barriers then lockable glass sliding doors and finally lockable bifolds with louvres.). This meant we could sleep with the mosquito doors shut, the bifolds shut (but the louvres open). This let cool air through the room without having to have the aircon on. It also had a back door so during the day we had the doors open and cool breeze wafted through.

The restaurant (not the Drum Beat bar) has a great cocktail - snickers fountain - like alcoholic peanut butter icecream. Divine.

The beach is wonderful.

Go there - get a beachfront room, have a snickers and relax.

Room Tip: Stay on the beachfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karenholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

This Jan/13, will be my forth consecutive trip to the Cook Islands and the fifth stay at the Sunset Resort. All the employees, as well as many town folk, know me as PaPa John, a term of endearment, bestowed upon me, which I cherish. Kaei and Jamie, two of the front end staff, look after my needs every year and treat me almost like a King. This service is not just alloted to myself, for all the guests are given equal treatment. The rest of the staff are equally giving of themselves, to make your stay the ultimate experience. The Cook Islands/Islanders take me back to my childhood, some 60 odd years ago, when a community had values, shared love and peace to one another. Walk down the main street in Avarua and look at the residents, heads held up, sparkling eyes that make contact with yours, pass a smile and/or a greeting - Yes even the teenagers, boys included.
But I venture from the Sunset, with all its marvellous attributes. Rooms are being continually upgraded, even the beach front has been extended, with plenty of palms, lounges and hammocks to soak up the sheeer beauty of the island. I believe any guest who posts a disapproval of the resort, has come expecting a fast paced type of vacation, filled with phony glitz and glitter. Those who can truly appreciate the magnificence of this country and its people,will enjoy themselves, beyond belief and never want to leave.

Room Tip: Well the waterfront rooms are the ultimate, but the poolside ones are nice for those who prefer to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We came here for our honeymoon. Loved the idea of a no kids policy! It was very quiet- which was awesome having the pool to yourselves, I would imagine in the peak season it would get busy. We stayed in a pool-side room which we took a couple of steps to dive in the pool!

The room was nice, easy to cool and comfortable. We were in contact with staff each day organising activities and trips- they all were more than happy to help us! If they see you in town they will even offer you a ride back!

The onsite restaurant we found to be the best value out of everywhere else we had tried and yummy too! Would have loved to try dessert each time but the main meal was sooo big! The bar was good and happy hour was fun meeting others in the complex.

We really enjoyed everything about our stay and we will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank je55ykah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
11.2 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
7.1 km away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
569 reviews
6.9 km away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
3.7 km away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
168 reviews
0.6 km away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Resort

Address: Ara Tapu | Nikao, Avarua, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Avarua
Price Range: RM774 - RM1,120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Resort is a 3.5 star property and is idyllically situated on the sheltered western side of the island only minutes from Avarua township. The secluded beachfront location provides guests with an unspoilt view of Rarotonga's crystal clear aqua blue lagoon and breathtaking sunsets. This personally managed, privately owned resort has an intimate atmosphere that will make every guest feel welcome and ensure they experience the magic of Rarotonga and its people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunset Hotel Arorangi
Sunset Hotel Arorangi
Sunset Resort Rarotonga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing