We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$127
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$106/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Club Raro(Avarua)
US$115
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Edgewater Resort & Spa(Arorangi)(Great Value!)
US$238
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$266
US$241
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$271/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel(Titikaveka)(Great Value!)
US$221
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$267
US$258
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (716)
Filter reviews
716 results
Traveller rating
456
203
38
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
456
203
38
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanchorage restaurantbeach frontdrumbeat barbeachfront roomreef shoesonsite restaurantbbq nighthappy hourpalm treescook islandsour honeymoonsmaller poolrestaurants within walking distanceyogurtroad noiserental carsunday night
Filter
Updating list...
483 - 488 of 716 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2013

My Husband and I landed at the Sunset Resort on our Travel Agent's recommendation. We stayed the week before Christmas, and it was so wonderful. After touring Australia, we were very grateful to be in one spot! The room was beautiful, clean and very comfortable. The kitchen facilities were much appreciated, but also not necessary as the food at the resort was good. We loved grabbing some snorkel gear, and hitting the lagoon out front. We had excellent recommendations for other snorkel spots, and the service received from Kimmie, was outstanding. Stephanie in the restaurant deserves a special thanks also!

The pools were clean, and the Drum Beat Bar was more fun that we expected. The resort was quiet due to the impending Christmas rush, and also the slower season. Those of us who were staying here ended up forming an impromptu community. The Bar was a great place to get together, laugh, and share stories. We thoroughly loved our time here.

We can attest to the Management's dedication to maintenance, quality, and maintaining the resorts beauty.

We will absolutely be back, and would stay here in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms will not dissapoint, but poolside rooms are close, cheaper, and still very nice.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fish_Swim_Play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadiseRarotonga, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2013

Kia Orana Fish, Swim and Play. Sounds great doesn't it? Your comments are much appreciated, thank you very much.

We will pass on your feedback to Kimi, Stepanie and the team and they pride themselves in making our guests stay here a happy and memorable one.

Meitaki Maata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This was our 3rd stay at the Sunset Resort. We have usually had a poolside room and found them a bit noisy and too close to the road. The aircon did not work and it felt like a motel unit but the lovely staff and no children policy and proximity to the beach kept us returning . This visit we splashed out and got a beach front room.

WOW!

Definitely a case of location location location!
We loved it.

The picture above is the view from our room.

I liked the triple doors (first sliding mosquito barriers then lockable glass sliding doors and finally lockable bifolds with louvres.). This meant we could sleep with the mosquito doors shut, the bifolds shut (but the louvres open). This let cool air through the room without having to have the aircon on. It also had a back door so during the day we had the doors open and cool breeze wafted through.

The restaurant (not the Drum Beat bar) has a great cocktail - snickers fountain - like alcoholic peanut butter icecream. Divine.

The beach is wonderful.

Go there - get a beachfront room, have a snickers and relax.

Room Tip: Stay on the beachfront!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karenholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

This Jan/13, will be my forth consecutive trip to the Cook Islands and the fifth stay at the Sunset Resort. All the employees, as well as many town folk, know me as PaPa John, a term of endearment, bestowed upon me, which I cherish. Kaei and Jamie, two of the front end staff, look after my needs every year and treat me almost like a King. This service is not just alloted to myself, for all the guests are given equal treatment. The rest of the staff are equally giving of themselves, to make your stay the ultimate experience. The Cook Islands/Islanders take me back to my childhood, some 60 odd years ago, when a community had values, shared love and peace to one another. Walk down the main street in Avarua and look at the residents, heads held up, sparkling eyes that make contact with yours, pass a smile and/or a greeting - Yes even the teenagers, boys included.
But I venture from the Sunset, with all its marvellous attributes. Rooms are being continually upgraded, even the beach front has been extended, with plenty of palms, lounges and hammocks to soak up the sheeer beauty of the island. I believe any guest who posts a disapproval of the resort, has come expecting a fast paced type of vacation, filled with phony glitz and glitter. Those who can truly appreciate the magnificence of this country and its people,will enjoy themselves, beyond belief and never want to leave.

Room Tip: Well the waterfront rooms are the ultimate, but the poolside ones are nice for those who prefer to step out their door and take a dip. Note, there are two pools.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We came here for our honeymoon. Loved the idea of a no kids policy! It was very quiet- which was awesome having the pool to yourselves, I would imagine in the peak season it would get busy. We stayed in a pool-side room which we took a couple of steps to dive in the pool!

The room was nice, easy to cool and comfortable. We were in contact with staff each day organising activities and trips- they all were more than happy to help us! If they see you in town they will even offer you a ride back!

The onsite restaurant we found to be the best value out of everywhere else we had tried and yummy too! Would have loved to try dessert each time but the main meal was sooo big! The bar was good and happy hour was fun meeting others in the complex.

We really enjoyed everything about our stay and we will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank je55ykah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

I travelled to Rarotonga with 3 friends for my 40th Birthday and stayed at the Sunset Resort. We stayed in a pool view room which was very spacious for the 4 of us and we didn't feel like we were on top of each other. It was a very relaxed atmosphere and really quiet at night which made for a good nights sleep. The reason we stayed there was because of the "no kids" policy. It was also in a good location as we walked to restaurants every evening and tried something different every night. Thankyou to the staff for making this a comfortable and memorable trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank statsmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews