We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort in Paradise”
Review of Sunset Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunset Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Avarua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Stayed in a Garden-view room for 7 days, first time in Rarotonga for our Honeymoon. Beautiful gardens, ten steps to one of the two pools. Clean amenities. Beds were really soft (might appeal to some). Free tropical continental breakfast at the Anchorage Restaurant. Great snorkeling in the lagoon, and hammocks and beach chairs to watch the sunset, or whales cresting in front of the resort. Friendly service, even allowing us a late check out of 6pm for our late flight out. Enjoyed the BBQ on Sunday at the Anchorage. A slice of paradise. Caters for children over the age of 12 and encourages noise to be kept down from 10pm. Unfortunately, there were some loud, obnoxious tweens/teens staying with their parents that killed the ambiance at times.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JB20172018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunset R, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Kia orana

We value your feedback and the time you have taken to write your review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed many of the aspects of the resort. Our no children under 12 policy is part of what makes the Sunset Resort popular with guests. It is unfortunate to read that some guests and their parents are not as considerate of other guests wanting to enjoy the peace and relaxation that the resort offers. We can provide a beautiful location and a well appointed resort but can not always control the inconsiderate behaviour of others. I am glad to read that you were still able to enjoy our slice of paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 664 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2017

The Sunset Resort adds to the great experience of spending time in paradise.
The facilities are well maintained and the staff are so welcoming and helpful you couldn't ask for more.
After a day out exploring the paradise that is Rarotonga the Sunset Resort is an extremely pleasant relaxing place to return to where you can enjoy watching a great sunset over the lagoon from the beautiful white sand beach.
you are bound to rate it as a place well worth returning to - as we do.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Smileeone2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

Great place to stay staff are extremely friendly and accommodating the food at anchorage restaurant is excellent and staff are so friendly and helpful. The resort is handy to everything the rooms are clean even though it's fully booked there were never times when it felt full it's a very roomy resort.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Corey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunset R, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Kia orana

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. travel safe and we hope to see you back again at the resort for your next stay on the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

We stayed at this resort in late July/early August, and had one of the beachfront units. We really recommend beachfront if you are able to get it - so private and just a short walk across the lawn to the beach, which we have to say was kept immaculate by the gardener . As the area tends to be a little rocky, you had to pick your way a bit carefully into the water, and when you go for a stroll along the beach, you can see why the resorts put such effort into raking the beach and removing any rocks. The only negative thing we discovered was there were small bits of glass (from bottles; green and brown) in the sand more noticeable than we'd have liked - rather a shame, we felt.
On the subject of the resort itself, we really could not fault it. We were treated with utter professionalism by everyone from the moment we were picked up at the airport. Robyn and Christina at reception were amazing, always ready to help; Dawn and her team at the Anchorage restaurant took good care of our meals and drinks from the bar, not to mention the Sunday night dinner and show. We really loved Tani and Rose for their smooth musical tunes to accompany the meal that night.The other smaller Drumbeat bar was a frequent stopping point at 5 each night for cocktails outside our unit and huge thanks to Candace for making them all so enjoyable- particularly the Pina Coladas! Best I had whilst in Raro. The gardens around the resort were kept in tip top order by the gardening staff, and the housekeeping staff were always polite, pleasant and professional.
The weather for the majority of our stay was fine and hot, so much better than what we left behind in New Zealand. As for those sunsets, we have dozens if not over 100 pictures to remind us what a great place Rarotonga is and already planning our next visit.

Room Tip: Book early if you want the beachfront units. They're expensive but worth it. Away from the walkw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank R_and_CMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Our beachfront bure enabled us to get a good view of the lagoon and the open sea beyond. It was roomy with a well appointed full kitchen and many cupboards.
We arrived on a Sunday, a widely observed rest day in the Cook Islands. The room servicing had obviously been rushed. Small ants were thick, the air conditioning did not work, one window louvre was broken, the swimming pools were full of leaves and debris.
On Monday the airconditioning was fixed, the pools were cleaned but the broken louvres were not repaired during our stay. Differing receptionists gave us different information. Despite these limitations the Sunset Resort was a well located and pleasant spot at which to stay.

Room Tip: I would always prefer a beachfront villa with its pleasant sunny patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GrahamChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunset R, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Kia Orana

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Sunday is considered a day of rest and family for local Cook Islanders and we do not have a grounds person working that day. I am glad we were able to respond on Monday morning to your air conditioner issue. We do have replacement louvers on order but unfortunately they have to be sourced off Island and deliver time frames are beyond our control. We do hope you enjoyed the Island and come back to stay with us again

Travel safe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
11.2 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
7.1 km away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
566 reviews
6.9 km away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
0.6 km away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
3.7 km away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Resort

Address: Ara Tapu | Nikao, Avarua, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Avarua
Price Range: RM778 - RM1,094 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Resort is a 3.5 star property and is idyllically situated on the sheltered western side of the island only minutes from Avarua township. The secluded beachfront location provides guests with an unspoilt view of Rarotonga's crystal clear aqua blue lagoon and breathtaking sunsets. This personally managed, privately owned resort has an intimate atmosphere that will make every guest feel welcome and ensure they experience the magic of Rarotonga and its people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunset Hotel Arorangi
Sunset Hotel Arorangi
Sunset Resort Rarotonga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing