We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very best of Rarotonga”
Review of Sunset Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunset Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Avarua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2018

I spent allot of time researching hotels for my recent trip to Rarotonga. I chose The Sunset Resort and could not have been happier. Booked via Expedia but received
a personal confirmation from the hotel. I communicated with the reservation department a couple of times before arrival, always receiving prompt courteous replies. Upon arrival at the Airport in Rarotonga we were met with a lei greeting and transfer to the hotel by Kimmy. Super friendly Kimmy took us right to the hotel and had our room keys waiting for us. We were allowed a early check as our flight from Los Angeles arrives at 6AM . We stayed in an ocean view/front studio. the Room had 2 Twin Beds,sitting area,Large screen TV and outdoor patio with furniture overlooking the beautiful beach. The room has a well appointed Kitchen with Dining and Cookware. Kettle along with Coffees, Teas, Assortment provided. Kitchen also had cook top, Micro and Nice size Frig. Bathroom was Large and Fresh towels always provided.Large Beach towels were also provided. Rooms had modern quiet mini split type AC units which kept the rooms very comfortable. Breakfast was provided daily and consisted of cereals, assortments of fresh fruit, baked breads and toast, coffee teas and fruit juices as well. It was served in the Anchorage Restaurant which serves a hot breakfast as well. Full lunch and dinner served 7 days a week. Anchorage staff very accommodating and food is excellent. Make sure to participate in the BBQ Sunday if you can. Excellent Spread ! and Local Musicians do a great job at entertainment.
I took my daughter for this special trip and on the long plane ride home we talked about how great this hotel was and that we could not find anything to fix ! We very much hope to return one day. Thank you everyone at the Sunset for making our stay so wonderful !!

Room Tip: Ocean view Rooms are just a few dollars more , do the upgrade !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 677 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

It was our fifth visit to Raro but the first time we’d stayed at the same place for a second time. We weren’t disappointed.
We were greeted at the airport and taken directly to our room as it was too early to check in.
The restaurant was excellent for breakfast and even better for dinner. Don’t miss the BBQ on Sunday night with a local musical trio and dancing.
The rooms are spacious and cleaned daily (except sundays).
All the management and staff are friendly.
The view and the lagoon are fabulous.

Stayed: November 2017
2  Thank potblak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

First impression, very well manicured and maintained. Rooms were nice but not 5 star nice. Restaurant food was okay but not great. This is a 3 star resort at best.

Now for the bad. My room 34 was extremely noisy. The road that ran behind it I think was louder inside than out. Roosters crowing at 5 am and chickens having a fight or sex or something was not welcomed. I stayed in room until 7 am only to find out restaurant does not open until 7:30. No coffee

The people were nice. Rooms clean. Alright for one night but not a vacation.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Brian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunset R, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia orana

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We do appreciate all feedback. Our island roosters are a very necessary part of natures life cycle here as they keep the tropical bug population under control. They do how ever have issues with telling the time. We receive excellent reviews on the Anchorage restaurant so we were very surprised to read your comments. We will how ever ensure that your feedback is given to the restaurant management . You have commented on the Sunset resort as a 5 star you will see from our website an all of our advertising we self rate at a 3.5 star and have never claimed to be a 5 star resort - however again many of our guest have commented that they rate the Resort as a 4 star. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your one night stay with us and perhaps the “fit “ was not right for you. We do hope that you enjoyed the rest of your Cook Island experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Lady shuttle driver who picked us and up and dropped us off was just lovely and bubbly, apologies i never got her name. Room was nice and clean and check in was easy. Most staff were lovely and i thought the complimentary breakfast was nice, especially the banana bread! Loved that it was a small resort and was quiet and the beach was so close where the hammocks were so cool as was the snorkelling. Would definitely stay again. The lady at check out could have been a bit friendlier but overall a nice play to relax.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank m0riaty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

Wow!
Arrived early morning (after 13 hours of flying time and a 4 hour layover) and we were fortunate our room was ready.
We were told that we were not permitted to eat breakfast that day in the restaurant. No problem, we had done our homework and walked across the street to the bakery and had a great breakfast.
Later we realized that we could have ordered off of the menu.

Rooms were quite spacious and just as described on website.
Had cooking facilities but we never used it.
Tropical breakfast was included.
Took us a couple of days to adjust to Island time with the roosters. Roll over and back to sleep.
Our package included a 3 day car rental.

Jamie in reception was very helpful in providing/guiding us in tour information etc. (Air Raro and the concert Aar Dhyna). Thank you. It was fun!
All staff are very pleasant and warmly greet you every time they see you. Kia Orana!

The beach is what we came for and we were not disappointed!
At times, we had it all to ourselves. Lots of shade if you wanted it. Great location to see the sunset and even saw a whale on our first night. Snorkelling was really good!

Arrived on a Sun. and thus had the Sun. night buffet. Small selection but plenty of food to eat.

The Anchorage restaurant served excellent food. Loved the oysters, tuna and the fish of the day. Tomato soup with blue cheese was good as well. Complete with an excellent red wine from New Zealand.
Tried Alberto's restaurant next door and it is very good as well.
A 30 min. walk down the road finds you at Castaways - another great place to watch the sunset. Loved the lamb yakatori.
About a 20 minute beach walk and you can stop at the Waterline for a very refreshing Passion fruit Mojito.
In town, stop at the Palace on a Wed. for happy hour prices for burgers ($3.50) until 8:00 p.m..
Trader Jacks serves up some good pizza (snack size is perfect).
The New Place - tuna sliders were great!
Do try the Mooring Cafe in Muri for a fish sandwich. Delicious!
Have fun at the Muri night market. Lots of food choices.
The Drumbeat Bar was under a renovation but they moved it to the grass area - so still it was relaxing and catch up with other tourists and their adventures of the day.
Do shop the Sat. market for souveneirs and a wide variety of lunch choices. My favorite was the ika mata (raw fish in coconut milk).

About a 10 minute walk from the resort going ante clockwise is an Electric bike rental place (Tik-e bikes). (for more info. contact Info@tik-etours.com)
Highly recommend. Costs about $40.00 NZ for a 24 hour period. The bike can go around the island twice without being recharged. Great way to see the island.

Highly recommend Air Raro and take the day trip to Aitatuki for $469.00 NZ. They pick you up on the road for the very short drive to the airport. No long lines for a security check in. 45 min. flight to Aitatuki. Had an awesome guide Ali. The beaches are out of this world. Survivor 2006 was filmed here. Snorkelling was really good here as well and we saw different kinds of fish.

Most definitely would recommend the Sunset Resort.

Room Tip: If you can afford the beach view... go for it. Garden view is just fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank scandles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunset R, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia orana

Wow you have written a very detailed review that I am sure will be very helpful to other guest coming to the Island. Thank you for taking the time to do this. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back again soon.

Metaki mata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
11.2 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
6.9 km away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
7.1 km away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
0.6 km away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
11.2 km away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Resort

Address: Ara Tapu | Nikao, Avarua, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Avarua
Price Range: RM 752 - RM 1,065 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunset Resort is a 3.5 star property and is idyllically situated on the sheltered western side of the island only minutes from Avarua township. The secluded beachfront location provides guests with an unspoilt view of Rarotonga's crystal clear aqua blue lagoon and breathtaking sunsets. This personally managed, privately owned resort has an intimate atmosphere that will make every guest feel welcome and ensure they experience the magic of Rarotonga and its people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sunset Hotel Arorangi
Sunset Hotel Arorangi
Sunset Resort Rarotonga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing