We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Club Raro(Avarua)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradise Inn(Avarua)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (710)
Filter reviews
710 results
Traveller rating
450
203
38
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
450
203
38
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanchorage restaurantbeach frontdrumbeat barbeachfront roomonsite restaurantreef shoeshappy hourbbq nightpalm treescook islandsour honeymoonsmaller poolrestaurants within walking distanceyogurtroad noisesunday nightrental car
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 710 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

It was our fifth visit to Raro but the first time we’d stayed at the same place for a second time. We weren’t disappointed.
We were greeted at the airport and taken directly to our room as it was too early to check in.
The restaurant was excellent for breakfast and even better for dinner. Don’t miss the BBQ on Sunday night with a local musical trio and dancing.
The rooms are spacious and cleaned daily (except sundays).
All the management and staff are friendly.
The view and the lagoon are fabulous.

Stayed: November 2017
2  Thank potblak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

First impression, very well manicured and maintained. Rooms were nice but not 5 star nice. Restaurant food was okay but not great. This is a 3 star resort at best.

Now for the bad. My room 34 was extremely noisy. The road that ran behind it I think was louder inside than out. Roosters crowing at 5 am and chickens having a fight or sex or something was not welcomed. I stayed in room until 7 am only to find out restaurant does not open until 7:30. No coffee

The people were nice. Rooms clean. Alright for one night but not a vacation.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Brian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunset R, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

Kia orana

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We do appreciate all feedback. Our island roosters are a very necessary part of natures life cycle here as they keep the tropical bug population under control. They do how ever have issues with telling the time. We receive excellent reviews on the Anchorage restaurant so we were very surprised to read your comments. We will how ever ensure that your feedback is given to the restaurant management . You have commented on the Sunset resort as a 5 star you will see from our website an all of our advertising we self rate at a 3.5 star and have never claimed to be a 5 star resort - however again many of our guest have commented that they rate the Resort as a 4 star. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your one night stay with us and perhaps the “fit “ was not right for you. We do hope that you enjoyed the rest of your Cook Island experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Lady shuttle driver who picked us and up and dropped us off was just lovely and bubbly, apologies i never got her name. Room was nice and clean and check in was easy. Most staff were lovely and i thought the complimentary breakfast was nice, especially the banana bread! Loved that it was a small resort and was quiet and the beach was so close where the hammocks were so cool as was the snorkelling. Would definitely stay again. The lady at check out could have been a bit friendlier but overall a nice play to relax.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank m0riaty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

Wow!
Arrived early morning (after 13 hours of flying time and a 4 hour layover) and we were fortunate our room was ready.
We were told that we were not permitted to eat breakfast that day in the restaurant. No problem, we had done our homework and walked across the street to the bakery and had a great breakfast.
Later we realized that we could have ordered off of the menu.

Rooms were quite spacious and just as described on website.
Had cooking facilities but we never used it.
Tropical breakfast was included.
Took us a couple of days to adjust to Island time with the roosters. Roll over and back to sleep.
Our package included a 3 day car rental.

Jamie in reception was very helpful in providing/guiding us in tour information etc. (Air Raro and the concert Aar Dhyna). Thank you. It was fun!
All staff are very pleasant and warmly greet you every time they see you. Kia Orana!

The beach is what we came for and we were not disappointed!
At times, we had it all to ourselves. Lots of shade if you wanted it. Great location to see the sunset and even saw a whale on our first night. Snorkelling was really good!

Arrived on a Sun. and thus had the Sun. night buffet. Small selection but plenty of food to eat.

The Anchorage restaurant served excellent food. Loved the oysters, tuna and the fish of the day. Tomato soup with blue cheese was good as well. Complete with an excellent red wine from New Zealand.
Tried Alberto's restaurant next door and it is very good as well.
A 30 min. walk down the road finds you at Castaways - another great place to watch the sunset. Loved the lamb yakatori.
About a 20 minute beach walk and you can stop at the Waterline for a very refreshing Passion fruit Mojito.
In town, stop at the Palace on a Wed. for happy hour prices for burgers ($3.50) until 8:00 p.m..
Trader Jacks serves up some good pizza (snack size is perfect).
The New Place - tuna sliders were great!
Do try the Mooring Cafe in Muri for a fish sandwich. Delicious!
Have fun at the Muri night market. Lots of food choices.
The Drumbeat Bar was under a renovation but they moved it to the grass area - so still it was relaxing and catch up with other tourists and their adventures of the day.
Do shop the Sat. market for souveneirs and a wide variety of lunch choices. My favorite was the ika mata (raw fish in coconut milk).

About a 10 minute walk from the resort going ante clockwise is an Electric bike rental place (Tik-e bikes). (for more info. contact Info@tik-etours.com)
Highly recommend. Costs about $40.00 NZ for a 24 hour period. The bike can go around the island twice without being recharged. Great way to see the island.

Highly recommend Air Raro and take the day trip to Aitatuki for $469.00 NZ. They pick you up on the road for the very short drive to the airport. No long lines for a security check in. 45 min. flight to Aitatuki. Had an awesome guide Ali. The beaches are out of this world. Survivor 2006 was filmed here. Snorkelling was really good here as well and we saw different kinds of fish.

Most definitely would recommend the Sunset Resort.

Room Tip: If you can afford the beach view... go for it. Garden view is just fine!
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank scandles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunset R, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

Kia orana

Wow you have written a very detailed review that I am sure will be very helpful to other guest coming to the Island. Thank you for taking the time to do this. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back again soon.

Metaki mata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

If booking this resort and decide to book through Trip Advisor do some research before using Cancelon. They are not a normal booking agency like Booking.com and if you're like me don't like risk, don't think it's worth the stress.
However, very much enjoyed out stay at Sunset. Due to the above mentioned hic up with our booking we ended up shuffling between 3 rooms. All very similar, although the water front one was very pleasant. The snorkling out from the resort is very good, no very deep so you close to lots of fish. Would recommend.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank OutandAboutnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunset R, Manager at Sunset Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Kia orana

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased to read you would recommend the Sunset Resort and did not allow your booking challenge to colour your experience of our little peace of paradise. You can always contact our reservations team directly on welcome@thesunsetresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews