We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Holiday”
Review of Club Raro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club Raro
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Avarua
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Great room, helpful staff, nice pool, overlooks water. Stayed in poolside room, Got a really cheap rate. Be mindful of crossing the international date line. Meals excellent and included in package- Probably too flash for our little kids, but enjoyed by them regardless.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank kelly e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMRES, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Kia orana Kelly,

Firstly thanks so much for reviewing us and providing feedback. You made us laugh when you said "probably too flash for our kids".
We loved having you and your family here and hope to see you again and if you are thinking of returning please contact us on holiday@clubraro.co.ck. We will happily put a deal together for you.

Kia manuia
The Staff and Management at Club Raro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 116 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2016

I'd like to thank Club Raro for a memorable 3 week stay, our two boys keep asking us when we can go back ever since we returned from our vacation :)
Special thanks for upgrading us to an Apartment unit with a kitchenette, this was a must have for us given my wife's special diet and also helped with keeping to our budget. Although we did enjoy the local cuisine on our outings it was great to be able to cook for ourselves on days we had less activities planned.
Our room was kept clean and the towels we had requested to get changed did get changed for fresh ones daily. Yes, you have to pay attention not to leave food outside the fridge as ants swarm it almost immediately and yes, we also found a couple of cockroaches in our room (we found them dead inside the kitchen cabinets so obviously the staff must had sprayed the area with something) but it wasn't for lack of cleaning or the cleaning staff not doing their best. We simply threw them out and made sure we washed everything before using it.
The water in the pool was kept nice and clean, it was a bit cold for some guests but we found it great and refreshing.
Breakfast is the same every day (cereals, pancakes, muffins, yoghurt, YUMMY fruit ...), we found it great given that it was included in the price, which made our stay an even better deal. We were happy with the selection and did not upgrade to cooked breakfast but we saw some other people who did, and for the extra $7 all dishes looked great. We loved the fresh fruit, even my wife who cooked herself her own breakfasts in our apartment unit joined us for the fruit almost daily.
All Staff members were helpful and most of them did so with a smile on their face, I'd like to extend a big Hello to Juita who never missed an opportunity to ask us and our boys about our day and greeted all guests by their name! He left before we checked out from Club Raro and our boys realized that he was missing the very first day!
All considered I'd say that Club Raro is a great, family friendly resort, not fancy but perfect for the budget conscious traveller.
Some recommendations to the management if I may:
1. I think that being on the North side of the Island is a great plus in that guests can enjoy the sunrises and sunsets as well, both of which are spectacular on most days. I feel that this should certainly be advertised.
2. It would be great if there was an advertising board in the lobby that would list the activities for the week to all guests. We found that most guests were not aware of the free Scuba Diving Intro lessons (Tue and Fri) or the Lei making class on Wed.
3. It would be great if you could add more nightly entertainment. The show on the 27th of July was great, more such shows would I believe bring more guests as well as more revenue to Club Raro (dinners served during shows/tickets ...)
Once again Meitaki Club Raro for a wonderful holiday!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Apartments which are great for families. Lagoon front rooms for couples look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SkiPass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMRES, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2016

Kia orana and meitaki maata for you great review.

We really appreciate the comments, feedback and suggestions you have provided. All of this helps us to get better at providing for our guests in ways that matter.
You have also provided really great tips to other travelers which are incredibly helpful. We have shared your review with our team and we just want to again thank you for your honest and down to earth approach towards letting us and future guest know about what Club Raro offers.

Please contact us on holiday@clubraro.co.ck if you are ever considering holidaying with us again and we will happily put a great deal together for you.

Kia Manuia
from all of us here at Club Raro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

My family and i spend 5 nights here last week and had the greatest time ever. The staff are friendly and helpful but very busy......i hope they are paid well. Our rooms were perfect, Clean and functional. Bar service fantastic.....loved the cocktails and food.
Cant understand how these bad reviews appear here.
Club Raro is perfect for a short holiday. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had a lagoon side room......room 54 and 55.....furthest from the pool. Nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank neilauckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMRES, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

Kia Orana Neil,

Thanks so much for your review. We have passed on your comments to the team who really appreciated it. We love it when our guests have a perfect holiday and we would love to have you come back and stay with us again.

Let us know when you are travelling back and we can sort a great deal for you. Contact us on holiday@clubraro.co.ck

Meitaki maata from the team at Club Raro and have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

Kia orana. Club Raro - we'd heard it all, been warned against it, but our travel agent assured us that it had been renovated and is now a nice place to stay. We expected the worst, but could not quite believe what we encountered. Firstly, on our arrival, a lady at reception sold us $50 worth of WiFi each and ensured that the reception was of good quality anywhere in the resort - nope - didn't work anywhere apart from the reception area. When we returned to the office area we were told that this was unusual and had never happened before (reading the other reviews on here I see that was a lie).. after a while of listening to her pretend to be phased, we requested refunds.. "sorry that's not possible because you've used some internet" - which would have been for 2 seconds in the reception logging in. Waste of $50. Every morning at 630am we went to the "snorkel bucket" to find nothing there (booking information stated we had free usage of this during our stay), one mouldy holey blanket in our room (for 2 beds...) - no more blankets available at the office area apparently LOL, woken each morning by workers out the back of our room (which I see club raro has said they've fixed / moved staff area since last complaint, which is far from the truth), no cars or bikes available, and went through a mission to get a simple beach towel... let's not forget the cockroach on the bed. HOWEVER, this is nothing on what happened next... 4th day in on our stay we return to the resort from an outing to find a letter on our bed... please see attached photo below... which told a whole heap of lies about how they were moving us to The Islander Resort (no thanks) due to maintenance issues. We immediately go to the office and ask to speak with manager, as office staff were unable to assist and became very awkward and uneasy when with our enquiry... When the manager arrived we were told a whole heap of lies... She stumbled and mumbled and dug herself a hole. We were told that everyone in our block had received a letter and were moving too, so in the end we packed and prepared to leave the next day. In the morning I decided to ask people in our block (everyone) - none had received a letter. Went back to office, explained, demanded answers, were told after an hour and half of talking that we didn't have to leave and that "the plumber had already completed the necessary work on the rooms". We had a laugh and then continued on our with our stay knowing very well that they had overbooked and targeted us because we were young, were occupying two rooms, and didn't ave children... "youll love the islander resort, it's the party resort!" - sorry sweetie, it's a shack beside the airport. Last day rolls round and a worker comes to our door and says that she's going to start charging us as it was check out time. We'd been told we could stay until 9pm that night (fly out was 11pm). No, we hadn't paid the extra to stay until then, but we were prepared to, but were told that we have both rooms until 9pm that night. Apparently this was all a fault of the lady who checked us in, but you can imagine the inconvenience of being kicked out of your room and having the whole day with nowhere to go and luggage. We were relatively angry at this stage and a lot of the people who we dealt with were extremely rude, and we even overheard 2 of the office workers having a good old yarn about us and laughing -- unbelievable. Talking to others in the resort, they too had been treated unfairly in different ways, and every time we walked through reception area, there were people making complaints. Anyway, I expect to get a reply from the resort that is like the other ones I've read on here - cover ups, but just thought we should let people know. I have been to Rarotonga 3 times and thoroughly enjoy it and plan to continue visiting, however, we will be staying elsewhere.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
6  Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMRES, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Kia orana Anna,

We apologise that Club Raro did not meet your needs, of course we are disappointed with your review and your feedback which we will be looking into. You are insinuating that the team here did not care or were disinterested in you, we have a team that do care for our guests. The staff area has been moved however staff do move around the the resort completing their work. We have a lot of people who love Club Raro and we meet their expectations, we did not meet yours and again we apologise.

When you return to Rarotonga please let us know on holiday@clubraro.co.ck and we will happily shout you to dinner and cocktails. We are not into cover up's so would love to have a chance to sit with you.

Kia Manuia
The Executive Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

Just realised I haven't posted a review yet, I'm only 5 months late, anyway, February this year my husband and I decided to go to Rarotonga for our 10th wedding anniversary. We thought we'd stay at a resort rather than with family this time (we go over every two years for a holiday).
Well we were so impressed with the resort, the facilities, and especially the super friendly staff at Club Raro, that our next trip back we're taking another couple with us so they too can enjoy the Club Raro experience !!
We would especially like to thank Sammy, Sandi, Juita and Wendy for their amazing hospitality and love during our stay. See you all in 2018

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank karah953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMRES, Director of Sales at Club Raro, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Kia orana from the team at Club Raro,

How wonderful to read your review and we thank you so much for taking the time to post. We look forward to having you return to us and have passed on to the staff your great comments.

Plus remember to contact us on holiday@clubraro.co.ck to let us know when you are coming back and we can arrange a great deal for you.

Have a fantastic day
The Club Raro team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
7.8 km away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
6.4 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
7.6 km away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
8 km away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
8.7 km away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Raro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Raro

Address: PO Box 483 | Tupapa, Avarua, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Avarua
Price Range: RM 351 - RM 690 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Raro 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kia orana from all of us at Club Raro, We love what we do and what our resort offers. From the early 1990's we have been delivering great holidays, weddings and events for our guests and we welcome you to our friendly, sensibly priced resort that suits all who want an excellent value for money experience in the Cook Islands. Our stunning views off the lagoon front, make the ideal setting for a fantastic relaxing point for all meals and cocktails.Conveniently located just 5 minutes from Avarua township, 8 minutes from popular Muri Beach, and 10 minutes from Rarotonga International Airport, Club Raro Resort is a great place to base yourself and explore the island of Rarotonga, or take some time out to relax with a good book, refreshing cocktail and the welcoming friendliness that will have you coming back time and time again. Club Raro is a friendly Resort offering 68 guestrooms ranging from Standard Rooms: Comfortable and tidy these rooms offer great value for money. We can configure these rooms to accommodate a queen bed and 2 single beds or bunks. With a small patio for you, a ceiling fan and air con this room type is a great low cost option. Poolside Rooms Framing our pool these rooms are a popular option with a small patio overlooking the gardens and pool area they are a perfect option for couples, families, and group stays. With ceiling fans and air con these rooms are comfortable and we can configure to accommodate a queen bed and 2 single beds or bunks. Self-Contained Rooms these rooms are limited and fill up quickly. A simple and convenient space again another great value room with air-con a kitchenette and a shared courtyard set in the gardens it really works for our budget savvy guests. We can configure these rooms to accommodate a queen bed and 2 single beds or bunks. Our studio apartments are an excellent option for our guests who want a good deal and are perhaps a larger family or a group of friends or someone who is thinking of staying a little longer. We can configure these rooms to accommodate a queen bed and 2 single beds or bunks and with ceiling fans , air con, and a kitchenette your stay is comfortable and affordable. The premium Lagoon front Rooms with a view of the Pacific Ocean these rooms are our premium and well liked by all. They are a studio style bedroom with a Super King bed, with air-con and a spacious bathroom, a private patio that overlooks the sun decks the Lagoon and the Ocean. Heaven! All rooms are comfortable with an interior decor that reflects a Polynesian, tropical influence. All rooms feature:• Air-conditioning • Ceiling fans • IDD phone • T.V• Refrigerator • Tea/Coffee making facilities• Private bathroom with shower • Daily housemaid servicing Self-Contained rooms feature:• Kitchenette (cook top, microwave) • Daily housemaid servicing. RESTAURANT & FACILITIES We think part of the joy of being on holiday is not having to cook so dining out is something we can make easy for you. Our Chef and kitchen staff are talented and have created great menus that offer excellent choices that incorporate fresh local produce. Couple great food with Happy Hours with great deals on Cocktails, Mocktails and beverages your stay at Club Raro is just what we say it is - an excellent value for money experience in the Cook Islands Our Food is delicious and reasonably priced! We have an a la carte Menu running that offers a brilliant combination of local and international food. You can dine in our Palms restaurant or take a table along our waterfront and poolside areas. We also have a Tapa's menu that RUMBA offers from 4pm - 9pm. Club Raro offers plenty of options for you so if you are one of our in-house guests or just decided to pop in and try and our menu we welcome you. If you're lucky during May to October you may see the humpback whales on their migration through the Pacific, swimming right past Club Raro Resort! Guests of all ages will enjoy the convenience of resort facilities and services which include:• Alfresco dining over looking the lagoon • Happy hour daily from 5-7pm Sunday-Friday and all day Saturday, includes $10 cocktails • Swimming pool with swim-up pool bar • Toddlers pool • Car, Scooter or Bicycle Hire• Tour desk • Pool table & Table tennis• Internet booth • Wi-Fi internet access • Currency exchange• 24 hour security • Guest laundry • Postal service • Free on-site parking Also available:• Snorkeling gear • Reef shoes• Tennis equipment For more details, contact our friendly team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Raro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Raro Hotel Avarua
Raro Hotel Avarua
Raro Resort Avarua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing