We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay . Very average . Nothing to write home about”
Review of Hotel Tahiti Nui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Papeete
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 non-consecutive nights once on the way to bora bora and once on the way back.

The hotel is very average for the cost with no concierge, extremely dark hallways and some rooms have quite a strong odour. For overnight stays you are much better off staying at somewhere like the intercontinental next to the airport in Papeete. We made a mistake of booking with this hotel and couldn't be bothered changing after the first inbound stay.

It is not the worst hotel I have seen but definitely far from the best as well in its category.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EliteAmbassador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,075)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 241 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

In a great location if you're just transiting in Tahiti. Really nice modern hotel, I stayed in a suite which is surprisingly large so this hotel would be great for a longer stay too. Good spread for breakfast. Only downfall I'd say is the hallways are oddly dark at night it's a bit hard to find your way!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellove414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We arrived in Tahiti at midnight so we didm;t want to spend a fortunate on what was just a bed for the night. After carefully reading lots of reviews we booked here - and given that some of the reviews are pretty average - this was tentatively! I was pleasantly surprised. The room was a really good size and bathroom was very nice. I already knew that the hallways are dark at night and that there can be a battle with your key card in the lifts. I also knew to book a mountain view room for quietness. That was OK. The room and sleep made up for it. We made the mistake of eating breakfast at the hotel - very hospitable but expensive and average. Next time we will go local. And there will be a next time as I have fallen in love with French Polynesia. However...only one night at Tahiti Nui.

Room Tip: Always get a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travellingbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Booked for 1 night at culmination of a cruise. Went to hotel reception before we left on the cruise and were told we had to book online! Room itself was nice, with good amenities, but cleaning wasn't great, floor tiles in the bathroom needed a good scrub and there was a water stain on the ceiling. Biggest problem seems to be a lack of maintenance, small things which could easily be fixed are just left. Our balcony overlooking the pool needed repairs and paint, and the pool was missing tiles. During the day the pool was taken over by 17 women on exercycles with a trainer and a boombox to the detriment of hotel guests. Impossible to use the pool while this is happening, and no indication about when the classes are booked etc. We had booked an early checkin due to disembarkation time, but the room wasn't ready. We were offered a cup of coffee while we waited, and were then charged for breakfast! Location in Papeete itself is convenient, but I wouldn't want to stay for any length of time, and the staff seem totally disinterested. Also the lobby is very dark - lots of dark wood, and they had no lights on at all - looks like a dark cave.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the pool rather than overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaitkenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Do not spend more than 1 night in this place, if you have a room at the front it is very very noisy. The pool is rented out for fitness training so there are times that you can't use it and it is very exspensive. If you need 1 night over stay it's ok but any more time don't do it. I am not happy as I spent 9 days here and it spoilt my holiday. Give this place a miss big time.
Steve from England.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papeete
0.7 km away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#2 of 3 in Papeete
296 reviews
9 km away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
26 km away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
12.3 km away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#2 of 3 in Punaauia
1,832 reviews
6.5 km away
Tahiti Pearl Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tahiti Nui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tahiti Nui

Address: Avenue du Prince Hinoi, Papeete, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Papeete
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tahiti Nui 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown Papeete, right by shops and restaurants, Hotel Tahiti Nui offers 44 rooms and 47 most comfortable and modern suites.Hotel Tahiti Nui strives to you any service you may expect from an international hotel with competitive rates.Nearby the Market, shops, movie theatres and other Papeete downtown attractions. A few walk from the shorefront and the pier, this hotel is just the ideal stop between two islands.Enjoy the open-sky pool, relax at the fitness center or eventually let yourself go for a delightful massage at the Dhana Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Tahiti Nui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tahiti Nui Papeete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing