We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Restaurant”
Review of Hotel Tahiti Nui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Papeete
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Our room was large, with a balcony overlooking the pool. Relatively quite considering the hotel is located on a major avenue only a few blocks from the Cruise Ship and Ferry Terminals. The A/C struggled to keep the room cool, but it was adequate, and the bathroom "shaver" 110/220 outlet is disconnected for safety reasons. However, the unexpected find was the La Velvet French restaurant, open for lunch and dinner. The food was outstanding and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DonTraveler38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,075)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2016

Although some people dislike the dim atmosphere of the Hotel Tahiti Nui, we find it very comforting. After all, Tahiti is in the tropics where the atmosphere is very hot and humid, the traffic is very heavy and noisy, and returning to the cool, dim atmosphere of the hotel is actually a nice respite.

Our rooms were very comfortable, although sort of Spartan. They included coffee, shampoo and a very nice body gel. For travelers who are used to using wash clothes when you bathe, these are not found in French Polynesia, so if you want one, bring your own.

The TV has one English-speaking station which is the International CNN.

We like the fact that the hotel feels very secure, as it is necessary to swipe your room card in order to make the elevator move up, although it is not necessary to move down. The card is also inserted into a slot inside the entry in order to activate the lights, which saves electricity.

The hot water in the shower was almost instant and very nice, and the room included a well-stocked wet bar with prices that were comparable to outside.

Our friends always stay in the larger suites that include kitchenettes, but we did not need them.

All in all, both of the rooms we used were clean and comfortable and close to town.

The hotel does provide Wi-Fi, but it is only available in the lobby and we were unable to access it. Still and all, it was nice to get away from it.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank J R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2016

Our room was a junior suite. It was like a mini apto. I enjoyed the layout and the room. It had a kitchen, living room and the bedroom. The views were ok and the room was nice and clean. The hotel it close to the market and to several places where to eat. The hotel also has a restaurant on the first floor but the prices for a buffet dinner were super expensive. I will consider staying at the hotel again. May 2015

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LuciaDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016

This is the second time we have stayed at this Hotel. We were traveling with another party and stayed in the 2 bedroom suite. The staff was helpful. We booked through a travel company so not sure of the prices, but breakfast was included and it was adequate. This location is walking distance to the market, the Moorea Ferry as well as the cruise ships. There is gas station right next to the Hotel where you can purchase food and drink items.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gadabout26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2016

Wifi was horrible; only in the lobby and very very slow. Did not eat at the hotel, heard it was very expensive for breakfast. At night the lounge was very loud on the weekends and we were on the 2nd floor.

Room Tip: Higher is better as the disco is very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papeete
0.7 km away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#2 of 3 in Papeete
296 reviews
9 km away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
26 km away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
12.3 km away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#2 of 3 in Punaauia
1,833 reviews
6.5 km away
Tahiti Pearl Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tahiti Nui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tahiti Nui

Address: Avenue du Prince Hinoi, Papeete, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Papeete
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tahiti Nui 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown Papeete, right by shops and restaurants, Hotel Tahiti Nui offers 44 rooms and 47 most comfortable and modern suites.Hotel Tahiti Nui strives to you any service you may expect from an international hotel with competitive rates.Nearby the Market, shops, movie theatres and other Papeete downtown attractions. A few walk from the shorefront and the pier, this hotel is just the ideal stop between two islands.Enjoy the open-sky pool, relax at the fitness center or eventually let yourself go for a delightful massage at the Dhana Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Tahiti Nui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tahiti Nui Papeete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing