We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to cruise ship”
Review of Hotel Tahiti Nui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Papeete
Reviewed 7 December 2010

We were pleased and happy with this hotel.
We were told by our travel company to not stay downtown. We did because we wanted to be within walking distance of our cruise ship. It worked perfectly. The hotel is about four short blocks from the wharf. We walked with our luggage but others may want to taxi. In the daylight the interior was bright and sunny. At check in, the main elevator was not working so we had to get to the third floor via the utility elevator. (There are no stairs to the 3rd floor.) We had to walk up 8 steps. The security guard did not help us with any luggage. We carried it ourselves. The hotel is modern and a nice design. The room was same with a nice balcony, a lovely bath. Overall the room was roomy. They put us on the street side and it was noisy. If stay there again I would ask for a side room. The balcony was a very nice addition. We did not eat in the hotel, twice as expensive as the local restaurants. In the morning we walked to the main street along the waterfront and had a great breakfast in an outdoor cafe. It was less than half the cost of the buffet in the hotel. We checked out of the hotel but stayed in the lobby for 3 hours working on our computer using the hotel's faint WiFi to connect to email. etc. They do have a computer center that has 2 computers and a printer. All the instructions are in French which was a little confusing. We had been told to be careful of the taxi drivers overcharging for the ride into the hotel. However, our driver charged us 1600 and with tip, it cost us 1900. Area recommendations
We were fine with the downtown area. The travel agent wanted us to be in one of the resorts along the coast...

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manyplaceswest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteltahitinui, Responsable réception at Hotel Tahiti Nui, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2011

Ia orana,

We thank you for taking the time you share your experience on Trip Advisor.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Tahiti Nui!

Hope to see you soon on our island.

Mauruuru,

Gaëlle MARIN
Front Office Manager
gaelle@hoteltahitinui.pf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,075)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

417 - 421 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2010

The Hotel Tahiti Nui is a well located, modern (even stylish), fully equipped mid range hotel that is probably still the best option for staying in Papeete itself. However, it seems to be having some maintenance and perhaps design issues and these really detracted from our experience.

The location is excellent, only a few blocks to the waterfront and the main shopping areas (Papeete is not a large place). The only problem is that it is effectively on the main road across the island. The road is busy and a bit noisy but not really that bad so it is surprising that the hotel is so noisy inside. We were initially allocated a room at the front and despite modest traffic, it was quite simply one of the noisiest hotel rooms I have ever been in. To give a feel for the noise, I would think that with doors closed and curtains drawn you would still need to turn the TV volume up about 4 or 5 steps compared with a normal room just to watch it normally. The hotel is built around an internal atrium from the second floor open to the sky and it is quite noisy as well - yet it shouldn't be. That's why I say maybe there is a design issue and the fact that everything is done out in hard surfaces doesn't help.

As an aside, our travel agent indicated that they had requested a quiet room at the back as they always do because they know about the noise (and I asked after reading other reviews here on Tripadvisor) but the hotel claimed to have record of this. Not sure who to believe on this.

The room we were subsequently allocated had two lights not working in the room and a broken desk chair (really obviously, visibly unsafe to sit on). We also discovered that the balcony door would not lock which is a real issue as the balconies are close together - close enough to climb from one to the other quite easily. We were not happy that the hotel's initial response was that it would be fixed tomorrow and we should sleep there that night.

The third room we were allocated had a shower fitting that needed tightening so as to be usable and required only a screwdriver and 30 seconds. It took two days and two reminders to get fixed (although to be fair, this was a Sunday and a Public Holiday).

The above is why I suggest that they are having some maintenance issues.

These issues apart the rooms are smart, a reasonable size and with all the usual amenities and seemed to have been cleaned well (although our room did not get serviced on our first day - perhaps because of the reallocation). Apart from the rooms at the front, they are quiet enough. Front desk was not quite as helpful during the check-in process above as we would have expected given the circumstances (and we got sick of carrying our bags back and forth!) but thereafter was excellent with assistance in booking a hire car and other requests right up to check-out handled smartly, professionally and courteously.

The bar was trying hard to be modern and funky but let down by the way too laid back service (if we walk in during open hours and there is no one else there and we sit at the bar then we probably want to order a drink and a good attendant will be over right way with a drinks menu or to take an order).

A special mention for the restaurant. It is furnished in modern elegant and trying for the same with the food. Service was a bit tentative (but friendly) but the food was a cut above what we expected from a hotel. Everything was executed with just a bit more excellence of technique than we anticipated and the meal we ate there (even though we skipped dessert) was the best on our trip. Much better than some of the fancy resorts and cheaper too (although still fairly expensive as is most of Tahiti).

If we had on first arrival been given a quiet room where everything worked (a normal expectation from any hotel) I would be giving this hotel a good recommendation as everything else exceeded my expectations for a mid range property in Papeete. However that was not the case. I suspect however that it may still be the best option because of its location and the fact that it is aiming higher than average. Just make sure to request and confirm a room away from the main road.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Relaxalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Was very happy with this place. Rooms were spacious and clean. The place was practically brand new. We didn't want to hire a car but we were close enough to the waterfront where we could walk. Little pricey but so is everything in Tahiti, in comparison it was very good. We only stayed 2 nights before we moved on to Bora Bora but were very happy with Hotel Tahiti Nui.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s_parkinson2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteltahitinui, Responsable réception at Hotel Tahiti Nui, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2010

Ia orana,

First of all, we want to thank you for your comments about the Hotel Tahiti Nui. We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We wish you a safe trip back to Canada and hope to welcoming you soon in our islands.

Mauruuru roa,

Gaelle MARIN
Front Office Manager
gaelle@hoteltahitinui.pf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Tahiti Nui on August 27 before going to the Sofitel in Moorea the next day and we had such a great experience. The hotel is super clean and modern with a great fitness facility, the outside pool is big and great and the room is simply WOW! Each room has its own balcony with table and chairs and the standard room we had was equipped with a kitchenette etc and the hotel is very conveniently located close to the ferry. We walked to it that is how close it is.If you are staying in Papeete before transiting somewhere else, don't even hesitate, that is the place to stay!!!
Best value for the money and great location, service and amenities. This hotel is a hidden gem! Johanne C. Canada

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jchoiniere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The room was on the 5th floor, overlooking Ave. du Prince Hinoi, spotless, large, light and airy with a kingsized bed and a small kitchenette. One good feature was that the bathroom/shower room was separate to the toilet room.

Obviously very new, the fitting and furnishings were of a high standard. The room had good aircon (essential) and the pool (with jacuzzi) was lovely although smaller than it looked in the photos. The bedding was all white, crisp, fresh and smelt clean.

I read in a review about traffic noise problems but my thoughts are this: If you book a town centre location you must expect some town center noise. Our room had excellent double glazed sliding doors onto the balcony. These cut down the noise significantly. One night when it seemed a bit noisy we found that we had not shut the sliding door fully. When I pushed them the last few inches into the frame it was quiet again once more. I live in a rural location and can't sleep if there is a lot of noise but had no problems here.

The whole of French Polynesia has suffered from the economic downturn with many pearl farms going out of business. The only negatives about the hotel could have been that, probably due to this, it appeared deserted (not a problem for us, we preferred it that way) but if you were looking for a more social experience you may have been disappointed. Probably another symptom of the downturn is that in reception there are two fabulous tiled walls of water which we assume would look brilliant. However staff told us they had never been turned on since the hotel was built.

We did not eat in the hotel or use the spa or coffee bar so can't comment on those but we had a nosy around and everywhere looked very smart and beautifully designed (if empty). All the staff were friendly, helpful and polite but having said that our time with them was minimal as we were there to enjoy Tahiti.

One review said that the hotel was stark and bare but we loved it. It is very modern and minimalist with acres of glossy, pale tiled floors and dark wood. It's all down to personal taste.

The location was great for towntown, the street food stalls, pearl shops, the sea front, tourist information center, ferry terminal, the market (a must see) and access to the yacht marina, which was why we were there.

Our only beef would be that our little kitchenette had crockery, cutlery and pans but was not really fully equipped i.e. no dishcloths or tea towels and you would hardly travel to Tahiti with them. It was however a real boon as EVERYTHING is expensive in Tahiti (except fresh tuna). We bought food in the markets and ate in our room which helped keep costs down. We also ate at the strrt food stalls on the quay - brilliant and good value.

I felt that the room was expensive (I usually spend a max of £25 per night) but on reflection it is Tahiti that is expensive. The room was inline with costs locally. Don't go there for a 'resort' experience but go there for local colour, the 'buzz' of a busy sea port and lots of real Tahiti (including down and outs on the side walks) in a cool, trendy cosmopolitan hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleOllyTopCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papeete
0.7 km away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#2 of 3 in Papeete
296 reviews
9 km away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
26 km away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
12.3 km away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#2 of 3 in Punaauia
1,835 reviews
6.5 km away
Tahiti Pearl Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tahiti Nui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tahiti Nui

Address: Avenue du Prince Hinoi, Papeete, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Papeete
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tahiti Nui 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown Papeete, right by shops and restaurants, Hotel Tahiti Nui offers 44 rooms and 47 most comfortable and modern suites.Hotel Tahiti Nui strives to you any service you may expect from an international hotel with competitive rates.Nearby the Market, shops, movie theatres and other Papeete downtown attractions. A few walk from the shorefront and the pier, this hotel is just the ideal stop between two islands.Enjoy the open-sky pool, relax at the fitness center or eventually let yourself go for a delightful massage at the Dhana Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Tahiti Nui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tahiti Nui Papeete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing