We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is beautiful!”
Review of Hotel Tahiti Nui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Papeete
Reviewed 5 March 2011

We were here for just an overnight stay between our flight from Moorea and the flight back home to the US. If you’re looking for a hotel right next to the airport, this isn’t it. I’d guess that it’s about a 20 minute ride to downtown Papeete. But for the few extra minutes, it’s a lovely experience.
We arrived after 10pm. The lobby was darkened, but the night clerk was personable, quick and efficient, and had excellent English. If you arrive at night on the upper floors, the only light comes from small blue fixtures in the doorways. Once your eyes adjust, you can see the numbers on the rooms. It’s a bit eerie, but stunning. It also cuts down on the unnecessary use of electricity.
The room is all done in black, white and grey. Everything is either a square, rectangle or a circle. I have never been in a more attractive hotel room. There is also a balcony with chairs and a table and a view of the city. Breakfast starts early and is bountiful. They will make eggs for you in addition to the buffet.
It’s a short walk to the marketplace where you can buy food (the fruit is amazing), clothing, and souvenirs. You can buy Tahiti’s famous black pearls in shops close to the market. You’ll also find a pharmacy and a few banks within walking distance.
I can’t speak to the other hotel amenities because we weren’t there long enough, but I wouldn’t have missed the interior decoration and architecture of this boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nelle_Htur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteltahitinui, Responsable réception at Hotel Tahiti Nui, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2011

Ia orana,

We thank you for your comments! What a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Mauruuru roa,

Gaëlle MARIN
Front Office Manager
gaelle@hoteltahitinui.pf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,075)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

411 - 415 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2011

This is a great Hotel right in the middle of the town and only 5 minutes walk to the ferry terminals and Cruise boat departure points.
Very new, clean large rooms with a desk and lounge and FREE Internet connection (Lan connection not wireless).
Perfect if you are doing business in town and don't need the resort style accommodation, which I have found to be old and run down anyway.
Pool and gym are very nice, not huge but more that suitable.
I will definatly stay here again and again when in town doing business.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteltahitinui, Responsable réception at Hotel Tahiti Nui, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2011

Ia orana,

We thank you for your comments! It's always a pleasure for us to know that our guest enjoyed their stay with us.

Concerning the Internet connection, the Wifi is available in the Lobby, the Bar and the Restaurant. In your room, you have to use the cable.

Mauruuru,

Gaëlle MARIN
Front Office Manager
gaelle@hoteltahitinui.pf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

My wife, teenage son and I spent two nights at the Hotel Tahiti Nui in January 2011 on our way to/from the Hilton Bora Bora Nui resort.

We arrived at approximately 11.00pm on our first night and after a long day of travel we were immediately impressed by the friendliness and attitude of the reception staff. Our room was modern, clean and well furnished. The King Size bed was comfortable with crisp white sheets. When daylight arrived we marvelled at the spectacular view of the mountains from our balcony. We had to check-out at 10.30am for our trip to Bora Bora, but we managed to navigate the chaotic traffic and walk to the Harbour & Pomare Blvd, approx 10 minutes away for a quick site seeing tour. We followed this up with breakfast in the Hotel Restaurant which was excellent. We looked forward to our return stay on the way back from Bora Bora.

We arrived back at Hotel Tahiti Nui early afternoon which gave us more time to explore the hotel and Papeete. Before we could do anything, the hungry teenager wanted food, so with our passports and valuables securely locked away at reception, and a couple of recommendations for lunch we headed down to the Boulevard Pomare.

The best way to describe the traffic is organised chaos, you have to actually put a foot on the Zebra Crossings and hope the cars will stop! The majority of buildings are old and rundown and heavily shuttered after hours. Outside of the 5 Star resorts this is a third world country and not what you would expect from the general perception of Tahiti.

After lunch, we checked out the local market and shops before returning to the hotel. Later, we had a workout in the very well equipped fitness centre and spent an hour or so in the pool with great views of the mountains.

For our last night we booked into the Hotels "Velvet" Restaurant, and we were pleasantly surprised by the exceptional service, quality of food and the reasonable pricing (for Tahiti). We had just spent 8 nights at the Hilton and the Hotel Tahiti Nui blew them out of the water.

If we ever return to Tahiti, we will definitely stay at the Hotel Tahiti Nui, great staff, friendly service, clean modern rooms, comfortable beds, quality restaurant, nice pool & well equipped fitness centre.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AussieSnorkeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteltahitinui, Responsable réception at Hotel Tahiti Nui, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2011

Ia orana,

We thank you for your great comments!

Hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you soon at the Hotel Tahiti Nui.

Mauruuru roa,

Gaëlle MARIN
Front Office Manager
gaelle@hoteltahitinui.pf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

VERY NICE hotel, well located centre of town, close to cruise terminal, downtown shopping etc. Very clean and modern room and toilet. Check in staff excellent . overall a very good hotel choice.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debsndave00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteltahitinui, Responsable réception at Hotel Tahiti Nui, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2011

Ia orana,

Mauruuru roa for your excellent comments!


Gaëlle MARIN
Front Office Manager
gaelle@hoteltahitinui.pf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

This was our hotel in Papeete on 27 December and again on 11 January. We are a family of five and were given one of their executive suites (Rm 615) which had a loft with two bedrooms, a well appointed kitchen and lounge area. The hotel were kind enough to add a roll away bed for the lounge room and with the lounge could easily accommodate six people.

The room was very clean and the pool, used by our children, was really nice. A great location only four blocks from the ferry to Moorea and the main shopping area of Papeete including the markets.

We ate from the night stalls down at the wharf which is great and highly recommended. I would certainly stay here again if we needed a room in Papeete due to our flight schedules.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masterchefSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteltahitinui, Responsable réception at Hotel Tahiti Nui, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2011

Ia orana,

What a pleasure for us to read your great comments! We are glad to know that you liked the Executive Suite (615) and our swimming pool.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcoming you soon at the Hotel Tahiti Nui.

Mauruuru,

Gaëlle MARIN
Front Office Manager
gaelle@hoteltahitinui.pf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papeete
0.7 km away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#2 of 3 in Papeete
296 reviews
9 km away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
26 km away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
12.3 km away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#2 of 3 in Punaauia
1,833 reviews
6.5 km away
Tahiti Pearl Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tahiti Nui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tahiti Nui

Address: Avenue du Prince Hinoi, Papeete, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Papeete
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tahiti Nui 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown Papeete, right by shops and restaurants, Hotel Tahiti Nui offers 44 rooms and 47 most comfortable and modern suites.Hotel Tahiti Nui strives to you any service you may expect from an international hotel with competitive rates.Nearby the Market, shops, movie theatres and other Papeete downtown attractions. A few walk from the shorefront and the pier, this hotel is just the ideal stop between two islands.Enjoy the open-sky pool, relax at the fitness center or eventually let yourself go for a delightful massage at the Dhana Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Tahiti Nui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tahiti Nui Papeete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing